Department of Neurophysiology

The Department of Neurophysiology is located within the Medical Faculty of the Ruhr University Bochum.

Chair of the department is Professor Denise Manahan-Vaughan.

The department engages in teaching of medical students until the end of their fourth semester. Members of the department also participate in postgraduate teaching programmes, particularly of the IGSN and the SFB874.

Several research groups are active in the department:

The Manahan-Vaughan Lab focuses particularly on understanding the mechanisms that underlie declarative memory in the mammalian brain. Special focus is made on synaptic plasticity.

The Funke Lab examines somatosensory plasticity in the barrel cortex of rats and studies the mechanisms underlying cortical reoranisation resulting fro transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS).

The Eysel Lab examines cortical plasticity in the visual system.

Research Department of Neuroscience, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany



Egocentric boundary vector tuning of the retrosplenial cortex

Our research is supported by