Faculties » Faculty of Mathematics

Faculty of Mathematics

The Faculty of Mathematics at Ruhr-Universität Bochum is known for its outstanding and multifaceted research and excellent research-led teaching of mathematics, applied mathematics and statistics.

Research and teaching are organised across 25 professorships and research groups covering the main mathematical disciplines, including algebra/geometry, topology, analysis, stochastics/statistics, computer science/IT security, numerical mathematics, and didactics.

There are numerous interdisciplinary research collaborations. Most importantly among these is the participation in two collaborative research centres (Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB)) funded by the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)), three DFG priority programmes, a DFG research group, two DFG research training groups, two BMBF (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung – Federal Ministry of Education and Research) projects, an Emmy Noether Young Researchers Group, the collaborative project at the Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security, the Floer Centre of Geometry and the National Centre for Teacher Training in Mathematics.
For details, see the research areas of the Faculty of Mathematics.

The Faculty of Mathematics runs the specialist Bachelor of Science and Master of Science programmes in mathematics. In addition, the faculty is closely involved with the Bachelor of Arts and Master of Education for RUB’s double-specialisation Bachelor/Master programme including the Bochum tiered teacher-training model. The faculty also offers a doctoral mathematics/computer science programme with an additional fast-track option. For further details, see “Study” below.

The faculty also successfully runs the Service Centre for Mathematics and Applied Mathematics (Servicezentrum für Mathematik und Anwendungen – SZMA), which organises, develops and conducts all mathematics courses for the natural sciences, engineering, and psychology.

Moreover, the faculty is significantly involved in the degree programmes “Applied Computer Science”, “IT Security”, and “Computational Engineering”.