University without borders

The Ruhr University Bochum (RUB) is committed to active and sustainable integration of refugees. We are convinced that academia and research have no boundaries and we gladly contribute to the culture of welcome.

As one of the first universities in Germany, we have therefore set up a scheme to support refugees with an academic background to enter a degree course at RUB. In free-of-charge-German language courses prospective students having fled their home countries may acquire the language skills required for enrolling in a German-language Bachelor or Master programme. In addition, students or prospective students in engineering, natural sciences or economics have the opportunity to apply for a scholarship starting winter term 2016/17. Moreover, we offer researchers at risk (including academics with a refugee background) the possibility to pursue their research at one of the research centres of the RUB for a certain period of time as visiting scholars.

Finally, there are several services and initiatives available at RUB for refugee students, prospective students and academics which are offered by volunteers.

Administrative Department 2 (Student service & International Office) in cooperation with other RUB institutions is constantly updating and enhancing its offers for refugee students and academics.

If you have any questions about our offers or are interested in supporting us in our efforts for students and academics with a refugee background, we are happy to receive your call or email (see Contact).

The project "University without Borders" is in its initial phase partly funded by inSTUDIES.

Contact

Dr. Anja Zorob
University without Borders Project Manager
anja.zorob@uv.rub.de
Phone: +49 234 32 28187

HRK initiative

Gefördert von

BMBF Logo

MIWF Logo

DAAD Logo

Universität ohne Grenzen

Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum setzt sich aktiv und nachhaltig für die Integration von Flüchtlingen ein. Wir sind der festen Überzeugung, dass Wissenschaft und Forschung keine Grenzen kennen, und leisten gern unseren Beitrag zur Willkommenskultur.

Wir haben als eine der ersten Universitäten in Deutschland ein Programm etabliert, um Flüchtlinge mit akademischem Hintergrund in ein Studium zu führen. In kostenlosen Deutschkursen erwerben Studieninteressierte die für ein Bachelor- oder Masterstudium notwendigen Sprachkenntnisse. Zum Wintersemester 2016/17 können sie sich für ein Stipendium für ein Studium in den Natur-, Ingenieur- oder Wirtschaftswissenschaften bewerben. Daneben beraten wir gefährdete Nachwuchs-Wissenschaftler und -Akademiker mit Fluchthintergrund bezüglich eines (Gast)Forschungsaufenthaltes sowie weiterer Anschlussmöglichkeiten an der RUB. Außerdem stehen geflüchteten Studierenden, Studieninteressierten und Wissenschaftlern unterschiedliche ehrenamtliche Angebote zur Verfügung.

Das Dezernat 2 (Studierendenservice & International Office) baut in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Institutionen der RUB sein Beratungs- und Betreuungsangebot für geflüchtete Studierende und Wissenschaftler kontinuierlich aus.

Wenn Sie Fragen zu den einzelnen Projekten haben oder uns bei unserer Arbeit unterstützen möchten, freuen wir uns über Ihren Anruf oder E-Mail (siehe Kasten).

Das Projekt "Universität ohne Grenzen" wird in der Startphase unterstützt von inSTUDIES.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Anja Zorob
Projektleitung Universität ohne Grenzen
anja.zorob@uv.rub.de
Tel: 0234 32 28187

inSTUDIES

inSTUDIES Logo

Aktion HRK