Prof. Dr. Karina Morgenstern

Professional Preparation

University of Bonn, Germany Physics Diplom (M.Sc), 1987-1993
and the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, U.S.A. Computer Science Diplom (M.Sc), 1987-1994
Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany, University Experimental Physics Dr. (Ph.D.), 1993-1996
of Aarhus, Denmark, and University of Bonn
University of Lausanne, Switzerland Experimental Physics Postdoctoral Fellow, 1996-1999
Free University of Berlin, Germany Experimental Physics Habilitation, 1999-2003

Professional Experience

1999-2003 Staff scientist, Free University of Berlin, Germany
2000 Visiting scientist, University of Aarhus, Denmark
2003-2005 Heisenberg Fellow, Free University of Berlin, Germany
2005-2012 Full Professor, Dept. Mathematics and Physics, University of Hannover, Germany
2012- Full Professor, Dept. Chemistry and Biochemistry, RUB, Germany

Honors & Awards

1990-1991 Fellow, Akademischen Auslandsamtes, Universität Bonn
1988-1993 Fellow, Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes
1997 Günther-Leibfried award, Forschungszentrums Jülich
2002 Hertha-Sponer award, Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft
2003-2005 Heisenberg fellow, Deutsche Forschungs-Gemeinschaft

Synergistic Activities

Service and Panels:
2008 External expert in appointment committee, FU Berlin, Department of Physics
2009 International scientific committee of Workshops WS-24, Avila, Spain
2007-2012 Co-Chair of ESF-COST Action ECCL (Electron Controlled Chemical Lithography)
2012 External expert in appointment committee at University of Oldenburg, Department of Physics
2015 External expert in appointment committee at University of Braunschweig, Department of Physics
2009- International Scientific Committee 'Symposium on Surface Science, 3'S'
2010-2016 International Scientific Committee 'European Conference on Surface Science 'ECOSS'
2012- Selection committee, Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes
2012-2019 DPG Award Panel
2015- Advisory board IWSP (International Workshop on Surface Physics)
2016-2018 Vice-Dean, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, RUB
2018- Head of the DFG-financed graduate school: ‘Confinement-controlled Chemistry’
2018-2020 External expert in appointment committee at University of Duisburg-Essen, Department of Physics
2018-2020 Dean, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, RUB

Conference organization:

Workshop series on “Local investigation of electron induced surface chemistry”:
07.12.2007 Berlin, Germany
07.03.2009 Zürich, Switzerland
27.07.2009 Avila, Italy
09.09.2010 Paris-Orsay, France

Conference series on “Electron Controlled Chemical lithography (ECCL)”:
12.-16.3.2008 Lisbon, Portugal
05.-09.6.2009 Istanbul, Turkey
23.-27.5.2010 Sterdyn, Poland
18.-22.5.2012 Stykkisholmur, Iceland
17./18.3.2015 Focussed Session on “Structure, chemistry, and ion solvation at solid-liquid interfaces“ at DPG
spring meeting, Berlin
14.-16.5.2015 co-chair of Bunsentagung „Solvation Science“, Bochum, Germany
16.-18.9.2019 International symposium on "Confinement-Controlled Chemistry" , Bochum
27.-30.9.2020 Hybrid-730. WE-Haereus Seminar, "From Interfaces to Cages - Confining Effects on Molecular
Processes" Bad Honnef, Germany

Editorial Boards and Editorship:

2015 Co-editor of a special PCCP issue
2015- Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of Chemical Physics
2016- Editorial Board, Progress in Surface Science
2018- Divisional Associate Editor, Physical Review Letters

Thesis Advisor and Post-Graduate Sponsor:

Pre-Graduate: Heiko Gawronski (PhD Physics, 2005-2008); Jörg Henzl (now Tiburcy) (PhD Physics 2005-2010); Fatih Kalkan (PhD Physics; 2005-2011); Christopher Zaum (PhD Physics; 2008-2012); Sarah-Charlotta Heidorn (PhD Physics; 2008-2013); Huy Quang Vu (PhD Chemistry, 2012-2016); Niklas Osterloh (PhD Chemistry, 2012-2020); Cord Bertram (PhD Chemistry, 2012- 2017); Michael Vyshnepolsky (PhD Chemistry, 2013-2020; Karsten Lucht (PhD Chemistry, 2014-2018) PostGraduate: Dr. David Krüger (2009-2011); Dr. Jan Haubrich (2012-2013); Dr. Yumin Wang (2012-2013); Dr. Gerogijs Bakradze (2013-2016); Dr. Tianluo Pan (2014-2017); Dr. Abhijit Bera (2018-2020); Dr. Yun-Jun Cao (2019-); Dr. Jayita Patwari (2021-)

Research interests (in chronological order)

1. Kinetic STM measurements of pre-structured samples down to the atomic scale
2. Water structures on coinage metals
3. Molecular switches on surfaces
4. Non-adiabatic reactions at the ultimate spatial and temporal limit
5. Local vibrational spectroscopy of phonons
6. Solvation Science: Real-space investigation of the interaction of water with polar species; solvated electrons
7. Ultra-short laser – surface interaction
8. Confinement on and at surfaces