Startseite / Lehrstuhl / Curriculum vitae

 

Dr. Isabella Risini

LL.M. (Chicago-Kent College of Law)

 

Curriculum vitae



Dr. Isabella Risini, LL.M. (Chicago-Kent College of Law) is a senior research associate at the Ruhr-University Bochum. She studied law at the University of Augsburg and at the Chicago-Kent College of Law (LL.M. in International and Comparative Law). She completed her legal clerkship in the Higher Regional Court district of Munich. Her clerkship also lead her to the headquarters of the Foreign Office in Berlin. After that, she had the opportunity of a stage at the European Court of Human Rights in Strasbourg. Further, the RUB Research School funded a stay at the Hague Academy of International Law.


She was co-organizer of the joint conferences of the Working Group of Young Scholars in Public International Law (AjV) with the German Society of International Law (DGIR) on "Proportionality in International Law” (Göttingen, 2014) and "Time and International Law” (Bochum, 2017).


Dr. Risini's research interests include international law, in particular human rights law in a universal and European context, European Union law and international trade law. At national level, Dr. Risini deals with questions regarding constitutional law and public economic law.


Her book The Inter-State Application under the European Convention on Human Rights; Between Collective Enforcement of Human Rights and International Dispute Settlement " (Brill, 2018) was very well received and was reviewed inter alia in the British Yearbook of International Law and in the Human Rights Law Review . The underlying thesis was funded by a scholarship from the Wilhelm and Günter Esser Foundation.


Dr. Risini was a member of the Global Young Faculty from 2017 to 2019. The Global Young Faculty is a funding instrument for outstanding, dedicated junior researchers from the Ruhr Area to generate synergy effects in interdisciplinary projects. It is supported by the Stiftung Mercator, the Mercator Research Center Ruhr, and the Universitätsallianz Ruhr.


Dr. Risini regularly serves as a judge in the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court, the world's largest English language-based moot court. She has coached the Jessup teams of the Law Faculty of the Ruhr-University Bochum for over five years. Among them, three teams qualified for the international rounds in Washington, D.C.. She also coached the teams of the HanseMoot, a simulation situated in German constitutional law (2017 and 2019). In 2018 she acquired a certificate for professional teaching in higher education at the Center for Teaching and Learning at the Ruhr-University Bochum.

 

In the winter semester 2019/2020 Dr. Risini taught the course “International Human Rights Law” in English. Furthermore, she offered the course “European Union Law” (in German). She was an examiner for the foreign language certificate program "Anglo-American Law and Language" of the Center for International Affairs of the Law Faculty of the Ruhr-University Bochum. Furthermore, Dr. Risini offers exam simulations as part of the RUBRUM. In the summer terms of 2019 and 2020 (via Zoom), Dr. Risini taught “International Economic Law”.

 

Her contribution to the reform process of the state complaint on EJIL:Talk!, which she wrote together with Geir Ulfstein, can be found here. She also commented on the current proceedings between the Netherlands and Russia and Liechtenstein and the Czech Republic together with Geir Ulfstein for EJIL:Talk!. An interview with Isabella Risini and questions by Justine Batura and Lukas Kleinert about the ongoing reform process concerning inter-State applications was published with Völkerrechtsblog in September 2020.

 

She is a member of the advisory board of the Völkerrechtsblog and also an associate member of the NRW Forschungskolleg SecHuman. It is part of the Horst Görtz Institute, one of the leading institutes in IT security in Europe.


Publication list: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6151-8650.

 

 

 

 

            © 2012 | Impressum | Kontakt | Datenschutz

Startseite / Lehrstuhl / Curriculum vitae

 

Dr. Isabella Risini

LL.M. (Chicago-Kent College of Law)

 

Curriculum vitae



Frau Dr. Isabella Risini, LL.M. (Chicago-Kent College of Law) ist akademische Rätin auf Zeit an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Sie hat an der Universität Augsburg und am Chicago-Kent College of Law (LL.M. in International and Comparative Law) studiert. Ihr Referendariat leistete sie im OLG-Bezirk München ab, unter anderem auch in der Zentrale des Auswärtigen Amtes in Berlin. Danach durchlief sie eine Stage am Europäischen Gerichtshof in Straßburg. Außerdem absolvierte sie einen Aufenthalt an der Hague Academy of International Law, gefördert von der RUB Research School.


Sie war Mitorganisatorin der gemeinsamen Tagungen des Arbeitskreises junger Völkerrechtswissenschaftlerinnen und Völkerrechtswissenschaftler (AjV) mit der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationales Recht (DGIR) zu den Themen „Verhältnismäßigkeit im Völkerrecht“ (Göttingen, 2014) und „Zeit und Internationales Recht“ (Bochum, 2017).


Die Forschungsinteressen von Frau Risini umfassen das Völkerrecht, insbesondere den Bereich der Menschenrechte im universellen und europäischen Kontext, das Recht der Europäischen Union und das Internationale Wirtschaftsrecht. Auf nationaler Ebene befasst sich Frau Risini mit Fragen des Staatsrechtes und des öffentlichen Wirtschaftsrechts.


Ihre Dissertation “The Inter-State Application under the European Convention on Human Rights; Between Collective Enforcement of Human Rights and International Dispute Settlement” (Brill, 2018) wurde sehr positiv aufgenommen. Die Arbeit wurde u.a. im British Yearbook of International Law und im Human Rights Law Review rezensiert. Gefördert wurde sie durch ein Abschlussstipendium der Wilhelm und Günter Esser-Stiftung.


Von 2017 bis 2019 war sie Mitglied der Global Young Faculty. Die Global Young Faculty ist ein Förderinstrument für herausragende, engagierte Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler der Metropole Ruhr, um Synergieeffekte bei interdisziplinären Projekten zu generieren. Getragen wird sie durch die Stiftung Mercator, dem Mercator Research Center Ruhr und der Universitätsallianz Ruhr. 


Frau Risini ist regelmäßig als Richterin im Rahmen des Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court, der weltweit größten englischsprachigen Verfahrenssimulation, tätig. Die Jessup-Teams der Juristischen Fakultät der Ruhr-Universität Bochum betreute Sie über fünf Jahre. Darunter qualifizierten sich drei Teams für die internationalen Runden in Washington, D.C.. Zudem betreute sie die Teams des HanseMoot, eine Verfahrenssimulation im deutschen Verfassungsrecht, in den Jahren 2017 und 2019. 2018 erwarb sie das Zertifikat „Professionelle Lehrkompetenz für die Hochschule“ am Zentrum für Hochschuldidaktik der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. 

 

Im Wintersemester 2019/2020 bot Frau Dr. Risini den Kurs International Human Rights Law (in Englischer Sprache) an. Daneben hielt sie die Vorlesung „Recht der Europäischen Union“. Sie war Prüferin für das Fremdsprachenzertifikatsprogramm „Anglo-American Law and Language“ des Zentrums für Internationales der Juristischen Fakultät der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Sie bietet zudem Klausurbesprechungen im Rahmen des RUBRUM an. Jeweils im Sommersemester 2019 und 2020 bot Frau Dr. Risini die Vorlesung „Internationales Wirtschaftsrecht“ an (2020 über Zoom). 

 

Ihren aktuellen Beitrag zum Reformprozess der Staatenbeschwerde auf EJIL:Talk!, den sie zusammen mit Geir Ulfstein verfasste, finden sie hier. Die aktuellen Verfahren zwischen den Niederlanden und Russland und Liechtenstein und der Tschechischen Republik kommentierte sie ebenfalls zusammen mit Geir Ulfstein für EJIL:Talk!. Ein Interview von Isabella Risini mit Fragen von Justine Batura und Lukas Kleinert zum Reformprozess der Staatenbeschwerde ist im September 2020 im Völkerrechtsblog erschienen. 


Sie ist Mitglied im Wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Völkerrechtsblogs. Sie ist außerdem assoziiertes Mitglied des NRW-Forschungskollegs SecHuman. Das Forschungskolleg SecHuman ist eingebettet in das Horst Görtz Institut an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, einem der führenden europäischen Forschungsinstitute im Bereich IT-Sicherheit.


Publikationsliste: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6151-8650.

 

 

 

 

            © 2012 | Impressum | Kontakt | Datenschutz