overview on focal point molecular medicine

Well qualified graduates in the biomedical sciences have many job opportunities at universities, other research institutions, and in the industry. The Schwerpunktprogramm "Molecular Medicine" aims to provide students with basic research skills, with a focus on clinical applications. Students learn to apply state-of-the-art methodology to study how normal cellular and molecular functions may be altered under disease conditions and how basic research questions mingle with clinical research issues. The following research focus areas are offered: Molecular regulation and pharmacology of the cardiovascular system, Basic principles in molecular oncology, Molecular regulation of the immune system, and Basic principles of somatic gene therapy. A wide range of topical specializations in Molecular Medicine allows students to attain individual competence profiles.

Mitglieder des Schwerpunktes - Members of this Focal Point

Leiter des Schwerpunktes - Head of Focal Point:

Prof. Dr. Stephan Hahn, Molekulare gastro-entorologische Onkologie E-mail: stephan.hahn@rub.de


Prof. Dr. Dirk Bausch, Marienhospital Herne E-mail: dirk.bausch@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Thomas Brüning, IPA - Institut für Prävention und Arbeitsmedizin der Deutschen Gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung E-mail: bruening@ipa-dguv.de

Prof. Dr. Ralf Erdmann, Systembiochemie E-mail: ralf.erdmann@rub.de

Dr. Nazha Hamdani, Molekulare Kardiologie E-mail: nazha.hamdani@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Kornelia Jaquet, Molekulare Kardiologie E-mail: kornelia.jaquet@rub.de

PD Dr. Stephanie Joachim, Augenklinik, Knappschaftskrankenhaus Langendreer E-mail: stephanie.joachim@rub.de

Dr. Georg Johnen, IPA - Institut für Prävention und Arbeitsmedizin der Deutschen Gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung E-mail: johnen@ipa-dguv.de

Prof. Dr. Doris Koesling, Pharmakologie und Toxikologie E-mail: doris.koesling@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Lars Leichert, Biochemie der Mikroorganismen E-mail: lars.leichert@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Huu Phuc Nguyen, Humangenetik E-mail: huu.nguyen-r7w@rub.de

PD Dr. Marcus Peters, Experimentelle Pneumologie E-mail: marcus.peters@rub.de

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Stephanie Pfänder, Molekulare und Medizinische Virologie E-mail: stephanie.pfaender@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Joachim Rassow, Zellbiochemie E-mail: joachim.rassow@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Monika Raulf, IPA - Institut für Prävention und Arbeitsmedizin der Deutschen Gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung E-mail: raulf@ipa-dguv.de

Dr. Hans-Peter Rihs, IPA - Institut für Prävention und Arbeitsmedizin der Deutschen Gesetzlichen Unfallversicherung E-mail: rihs@ipa-dguv.de

Dr. Jochen Salber, Experimentelle Chirurgie, E-mail: jochen.salber@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Ingo Schmitz, Molekulare Immunologie, E-mail: ingo.schmitz@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Eike Steinmann, Molekulare und Medizinische Virologie, E-mail: eike.steinmann@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Dirk Strumberg, Med. Klinik III, Marienhospital Herne, E-mail: dirk.strumberg@elisabethgruppe.de

Prof. Dr. Andrea Tannapfel, Pathologie, E-mail: andrea.tannapfel@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Jörg Tatzelt, Biochemie Neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen, E-mail: joerg.tatzelt@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Daniela Wenzel, Systemphysiologie, E-mail: daniela wenzel@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Konstanze Winklhofer, Molekulare Zellbiologie, E-mail: konstanze.winklhofer@rub.de