RUB » Korean Studies » AKS Project » Members & Subprojects

RUB Project Members

Prof. Dr. Marion Eggert project group deputy chair marion.eggert@rub.de
Prof. Dr. Jörg Plassen project group vice deputy chair joerg.plassen@rub.de
Dr. Andreas Müller-Lee postdoctoral research fellow andreas.mueller-lee@rub.de
Dr. Thorsten Traulsen librarian and research fellow thorsten.traulsen@rub.de
Dr. Myoung In Yu research fellow myoungin.yu@rub.de
Dennis Wuerthner, M.A. PhD candidate dennis.wuerthner@rub.de
Felix Siegmund, M.A. PhD candidate f.a.siegmund@web.de
Florian Poelking, B.A. project manager and research assistant florian.poelking@rub.de
Gwendolin Arnold, B.A. aide gwendolinarnold@gmail.com
Sin Ji Oelkers, B.A. aide sin.oelkers@rub.de
Karola Nossier professional administrator karola.nossier@rub.de

Subprojects

The Ruhr-University Bochum project research team has constructed three comprehensive pillars of research themes: the first pillar emphasizes the circulation of knowledge and the dynamics of transformation within the sphere of religion and thought, the second pillar’s focal point lies on the circulation of knowledge and the dynamics of transformation in the framework of language, literature and culture and the third pillar mainly centers the circulation of knowledge and the dynamics of transformation concerning artifacts and technical knowledge. These are respectively being dealt with under the three research sections constructed for each individual pillar. Within the realm of the three sections we have initiated the following subprojects:

Section I: Religion and Thought

  • Silla Buddhism and the formation of Chinese Huayan thought (Plassen)
  • Intellectuals In-Between: Transformations of the Conceptual World in kaehwagi. The example of Pak Ŭnsik (Eggert)
  • Encyclopedic Unity: Knowledge and epistemology in Ch'oe Han'gi's (1803-1877) philosophy (Eggert)

Section II: Language, Literature and Culture

  • The Production of a Literary Heritage in Colonial Korea (Yu)
  • The pragmatic dimensions of ŏnhae texts: knowledge and diglossic media in Chosŏn dynasty (Traulsen)
  • The dynamics of literary transformations: The Jiandeng xinhua and the Kŭmo sinhwa (Wuerthner)
  • Transformations in the literary representation of the Dragon King and his dwelling in Korean literature from the Chosŏn-period (Wuerthner)

Section III: Artifacts and Technical Knowledge

  • Structure and categorizations in encyclopedic works of the 18th century (Mueller-Lee)
  • Tubers Come to Korea – Introduction of the Sweet Potato and the White Potato (Siegmund)
  • Military knowledge in East Asia in the 17th and 18th century (Siegmund)