Zentrum für Internationales

First Steps

First Steps

Are you a guest student at the Ruhr University Bochum?

Then, we would like to welcome you to the Faculty of Law!

As an „Incoming“, the Center for International Affairs (in German Zentrum für Internationales or short ZfI) will take care of you. The ZfI is your first contact person concerning any questions you might have during your stay at our Faculty. Anything from questions regarding your Learning Agreement, courses, exams, tests or housing and living in Bochum – the ZfI is there for you during the whole duration of your stay.

Arriving at Bochum | Courses at the Faculty of Law | Housing in Bochum | More Information

Arriving at Bochum

First, you have to organize your travel to Bochum. The closest major airport is in Düsseldorf. From there, you can easily find your way to Bochum central station by train. Another option is the airport in Dortmund, which is not that easy to reach but very close to Bochum. For more information regarding your journey, please klick here

Once in Bochum, please find your way as soon as possible to our offices at the ZfI. During this first personal meeting you can ask any remaining questions. The ZfI team will discuss with you and difficulties regarding your schedule and help you find alternative courses. We will also help you alter your Learning Agreement if that becomes necessary. It can immediately be altered. You can find the form for the Learning Agreement here. We will also assist you with the calculation of your ECTS-points.

The International Office organizes an orientation week for all Incomings, which we very much recommend you to attend.

Courses at the Faculty of Law

A list of all German-language courses offered at the Faculty is available here.

For a complete list of our English- or other foreign language course offer, please klick here.

The International Course Catalogue containing all courses held in English at the University, is accessible here.

You can inform yourself about all courses and seminars on offer in the course calendar. For more detailed planning, especially regarding questions on which courses are more appropriate for Incomings and what level of foreign language knowledge is necessary for a particular course, please feel free to contact the ZfI anytime.

We offer the seminar "Einführung in das deutsche Recht und Rechtsstudium für ausländische Studierende" (a block course during the last week before the semester starts) every fall semester. This course gives you a good overview of the German legal system, it is helpful for your comprehension of other German legal courses and provides an introduction to the German legal language.

For more information regarding the general semester calendar, holidays and breaks, please visit theArcademic Calender.

Housing in Bochum

The International Office der RUB offers reservation services for foreign students regarding dorm rooms. More information is available here.

If you wish to live in a dorm, the website housinganywhere.com, in cooperation with the Ruhr University, offers you a good opportunity to find a room or apartment for your stay in Bochum.

More Information

A map of the Ruhr University including the position of the Faculty of Law and the ZfI is available here:



More information is additionally available on these websites:



We are looking forward to meeting you!

Zentrum für Internationales

Infos für Incomings

Infos für Incomings

Juristische Fakultät > Zentrum für Internationales > Auslandsstudium > Infos für Incomings

Du bist Gaststudent an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum?

Dann heißen wir dich herzlich willkommen an der Juristischen Fakultät.

Als "Incoming" wirst du vom ZfI betreut. Das ZfI ist für dich der erste Ansprechpartner bei Fragen im Rahmen deines Aufenthalts an unserer Fakultät. Egal, ob du Fragen zu deinem Learning Agreement, zu Prüfungen, Klausuren oder zum Wohnen und Leben in Bochum hast - das ZfI steht dir während deines gesamten Aufenthalts in Bochum beratend zur Seite.

Ankommen in Bochum | Vorlesungen an der Juristischen Fakultätf | Wohnen in Bochum | Weitere Informationen

Ankommen in Bochum

Zunächst muss die Reise nach Bochum organisiert werden. In der Nähe von Bochum befinden sich der Flughafen Düsseldorf und der Flughafen Dortmund. Von beiden Flughäfen erreicht man sehr gut den Hauptbahnhof in Bochum. Weitere Informationen zur Anreise findest du hier

Kurz nach der Ankunft in Bochum solltest du einen Termin mit den Mitarbeitern des ZfI machen. In dem Gespräch kannst du noch einmal alle deine Fragen stellen. Insbesondere weisen dich die Mitarbeiter des ZfI auf eventuelle Konflikte in deinem Stundenplan hin und helfen dir passende Alternativen zu suchen. Sollte das Learning Agreement geändert werden müssen, kann dies sofort passieren. Eine Vorlage für dein Learning Agreement findest du hier. Bei der Berechnung der ECTS-Punkte sind wir gerne behilflich.

Das International Office veranstaltet für alle Incomings eine Orientierungswoche. Alle weiteren Informationen findest du hier, deren Besuch wir sehr empfehlen.

Lehrveranstaltungen der Juristischen Fakultät

Die Kurse der Juristischen Fakultät findest du im Verzeichnis der Lehrveranstaltungen.

Den International Course Catalogue mit allen englischsprachigen Lehrveranstaltungen findest du hier.

Im Vorlesungsverzeichnis kannst du dich über die angebotenen Vorlesungen und Veranstaltungen informieren. Für die genauere Planung, insbesondere bei Fragen, welche Veranstaltungen für ausländische Studierende besonders geeignet sind und welche Vorkenntnisse Sie für bestimmte Vorlesungen benötigen, wende dich bitte an die Mitarbeiter des ZfI.

Die Veranstaltung "Einführung in das deutsche Recht und Rechtsstudium für ausländische Studierende" (Blockkurs in der Woche bevor das Semester beginnt) findet immer im Wintersemester statt und gibt einen guten Überblick über das deutsche Rechtssystem. Diese Vorlesung ist hilfreich, auch um den anderen Vorlesungen besser folgen zu können.

Wenn du Informationen zu den allgemeinen Semesterzeiten, Vorlesungszeiten, Feiertagen und Semesterferien suchst, besuche bitte die Seite des Studierendensekretariats (Fristen und Vorlesungszeiten).

Wohnen in Bochum

Das International Office der RUB bietet für ausländische Studierende einen Reservierungsservice für Wohnheimzimmer an. Weitere Informationen dazu findest du hier.

Möchtest du nicht in einem Studentenwohnheim wohnen, bietet die mit der Ruhr-Universität Bochum kooperierende Plattform housinganywhere.com eine gute Möglichkeit, eine Wohnung oder ein Zimmer für deinen Aufenthalt in Bochum zu finden.

Weitere Informationen

Den Lageplan der Ruhr-Universität samt Standort der Juristischen Fakultät und des ZfI findest du hier:



Weitere Informationen findest du auch auf den folgenden Seiten:



Das Team des ZfI freut sich auf deinen Besuch!