Print Jürgen Schlegel (Chairman)

Former General Secretary of the Joint Science Council (GWK), Bonn
(born 1945)  

Law degree at the University of Cologne
1973 Second state exam in law

Professional career
1973 Head of the press office and assistant to the Rector of the University of Cologne
1975-1990 Member of the Ministry for Science of the Federal State NRW, in particular on issues of university planning, HR, international affairs, research funding, national educational planning and research funding, teacher training and reform of study programmes; State representative in various EU and OECD committees
1990-2007 Secretary General of the "Bund-Länder-Kommission" for educational planning and research funding
2008-2011 Secretary General at the Joint Science Conference (Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz, GWK) of federal and state authorities
2011 Retirement

Professional and civic affiliations (selected milestones)
1991-1993 Member of the Founding Senate at the European University Viadrina Frankfurt/Oder and Chairman of the Structure Commission of the Founding Senate
Since 1992 Member of the Foundation Council at the German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF) and Vice President at the German Library Association (until May 2011)
1996-2004 Member of the Board of Trustees at Technische Universität Chemnitz and its Deputy Chairman since 1998
2000/2001 Advisor to the Minister of Cultural Affairs in the Federal State Sachsen-Anhalt regarding the future structure of the State’s universities. Chairman of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Bildungsverwaltung (until 2006)
2003-2007 Member of the Ruhr-Universität Bochum Board of Trustees
Since 2008 Member of the Ruhr-Universität Bochum University Council
Since 2008 Member of the Foundation Council at the European University Viadrina and of the University Council at Friedrich Schiller University Jena

Teaching experience
Since 2003: lecturer at Zentrum für Wissenschaftsmanagement, Speyer

Awards and accolades
  • Leibniz Medal awarded by Akademie der Wissenschaft und Literatur Mainz (2011)
  • Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, First Class (2011)