RUB » Research » Excellent  » Sofja Kovalevskaja Award

Sofja Kovalevskaja Award

Prof. Dr Clara Saraceno


Prof. Dr Clara Saraceno, born in Argentina in 1983, studied physics with a specialization in optics and photonics at the Institut d’Optique Graduate School in Palaiseau (France). Following her studies, she initially went into industry and worked at laser manufacturer Coherent in the USA from 2007 to 2008. She then continued her academic education in Switzerland. In 2012, she completed her doctorate at ETH Zürich, which, among other things, won the Quantum Electronics and Optics Division Thesis Prize 2013 (QEOD) from the European Physical Society. She works on new manufacturing processes for terahertz radiation.

Jun.-Prof. Dr Christian Strasser


Jun.-Prof. Dr Christian Strasser, born in Burghausen in 1978, initially studied information technology, then later on also philosophy at the University of Passau and completed both courses with honours in 2006. In 2007, he attended the Centre for Logic and Philosophy of Science at the University of Gent as a PhD student, where he obtained his doctorate in 2011. He has since concerned himself with deductive reasoning.

Frühere Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger Ruhr-Universität:


Prof. Dr Eike Kiltz


Prof. Dr Eike Kiltz, born in 1975, studied mathematics at Ruhr Universität Bochum from 1995 to 2001 and then worked as a research assistant at the University’s Chair of Theoretical Computer Science. He obtained his doctorate in 2004 and then spent a year as a postdoc at the University of California in San Diego. From 2005 to 2010, he worked for the Cryptology Group at Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica in Amsterdam. Guest visits took him to Switzerland, Spain and Denmark. He returned to Ruhr Universität with the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award. His research area is cryptography.

Good to know

With prize money of up to 1.65 million euros per award-winner, the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award enables scientists from overseas to continue their excellent research or begin a new research project. Over a period of five years, the award winners can undertake their own project with their own research group at an institute of their choice.