Links

 

Contact

Prof. Dr-Ing Andreas Ostendorf
Vice Rector for Research, Transfer and Early Career Researchers
Phone: +49 (0)234 32-27045
Fax: +49 (0)234 32-14131
Email: prorektor-forschung@rub.de

 

Forschung

Research at RUB

In recent years, Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) has further expanded its research strengths as part of its future concept “Research Campus RUB”. The university development plan for the period from 2014 to 2019 above all includes measures that were evaluated positively in the review for the last Excellence Initiative.
RUB has by now founded ten Research Departments to enable its researchers to collaborate in research focus areas in an interdisciplinary manner. Here, researchers join forces with international partners beyond the limits of their respective disciplines and faculties as well as within the University Alliance Ruhr (UA Ruhr). This alliance includes the University of Duisburg-Essen and the Technical University Dortmund alongside Ruhr-Universität Bochum. The most prominent example of the success of this structure is the Cluster of Excellence Resolv, which arose from a Research Department.

RUB supports its researchers in a targeted way when applying for funding: for instance, the number of ERC (European Research Council) projects acquired rose over recent years to a total of eleven ERC grants.

The University is firmly committed to supporting early career researchers. The Research School that has been funded by the Excellence Initiative since 2006 and has now become a permanent institution which ensures university-wide quality standards in the supervision of PhD students. Integrated into this structure is the project Research School plus, which was successful in the second phase of the Excellence Initiative and which particularly promotes the international networking of PhD students and young postdocs. The young researchers gain support, for instance, when establishing interdisciplinary networks and for an international exchange. With currently 15 junior research groups and a successful tenure track system, RUB also places an emphasis on the early independence of young researchers.

Within the context of the campus’ redevelopment, its attractiveness for research is also increasing. Among other things, RUB has acquired four research buildings in a national competition.

Last but not least, the endeavours of Ruhr-Universität Bochum aim at the transfer of academic knowledge into practice and society. RUB contributes to making the Ruhr a science region with its innovative concept for knowledge transfer, Worldfactory, for which it has joined up with partners from industry, the city, the chamber of commerce and industry, and many other educational institutions.

RUB » Universität » Profil » Forschung

Angeklickt

 

Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Ostendorf
Prorektor für Forschung, Transfer und wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs
Telefon: +49 (0)234 32-27045
Fax: +49 (0)234 32-14131
E-Mail: prorektor-forschung@rub.de

 

 

Forschung

Forschung an der RUB

In den vergangenen Jahren hat die Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) im Rahmen ihres Zukunftskonzepts „Research Campus RUB“ ihre Forschungsstärken weiter ausgebaut. Der Hochschulentwicklungsplan sieht für die Periode von 2014 bis 2019 hierfür vor allem Maßnahmen vor, welche bei der Begutachtung der letzten Exzellenzinitiative positiv beurteilt wurden.

Um ihren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern zu ermöglichen, fächerübergreifend an Forschungsschwerpunkten zusammenzuarbeiten, hat die RUB mittlerweile zehn Research Departments gegründet. Hier vernetzen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher über die Grenzen ihrer jeweiligen Disziplinen und Fakultäten hinweg mit internationalen Partnern und innerhalb der Universitätsallianz Ruhr (UA Ruhr). Diesem Verbund gehören neben der Ruhr-Universität Bochum auch die Universität Duisburg-Essen und die Technische Universität Dortmund an. Prominentestes Beispiel für den Erfolg dieser Struktur ist der Exzellenzcluster Resolv, der aus einem Research Department heraus entstanden ist.

Die RUB unterstützt ihre Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler gezielt bei der Einwerbung von Fördermitteln: In den vergangenen Jahren stieg zum Beispiel die Zahl der eingeworbenen Projekte des ERC (European Research Council) auf insgesamt elf ERC-Grants.

Die Universität setzt sich nachdrücklich für die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses ein. Die seit 2006 durch die Exzellenzinitiative geförderte und inzwischen verstetigte Research School sorgt für universitätsweite Qualitätsstandards der Doktorandenbetreuung. Integriert in diese Struktur ist das in der zweiten Förderphase der Exzellenzinitiative erfolgreiche Projekt Research School plus, mit dem die internationale Vernetzung der Doktoranden und jungen Postdocs besonders gefördert wird. Die jungen Forscherinnen und Forscher erhalten Unterstützung zum Beispiel bei der Bildung interdisziplinärer Netzwerke und für den internationalen Austausch. Mit zurzeit 15 Nachwuchsforschergruppen und einem erfolgreichen Tenure-Track-System setzt die RUB ebenfalls einen Akzent auf die frühe Eigenständigkeit junger Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler.

Im Zuge der Sanierung des Campus wächst auch seine Attraktivität für die Forschung. Unter anderem hat die RUB im nationalen Wettbewerb vier Forschungsbauten eingeworben.

Nicht zuletzt zielen die Anstrengungen der Ruhr-Universität Bochum auf den Transfer der wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse in die Praxis und die Gesellschaft. Mit ihrem innovativen Konzept des Wissenstransfers Worldfactory, für das sie sich mit Partnern aus der Industrie, der Stadt, der Industrie- und Handelskammer sowie vielen weiteren Bildungsinstitutionen verzahnt hat, trägt die RUB dazu bei, das Ruhrgebiet zu einer Wissensregion zu machen.