RUB » University » Profile » Family Friendly University
Familiengerechte Hochschule

Family-friendly university

Ruhr-Universität strives to establish a family-friendly university culture. The organisation assists its students and members of staff in reconciling professional career or studying with family responsibilities.

In June 2015, RUB signed the charter "Familie in der Hochschule" ("Family at university"). Since then, it has been a member of the Best Practice Club of the same name, a network of institutions in the university and academia system in German-speaking countries. Thus, RUB has committed itself to embedding the family-friendly policy as one of the university's strategic cornerstones and to continue to promote the reconciliation of a professional career resp. studying and academia with family responsibilities.

Numerous measures and services have been successfully developed and implemented, for example the daycare centre UniKids, which opened in September 2011. Here, 110 children between the ages of two months and school age are supervised in seven groups.

The family service ProKids has been advising employees with family responsibilities and organising childcare services for many years. In the Easter, summer and autumn holidays, the family service offers childcare services for the children of RUB employees and students. In addition, ProKids provides support to employees with sick or elderly relatives as part of its nursing consultancy programme.

RUB focuses strongly on enhancing and improving the family and child-friendly infrastructure on the campus; it promotes family-friendly organisation of work environments and introduced relevant HR development measures.

RUB » Universität » Profil » Familiengerechte Hochschule 
Familiengerechte Hochschule

Familiengerechte Hochschule

Die Ruhr-Universität möchte eine familienfreundliche Hochschulkultur etablieren. Sie unterstützt ihre Studierenden und Beschäftigten dabei, Beruf oder Studium und Familie unter einen Hut zu bringen.

Im Juni 2015 hat die RUB die Charta "Familie in der Hochschule" unterzeichnet. Sie ist seitdem Mitglied im gleichnamigen Best-Practice-Club, einem Netzwerk von Institutionen des deutschsprachigen Hochschul- und Wissenschaftssystems. Damit verpflichtet sich die RUB, Familienorientierung als Profilelement der Hochschule strategisch zu verankern und ihr langjähriges Engagement für die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf beziehungsweise Studium und Wissenschaft mit Familienaufgaben fortzusetzen.

Zahlreiche Maßnahmen und Angebote wurden bereits erfolgreich entwickelt und umgesetzt, zum Beispiel die im September 2011 eröffnete Kindertagesstätte UniKids. Hier werden in sieben Gruppen insgesamt 110 Kinder zwischen zwei Monaten und dem Schuleintrittsalter betreut.

Seit vielen Jahren berät der Familienservice ProKids Beschäftigte mit familiären Aufgaben und vermittelt Kinderbetreuungsangebote. In den Oster-, Sommer- und Herbstferien führt der Familienservice eine Ferienbetreuung für die Kinder von Beschäftigten und Studierenden durch. Daneben unterstützt ProKids Beschäftigte mit pflegebedürftigen Angehörigen im Rahmen der Pflegeberatung.

Großes Augenmerk legt die RUB auf den Ausbau und die stetige Verbesserung der familien- und kindgerechten Infrastruktur auf dem Campus, ebenso wie auf eine familiengerechte Gestaltung der Arbeitsorganisation und die Etablierung entsprechender Personalentwicklungsmaßnahmen.