University Achievements - Archive

Year Event
October 2013 Universitätsforum key hand-over
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00278.html.de
October 2013 SSC topping-out ceremony
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00275.html.de
October 2013 RUB welcomes the dual Abitur cohort
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00264.html.de
October 2013 Fully redeveloped IC building inaugurated
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00259.html.de
September 2013 Decision for rebuilding IA and IB is made
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00249.html.de
June 2013 30 years of partnership with Krakow University
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00176.html.de
June 2013 SSC foundation stone laid
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00168.html.de
Mai 2013 Resolv launched
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00158.html.de
August 2012 “C60 – Collaboratorium für kulturelle Praxis” launched in the Rotunde
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2012/pm00276.html.de
July 2012 Bochum becomes test location for the standardised English test IELTS
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2012/pm00239.html.de
June 2012 RUB becomes an ExtraSchicht venue for the first time
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2012/pm00217.html.de
April 2012 Launch of the daycare centre UniKids
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2012/pm00108.html.de
2011 The Federal Ministry of Education and Research is providing over 12 mio. euros of funding toward the improvement of teaching at Ruhr University Bochum (RUB): the university was successful with not one, but two applications within the “Programme to improve study conditions and teaching quality at universities”, and has launched its “inStudies” and “ELLI” programmes.
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2011/pm00157.html.de
2011 How does memory work? And why do we forget some things? These and many other questions were debated by some 30 outstanding European students together with internationally renowned neuroscientists during the first Summer School within the network “European Campus of Excellence”, which took place at RUB from the 4th to the 25th of September with the financial support of Stiftung Mercator.
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2011/pm00068.html.de
2011 The new Centre for Mediterranean Studies groups together the many activities relating to the Mediterranean region at RUB. They cover the period from antiquity to the present day, focussing primarily on four areas: mobility, social networks, inter-cultural communication, and political networks. The centre, the first of its kind in Germany, receives over 2 mio. euros of funding from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2011/pm00056.html.de
2010 With the establishment of two further Research Departments (Neuroscience and Plasma Research) and the opening of the Professional School of Education (PSE), the RUB has fully implemented its future vision from the first Excellence Initiative. Research Departments, PSE
2010 Together, students, teachers, and the university administration are developing a mission statement for teaching: Under the motto “Learning. Achievement. Living community”, it presents the central ideas of “universitas” also for teaching, and emphasises the responsibility of all members of the RUB. Teaching at the RUB
2010 With the opening of the KUBUS, the RUB is continuously expanding its art collections and setting a cultural and architectural example in the Ruhr region in the year of the European Capital of Culture. Kubus

 

2009 With a newly established education fund, the RUB fosters outstanding students. Supported by institutions and individuals whose donations are doubled by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, for the first time it was possible to foster over 100 students. Education fund
2009 The RUB was re-certifed as a family-friendly university. The certificate from the Hertie Foundation states that the RUB operates a family-friendly personnel policy and continuously strives to achieve a workable balance between paid work and family.  Press information
2009 The RUB took a big step forward in the implementation of its Institutional Strategy “RUB Research Campus”: Generously supported by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia to the tune of 20 million euros, it founded the first three of five planned Research Departments. Press information
2008 The materials research centre ICAMS - Interdisciplinary Centre of Advanced Materials Simulation – was officially opened. Press information
2008 The Ministry of Innovation of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Mercator Foundation supported the development of excellence at the RUB with a total of 30 million euros. The University contributed a further 10 million from its own funds or from private capital. Press information
2007 At the end of the year of Humanities 2007, the Ruhr Universität was awarded the “R” in the programme "The ABCs of Humankind". The "R" stands for religion and its importance for humanity. Press information
2007 Bochum’s humanities scholars receive a full 12 million Euros from the Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) for an international college on the theme "Dynamics in the history of religions between Asia and Europe". Press information
2007 With ICAMS – the Interdisciplinary Centre of Advanced Materials Simulation – the Ruhr-Universität Bochum has risen to become a world leader in materials research. An industrial consortium led by ThyssenKrupp and the state of North Rhine-Westphalia supported the establishment of the centre of materials simulation to the tune of 24.2 million Euros. Natural scientists and engineers work closely together here to develop novel methods for the computer simulation of contemporary materials. ICAMS
2007 The universities of Bochum, Dortmund and Duisburg-Essen set up the “University Alliance Metropolis Ruhr”: with this, the universities of the Ruhr region move closer together, whilst remaining independent. In this future-oriented cooperation, the University Alliance Metropolis Ruhr aims to strengthen and targetedly extend the achievements of the three partners and to jointly develop research and teaching priorities further. The aim is to establish the University Alliance Metropolis Ruhr as an excellence location within the national and international scientific and academic landscape. Universitätsallianz
2007 The engineering faculties of the Universities of Bochum and Dortmund, founded the “Engineering Unit Ruhr” and thus one of the most high-powered training and research centres in Germany. Under a common roof, the partners aim to network their resources and purposefully exploit synergies. The Engineering University Ruhr is a first measure to fill the “University Alliance Metropolis Ruhr” with life.  
2007 The door to the “elite” is wide open: the Ruhr-Universität is submitting a full proposal for the second round of the Excellence Initiative of the federal and state funding lines for the two "Clusters of Excellence" (PROTEINinteractions:  from molecular mechanism to cellular NETWORKS) and “Future strategies for the project-related extension of  top-level university research” (Elite University) Wettbewerb Exzellenzinitiative
2007 Cosmopolitan university: the Ruhr-Universität Bochum is one of three successful universities in the competition for the best ideas for establishing a "Welcome Centre" for international researchers, organised by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the Deutsche Telekom Foundation and the innovation agency for German science ( Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft). The Bochum concept for all-round support of foreign researchers is to be funded with € 125,000. Welcome Centre
2006 With its concept of a campus-wide and international graduate school (Ruhr-University Research School), the University succeeded in winning the funding of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)! Thus the Ruhr-University is one of the few universities in NRW which will be able to implement their concepts of Research Schools in the next five years. Research School
2006 Study, career, and children: The Ruhr-Universität is certified as a “Family Friendly University”. The certification was awarded for already implemented policies such as child care, eLearning, a mentoring programme, as well as for agreed aims to implement a personnel development and “Dual Career” programmes. Family Friendly University
2006 The Ruhr-Universität Bochum is one of four institutions of higher education in Germany that achieved the first place in the nationwide competition Key Qualifications Plus sponsored by the "Stifterverband" and the "Mercator-Stiftung". With its Options Module (Optionalbereich), Bochum is unique among public sector universities and has a campus wide concept for acquiring key skills. The module involves the participation of nearly all disciplines and is anchored in the Bachelor programmes. “Soft Skills Plus” at the RUB
2006 The Ruhr-Universität is requested to submit a final proposal for its "Ruhr-University Research School" as part of the Excellence Initiative for promoting top-level research in Germany initiated by the Federal and state governments. Press release: Research School
2005 “Get the Best” – The RUB achieves 1st prize in the nationwide competition "Initiative D21" for the best concept for promoting women in research. The RUB concept encompasses all phases of an academic career and brings these phases into a common framework. With this concept the RUB informs, motivates, and supports young women in the choice of their degree programme, to career orientation, to professorship. A special aspect of the concept is the Mentoring Programme. Press release "Get the Best"
2005 The idea of the Centre for Foreign Language Studies is to offer all available language courses from a single source with quality assured teaching and the highest degree of transparency for students. The RUB has committed itself to a very special service: all students who want to learn a foreign language in addition to their programme of study can do so at no cost. Zentrum für Fremdsprachenausbildung (ZFA)
2004 In line with the motto “In numbers there is strength”, the three universities of the Ruhr area – the Ruhr-Universität Bochum, the University of Dortmund, and the University of Duisburg-Essen – have jointly formed a Contact Office in New York: ConRuhr. The Office should make the Ruhr area more known as a place of research and encourage academic exchanges among scientists and students. ConRuhr
2004 The Centre for Higher Education Development (CHE) designated the Ruhr-Universität as a “Best Practices University 2004”. The award committee particularly commended the RUB’s success in adopting the Bachelor and Master system and for implementing quality assurance measures. Personnel development, support for young academics, and knowledge transfer were all considered as exemplary.  
2004 The "Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung" provided the financial support for the establishment of the Alfried Krupp-School Laboratory. The 1000 m² lab leaves no wishes unfulfilled: it has sections for biology and chemistry, physics, and mathematical analysis, a 360° projection cylinder and a seminar room. There is plenty of room to experiment. The lab complements classroom teaching and is the ideal place to create enthusiasm for natural science and technology. The aim of the lab is to communicate state of the art knowledge and to develop new methods in science teaching. Alfried Krupp School Labratory
2003 The first faculty wide graduate school is opened. The international doctoral programme, the Graduate School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, accepts Master or Bachelor students in chemistry or related disciplines for its 3 or 4 year doctoral programme. The international students undertake their research at the Faculty of Chemistry and Biochemistry or the Max-Planck Institutes in Dortmund, Mülheim, or Düsseldorf. Graduate School of Chemistry and Biochemistry
2003 The RUB becomes a member of the University Network for the Promotion of Excellence in Sports. The RUB has a large number of top sportsmen and women, particularly in rowing and athletic sports. In order to support them in combining sports and study the RUB has entered into cooperation with the top sports associations. University Network for the Promotion of Excellence in Sports
2002 Under the motto “We want to get rid of them!” the RUB organized its unique foreign exchange exhibition “Grenzenlos” (Without Borders). Thousands of visitors came to the Audimax to visit the over 30 exhibitors and listen to the many talks and presentations about studying abroad. Funding bodies such as the DAAD and the Fulbright Commission were present as were embassy representatives, language schools, and partner universities. The Shanghai Tongji-University even sent five chefs who engaged themselves in extending the menu in the university canteens. “Grenzenlos” takes place every two years. Foreign exchange exhibition "Grenzenlos"
2002 All degree programmes in the humanities and the social and natural sciences are converted to the Bachelor and Master system. The University further developed a model that it had already started in the 1990s. No other university in Germany committed itself so early to the creation of a European Education Area. The result: a rich history of experience from which students can benefit. Degree Programmes
2001 The University founds its first English language graduate school: the International Graduate School of Neuroscience (IGSN). As an “open faculty” the Graduate School is a joint initiative of the faculties of Biology, Chemistry, Medicine, Psychology, and the Institute for Neuroinformatics. The School awards its own PhD. International Graduate School of Neuroscience
2000 The Ruhr-Universität is the first German university to establish its own Writing Centre to assist students and academics with all aspects of professional science writing. Such centres are standard in US universities such as Harvard and Cornell. Writing Centre

Erfolge der Universität – Archiv

Jahr Thema
Oktober 2013 Schlüsselübergabe Universitätsforum
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00278.html.de
Oktober 2013 Richtfest SSC
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00275.html.de
Oktober 2013 RUB begrüßt Doppelten Abiturjahrgang
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00264.html.de
Oktober 2013 Einweihung des kernsanierten IC-Gebäudes
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00259.html.de
September 2013 Entscheidung fällt, dass IA und IB neu gebaut werden
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00249.html.de
Juni 2013 30 Jahre Partnerschaft mit der Universität Krakau
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00176.html.de
Juni 2013 Grundstein SSC
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00168.html.de
Mai 2013 Startschuss Resolv
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2013/pm00158.html.de
August 2012 Eröffnung des „C60 – Collaboratorium für kulturelle Praxis“ in der Rotunde
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2012/pm00276.html.de
Juli 2012 Bochum wird Testort für den standardisierten Englischtest IELTS
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2012/pm00239.html.de
Juni 2012 RUB erstmals Austragungsort der ExtraSchicht
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2012/pm00217.html.de
April 2012 Eröffnung der Kita UniKids
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/pm2012/pm00108.html.de
2011 Mit mehr als 12 Mio. Euro fördert das Bundesforschungsministerium die Verbesserung der Lehre an der RUB: Sie war mit gleich zwei Anträgen im „Programm für bessere Studienbedingungen und mehr Qualität in der Lehre“ erfolgreich und startete die Programme inStudies und ELLI.
Presseinformation
2011 Wie funktioniert das Gedächtnis? Dieser Frage widmeten sich rund 30 exzellente europäische Studierende gemeinsam mit international führenden Neurowissenschaftlern bei der ersten Summer School im Netzwerk des „European Campus of Excellence“, die im September an der RUB stattfand und von der Stiftung Mercator gefördert wurde.
Presseinformation
2011 Das neue „Zentrum für Mittelmeerstudien“ bündelt die zahlreichen mediterranistischen Aktivitäten an der RUB. Sie umfassen den Zeitraum von der Antike bis in die Gegenwart und kreisen vor allem um vier Themenfelder: „Mobilität“, „Soziale Netzwerke“, „Interkulturelle Kommunikation“ und „Politische Netzwerke“. Das Zentrum wird mit über 2 Mio. Euro vom Bundesforschungsministerium gefördert.
Presseinformation

 

Jahr Thema Link
2010 Mit der Gründung von zwei weiteren Research Departments (Neuroscience und Plasmaforschung) und der Eröffnung der Professional School of Education (PSE) setzt die Ruhr-Universität ihr Zukunftskonzept aus der ersten Exzellenzinitiative vollständig um. Research Departments, PSE
2010 Gemeinsam entwickeln Studierende, Lehrende und Hochschulverwaltung ein Leitbild für die Lehre: Unter dem Motto „Lernen. Leisten. Gemeinschaft leben“ präzisiert es den Kerngedanken der „universitas“ auch für die Lehre und betont die Verantwortung aller Mitglieder der RUB. Lehre an der RUB
2010 Mit der Eröffnung des KUBUS baut die RUB ihre Kunstsammlungen kontinuierlich aus und setzt im Jahr der Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt ein kulturelles und architektonisches Zeichen in der Region Ruhr. Kubus
2009 Mit einem neu aufgelegten Bildungsfonds fördert die Ruhr-Universität herausragende Studierende. Unterstützt durch Institutionen und Privatpersonen, deren Spenden durch das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen verdoppelt werden, können erstmals über 100 Studierende gefördert werden. Bildungsfonds
2009 Die Ruhr-Universität ist rezertifziert als Familiengerechte Hochschule. Das Zertifikat der Hertie-Stiftung bescheinigt der Ruhr- Universität, dass sie eine familienbewusste Personalpolitik betreibt und kontinuierlich an einer tragfähigen Balance von Erwerbsarbeit und Familie arbeitet. Presseinformation
2009 Bei der Umsetzung ihres Zukunftskonzepts „RUB Research Campus“ geht die Ruhr-Universität Bochum einen großen Schritt voran: Mit rund 20 Millionen Euro großzügig vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen unterstützt, gründet sie die ersten drei von fünf geplanten Research Departments. Presseinformation
2008 Das Materialforschungszentrum ICAMS - Interdisciplinary Centre of Advanced Materials Simulation - wird offiziell eröffnet. Presseinformation
2008 Das NRW-Innovationsministerium und die Stiftung Mercator unterstützen mit insgesamt 30 Millionen Euro die Exzellenzentwicklung der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Weitere 10 Millionen steuert die Universität aus eigenen Mitteln oder aus privatem Kapital bei. Presseinformation
2007 Zum Abschluss des Jahres der Geisteswissenschaften 2007 wird der Ruhr-Universität aus dem Programm „ABC der Menschheit“ das „R“ verliehen. Das „R“ steht für Religion und ihre Bedeutung für die Menschheit. Presseinformation
2007 Rund 12 Millionen Euro bekommen Bochumer Geisteswissenschaftler vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) für ein Internationales Kolleg zum Thema „Dynamiken der Religionsgeschichte zwischen Asien und Europa“. Presseinformation
2007 Mit ICAMS – dem Interdisciplinary Centre of Advanced Materials Simulation – steigt die Ruhr-Universität Bochum in die Weltspitze der Materialforschung auf. Ein Industriekonsortium unter Federführung von ThyssenKrupp und das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen fördern die Einrichtung des Zentrums für Werkstoffsimulation mit 24,2 Millionen Euro. Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaftler arbeiten hier eng zusammen, um neuartige Verfahren für die Computersimulation moderner Werkstoffe zu entwickeln. ICAMS
2007 Die Universitäten Bochum, Dortmund und Duisburg-Essen gründen die „Universitätsallianz Metropole Ruhr“: Damit rücken die Universitäten des Ruhrgebiets enger zusammen, bleiben aber eigenständig. Die Universitätsallianz Metropole Ruhr will in dieser zukunftsweisenden Kooperation die Leistungen der drei Partner stärken und gezielt ausbauen sowie gemeinsam Forschungs- und Lehrschwerpunkte weiterentwickeln. Ziel ist, die Universitätsallianz Metropole Ruhr als exzellenten Standort in der nationalen und internationalen Wissenschafts- und Studienlandschaft zu etablieren. Universitätsallianz
2007 Die Maschinenbau-Fakultäten der Universitäten Bochum und Dortmund gründen die „Engineering Unit Ruhr“ und damit eines der leistungsstärksten Ausbildungs- und Forschungszentren in Deutschland. Unter einem gemeinsamen Dach wollen beide Partner ihre Ressourcen vernetzen und Synergien gezielt nutzen. Die Engineering Uni Ruhr ist eine erste Maßnahme, die „Universitätsallianz Metropole Ruhr“ mit Leben zu füllen.  
2007 Die Tür zur „Elite“ ist ganz weit offen: Mit einem Vollantrag bewirbt sich die Ruhr-Universität in der zweiten Runde der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder für die beiden Förderlinien "Exzellenzcluster" (PROTEINinteractions: From molecular Mechanism to cellular NETWORKS) und "Zukunftskonzepte zum projektbezogenen Ausbau der universitären Spitzenforschung" (Elite-Universität). Wettbewerb Exzellenzinitiative
2007 Weltoffene Universität: Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum ist eine von drei erfolgreichen Universitäten im Wettbewerb um die besten Ideen zum Aufbau eines „Welcome Centre“ für internationale Forscher, ausgeschrieben von der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, der Deutschen Telekom Stiftung und vom Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft. Das Bochumer Konzept für eine Rundum-Betreuung ausländischer Forscher wird mit 125.000 Euro gefördert. Welcome Centre
2006 Die Ruhr-Uni gehört zu den „exzellenten“ deutschen Universitäten! In der ersten Runde der Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder erhält die RUB den Zuschlag für eine campusweite Research School. Ziel des einzigartigen Konzepts ist, Nachwuchswissenschaftlern eine „Promotion mit Mehrwert“ zu ermöglichen. Wissenschaftler fast aller Fakultäten arbeiten hier eng zusammen und betreuen die Doktoranden über Fächergrenzen hinweg. Research School
2006 Studium und Karriere mit Kind: Die Ruhr-Universität wird als „Familiengerechte Hochschule“ zertifiziert. Das Grundzertifikat erhält sie sowohl für bereits erfolgreiche Maßnahmen – Kinderbetreuung, eLearning, Mentorinnenprogramme – als auch für vereinbarte zukünftige Ziele zum Beispiel in der Personalentwicklung und im Bereich „Dual Career“. Familiengerechte Hochschule
2006 Als eine von vier Hochschulen bundesweit erreicht die Ruhr-Universität den ersten Platz im bundesweiten Wettbewerb “Schlüsselqualifikationen plus” des Stifterverbands und der Mercator-Stiftung. Mit dem Optionalbereich ist es Bochum als einziger großer staatlicher Universität gelungen, ein campusweites Konzept zur Vermittlung von Schlüsselqualifikation zu etablieren, das im BA-Studium verankert ist und an dem nahezu alle Fächer beteiligt sind. Schlüsselqualifikationen plus
2006 Die Ruhr-Universität wird aufgefordert, ihre Antragsskizze für eine Graduiertenschule (Ruhr-University Research School) als Antrag zur "Exzellenzinitiative des Bundes und der Länder zur Förderung von Wissenschaft und Forschung an deutschen Hochschulen" auszuarbeiten. Presseinformation: Research School
2005 “Get the Best” – Die RUB gewinnt den 1. Preis im bundesweiten Wettbewerb der Initiative D21 um das beste Konzept zur Förderung von Frauen in der Forschung. Das Konzept der RUB umfasst alle Phasen der wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn und bringt sie als Bausteine in einen Zusammenhang. Damit informiert, motiviert und fördert die Ruhr-Universität junge Frauen von der Studienwahl über das Studium und die Berufsorientierung bis zur Professur. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf individuellen Mentoring-Programmen. Presseinformation zu "Get the Best"
2005 Alle Fremdsprachenangebote aus einer Hand, ein breites und qualitätsgesichertes Angebot, höchstmögliche Transparenz für alle Interessenten – dies ist die Philosophie des neuen Zentrums für Fremdsprachenausbildung der RUB. Die Universität hat sich dabei zu einem besonderen Service verpflichtet: Jeder Studierende, der ein Interesse hat, zusätzlich zu seinem Fachstudium sprachliche Kompetenzen zu erwerben, kann dies in einem festgelegten Umfang tun – frei wählbar und kostenlos. Zentrum für Fremdsprachenausbildung (ZFA)
2004 Gemäß dem Motto „gemeinsam sind wir stark“ haben sich die drei Universitäten des Ruhrgebiets – die Ruhr-Universität Bochum, die Universität Dortmund und die Universität Duisburg-Essen – zusammengeschlossen und ein Verbindungsbüro in New York gegründet: ConRuhr. Das Büro soll den Forschungsstandort bekannter machen und den wissenschaftlichen und personellen Austausch von Wissenschaftlern und Studierenden zwischen den Kontinenten intensivieren. ConRuhr
2004 Die Ruhr-Universität wird als “best practice-Hochschule 2004” des Centrums für Hochschulentwicklung (CHE) ausgezeichnet. In der Begründung heben die Gutachter die Erfolge bei der Umstellung auf das Bachelor-/Mastersystem hervor, ferner die umfassenden Maßnahmen zur Qualitätssicherung. Als beispielhaft gelten die Aktivitäten in der Personalentwicklung, der Nachwuchsförderung sowie im Wissenschaftstransfer.  
2004 Das Alfried Krupp-Schülerlabor wird mit finanzieller Unterstützung der Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung gegründet. Die Ausstattung lässt keine Wünsche offen: Ein biologisch-chemisches, ein physikalisch-technisches, das mathematisch-analytische Labor, ein 360°-Projektionszylinder und ein Seminarraum verteilen sich großzügig auf 1.000 m² und bieten viel Platz zum Experimentieren. Das Schülerlabor ergänzt den Schulunterricht und begeistert spielerisch für Technik und Naturwissenschaften. Ziel ist es, Wissen auf dem Stand der Forschung zu vermitteln und didaktisch neue Wege zu gehen. Alfried Krupp-Schülerlabor
2003 Die erste fakultätsweite Graduiertenschule der Ruhr-Universität wird eröffnet. Das internationale Promotions-Programm Graduate School of Chemistry and Biochemistry führt Master- oder Bachelor-Absolventen der Chemie oder verwandter Fächer in drei bzw. vier Jahren zur Promotion. Die in- und ausländischen Teilnehmer forschen an den Lehrstühlen der Fakultät für Chemie und Biochemie oder den Max-Planck-Instituten in Dortmund, Mülheim oder Düsseldorf und sind in der Regel auch dort angestellt. Graduate School of Chemistry and Biochemistry
2003 Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum ist "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports": Der Olympiastützpunkt Westfalen, der Allgemeine Deutsche Hochschulsportverband (adh), das Deutsche Studentenwerk und die RUB unterzeichnen eine entsprechende Kooperationsvereinbarung. Ziel ist, studierenden Spitzensportlern sowohl eine sportliche Karriere als auch eine akademische Ausbildung zu ermöglichen. Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports
2002 Unter dem augenzwinkernden Motto „Wir wollen Sie loswerden!“ wird die in ihrer Größe und Konzeption einzigartige Universitäts-Auslandsmesse „Grenzenlos“ ins Leben gerufen: Tausende Besucher kommen ins Audimax, um sich bei über 30 Ausstellern sowie in zahlreichen Kurzvorträgen und Präsentationen über Auslandsaufenthalte während des Studiums zu informieren. Stipendiengeber wie DAAD und Fulbright-Kommission bis hin zu Botschaften und Sprachschulen sowie zehn extra angereiste Delegationen von Partneruniversitäten stellen ihre Angebote vor – die Shanghaier Tongji-Universität bringt sogar fünf Köche mit, die in der Mensa für kulinarische Horizonterweiterung sorgen. „Grenzenlos“ findet nun alle zwei Jahre statt. Auslandsmesse "Grenzenlos"
2002 Alle Studiengänge in den Geistes-, Gesellschafts- und Naturwissenschaften sind auf das Bachelor-/Master-System umgestellt. Die Ruhr-Universität erprobte das System in einem Modellversuch, in dem bereits in den 90er-Jahren ein Bachelor-Abschluss erreicht werden konnte. Keine andere Universität hat sich so frühzeitig und so konsequent den Herausforderungen eines europäischen Bildungsraums gestellt. Das Ergebnis: ein reicher Erfahrungsschatz, von dem die Studierenden profitieren. Studienangebot der Ruhr-Universität
2001 Mit der International Graduate School of Neuroscience (IGSN) wird die erste Graduiertenschule der Ruhr-Universität gegründet. Die IGSN als „offene Fakultät“ ist eine gemeinsame Einrichtung der Fakultäten Biologie, Chemie, Medizin und Psychologie sowie des Instituts für Neuroinformatik der RUB. Sie hat mit dem “Ph.D. in Neuroscience“ Promotionsrecht und einen eigenen englischsprachigen Promotionsstudiengang. International Graduate School of Neuroscience
2000 Die Ruhr-Universität richtet als erste deutsche Hochschule ein Schreibzentrum als dauerhafte Einrichtung ein und beschreitet damit neue Wege, die in Harvard oder Cornell längst zum Standard gehören. Das Schreibzentrum unterstützt Studierende und Wissenschaftler in allen Fragen professionellen wissenschaftlichen Schreibens. Schreibzentrum