Culture and recreation in the Ruhr Metropolis

Zeche ZollvereinPhoto: Avda, [CC-BY-SA-3.0],
Wikimedia Commons

World Cultural Heritage

An old mining facility turned into a World Cultural Heritage Site? If you can't picture it, you should definitely pay a visit to Zeche Zollverein in Essen. Shaft towers, coking plant, museums, gigantic halls and many, many recreational activities. Simply fabulous. Read more...

ExtraschichtPhoto: Ruhr Tourismus GmbH /
Nielinger

Long night

Lights out? Not at "ExtraSchicht", the long night of industrial culture, which is celebrated every year on a Saturday before the beginning of the summer holidays. The entire Ruhr region joins in to enjoy a plethora of arts and cultural events in former industrial facilities until long past midnight. Read more...

RuhrtrienalePhoto: NatiSythen, [CC-BY-SA-3.0], Wikimedia Commons

In triple time

The meaning behind the term "Ruhrtriennale" does not necessarily become obvious at first glance. It refers to a six-week cultural festival that takes place across the entire Ruhr area (hence "Ruhr") every year in August and September. Every three years (hence "Triennale") the intendant is replaced. Read more...

Folkwang MuseumPhoto: Julius1990, [CC-BY-SA-3.0], Wikimedia Commons

The most beautiful museum in the world

The first special exhibition in the new extension of the famous Museum Folkwang in Essen was indeed called "The most beautiful museum in the world" (2010). Not to show off, but because this is what Museum Folkwang was once called by Paul J. Sachs, co-founder of the New Yorker Museum of Modern Art. Read more...

Landschaftspark Duisburg-NordPhoto: Tuxyso [CC-BY-SA-3.0], Wikimedia Commons

Up and down

Landschaftspark Nord is to the people of Duisburg what Zeche Zollverein is to the people of Essen. It is not easy to describe that gigantic industrial setting with its countless cultural and recreational facilities in a few words; two of its highlights are: fantastic climbing walls and a reservoir for scuba diving. Read more...

Gasometer OberhausenPhoto: Elke Wetzig [GFDL, CC-BY-SA-3.0], Wikimedia Commons

Christo's favourite

If the incomparable wrapping artist Christo uses a location twice, he must have a good reason to do so. That reason becomes apparent to everyone who ever visits the Gasometer. In fact, this industrial monument in Oberhausen is the only location worldwide that has been granted that honour. Read more...

The nature of Ruhr

It is a sad occasion when old industrial facilities have to be closed down and get abandoned. In the Ruhr region, however, people made the best of it, by transforming old mines (Nordsternpark, Bommerholz), lift locks, pithead stocks (e.g. Hoheward, Haniel and Beckstraße plus Tetraeder) etc. into cultural, sports and recreational facilities, which can be admired along the Route Industriekultur. Read more...

Castles and gardens

The hype surrounding industrial culture notwithstanding – Ruhr history is much older and much more diverse than that. This is evidenced by e.g. castles such as Burg Blankenstein, gardens such as the one on the Gruga premises or the one surrounding Villa Hügel as well as wildlife attractions such as Zoom and Sea Life. Read more...

Museums

Art, technology and historical exhibitions – people interested in any of those will find a museum in just about every Ruhr town: e.g. Museum Lehmbruck in Duisburg, Henrichshütte in Hattingen, DASA and U in Dortmund, Zentrum für Lichtkunst in Unna, Archäologiemuseum in Herne and Camera Obscura in Mülheim. Read more...

Hollywood in Recklinghausen

Ruhr's theatre scene is colourful and diverse; almost every town has its own municipal and/or independent theatres. Hollywood stars flock to the annual theatre festival Ruhrfestspiele in Recklinghausen. Operas and musicals are put on in venues such as Musiktheater Gelsenkirchen. Read more...

The sound of music

Concert houses, small and large event halls, stadiums – music is played all across the region throughout the year. In addition, there are festivals for almost every conceivable music genre. The crème of the crop in the world of classical music meets at Klavier-Festival Ruhr every year. Read more...

Athletic feats

Skiing and sleighing any good? In the Ruhr region, these sports are hardly ever done outdoors; however, they're performed daily in Bottrop’s alpincenter. Great climbing facilities are available right next door – as well as in Dortmund/Wetter/Duisburg etc. And then there's Germany's no. 1 sport. As every child knows, football is an iconic sport in the Ruhr region. Read more...

Germany's largest screen

There was a time when multiplex cinemas mushroomed all over the place over night. This is no longer the case; now small arthouse theatres and giant multiplex cinemas coexist peacefully. There's one thing that none of them has to offer: the largest screen in Germany. This is the unique selling proposition of Lichtburg Essen. Read more...

Kultur und Freizeit in der Metropole Ruhr

Highlights

Zeche ZollvereinBild: Avda, [CC-BY-SA-3.0],
Wikimedia Commons

Weltkulturerbe

Eine alte Zechenanlage als Weltkulturerbe? Wer sich das nicht vorstellen kann, sollte dringend die Zeche Zollverein in Essen besuchen. Fördertürme, Kokerei, Museen, gigantische Hallen, dazu viele, viele Freizeitangebote. Einfach toll. Mehr lesen...

ExtraschichtBild: Ruhr Tourismus GmbH /
Nielinger

Lange Nacht

Schicht im Schacht? Nicht bei der „ExtraSchicht“, der langen Nacht der Industriekultur, die alljährlich an einem Samstag kurz den Sommerferien steigt. Das ganze Ruhrgebiet ist dabei, wenn bis weit nach Mitternacht auf ehemaligen Industrieanlagen ein sattes Kulturprogramm geboten wird. Mehr lesen...

RuhrtrienaleBild: NatiSythen, [CC-BY-SA-3.0], Wikimedia Commons

Im Dreiertakt

Der Begriff „Ruhrtriennale“ erschließt sich nicht unbedingt auf Anhieb. Dahinter verbirgt sich ein sechswöchiges Kulturfestival, das alljährlich im August und September im ganzen Ruhrgebiet (darum „Ruhr“) stattfindet. Nach drei Jahren (darum „Triennale“) wechselt jeweils der Intendant. Mehr lesen...

Folkwang MuseumBild: Julius1990, [CC-BY-SA-3.0], Wikimedia Commons

Das schönste Museum der Welt

Die erste Sonderausstellung im Neubau des berühmten Essener Folkwangmuseums hieß tatsächlich „Das schönste Museum der Welt“ (2010). Keine Angeberei allerdings, denn als Solches wurde das Folkwangmuseum einst von Paul J. Sachs, dem Mitbegründer des New Yorker Museum of Modern Art, bezeichnet. Mehr lesen...

Landschaftspark Duisburg-NordBild: Tuxyso [CC-BY-SA-3.0], Wikimedia Commons

Rauf und runter

Was den Essenern ihre Zeche Zollverein, das ist den Duisburgern ihr Landschaftspark Nord. Es fällt schwer, diese gigantische Industriekulisse mit ihren zahllosen Kultur- und Freizeitangeboten in wenigen Worten zu beschreiben, darum nur rasch zwei der Highlights: tolle Kletterwände und ein Becken zum Abtauchen. Mehr lesen...

Gasometer OberhausenBild: Elke Wetzig [GFDL, CC-BY-SA-3.0], Wikimedia Commons

Christos Liebling

Wenn der unvergleichliche Verpackungskünstler Christo einen Ort zweimal bespielt, dann muss das einen Grund haben. Wer einmal im Gasometer war, wird es verstehen. Tatsächlich ist das Oberhausener Industriedenkmal weltweit der einzige Ort, dem diese Ehre zuteil wurde. Mehr lesen...

Und sonst?

Das Wesen des Reviers

Traurig, wenn alte Industrieanlagen schließen müssen und leer stehen. Aber im Ruhrgebiet hat man das Beste daraus gemacht und ehemalige Zechen, Schiffshebewerke, Halden usw. einfach umgewidmet für Kultur, Sport und Freizeit – zu bewundern an der Route Industriekultur. Mehr lesen...

Burgen und Gärten

Trotz all dem Rummel um die Industriekultur – die Geschichte des Ruhrgebiets ist älter und abwechslungsreicher. Davon zeugen u.a. Burgen wie die Burg Blankenstein, Gärten wie in der Gruga oder bei der Villa Hügel oder tierische Attraktionen wie Zoom und Sea Life. Mehr lesen...

Reif fürs Museum

Ausstellungen mit Kunst, Technik und Geschichte – wer das sehen möchte, findet beinahe in jeder Ruhrgebietsstadt ein Museum: u.a. das Museum Lehmbruck in Duisburg, die Henrichshütte in Hattingen, DASA und U in Dortmund, das Zentrum für Lichtkunst in Unna, das Archäologiemuseum in Herne und die Camera Obscura in Mülheim. Mehr lesen...

Hollywood in Recklinghausen

Die Theaterlandschaft im Revier ist bunt und vielfältig, beinahe jede Stadt hat eigene kommunale und/oder freie Theater. Hollywoodstars geben sich alljährlich bei den Ruhrfestspielen in Recklinghausen ein Stelldichein. Opern und Musicals sieht man sich u.a. im Musiktheater Gelsenkirchen an. Mehr lesen...

Hier spielt die Musik

Konzerthäuser, kleine und große Veranstaltungshallen, Stadien – überall im Revier erklingt das ganze Jahr lang Musik. Hinzukommen Festivals für beinahe jede erdenkliche Musikrichtung. Die Creme de la Creme der Klassik taucht Jahr für Jahr beim Klavierfestival Ruhr auf. Mehr lesen...

Sportlich, sportlich

Ski und Rodel gut? In freier Natur trifft das im Revier eher selten, im Bottroper Alpincenter jedoch täglich. Direkt nebenan, aber auch in Dortmund/Wetter/Duisburg etc. lässt‘s sich prima Klettern. Bliebe noch Deutschlands Sportart No. 1. Und das weiß jedes Kind: Fußball im Revier ist absoluter Kult. Mehr lesen...

Deutschlands größter Kinosaal

Es gab eine Zeit, da schossen im Ruhrgebiet die Multiplexe wie Pilze aus dem Boden. Diese Zeit ist vorbei, längst leben kleine Programmkinos und riesige Multiplexkinos in friedlicher Koexistenz. Aber eines können sie alle nicht bieten: den größten Kinosaal Deutschlands, das kann nur die Lichtburg Essen. Mehr lesen...