Culture and recreation on the campus

Musisches ZentrumWhere the muses live

Musisches Zentrum is home to four art disciplines: theatre, fine arts, music and photography. Each of them presents their artistic endeavours to the public on a regular basis: in exhibitions, concerts and theatre performances. Read more...

KunstsammlungenAntique meets Beuys

An ancient Greek vase right next to a work by Beuys? A perfectly normal sight in the art collection, which houses ancient art and modern art under one roof. Read more...

50-Jahr-FeierRUB turns 50!

1965 was the year when the first student enrolled at RUB. 50 years later, this fact calls for a huge celebration – one that will last an entire year and will peak in June 2015. That is when, for example, Universitätsstraße will be closed down for car traffic for a whole day to permit "BlauPause" to take place. Read more...

Botanischer GartenA green outing

The Botanical Garden is the place where you’ll meet nature up close. On a walk along the paths and through the greenhouses a plethora of plants from all over the world can be discovered. In the centre of the Botanical Garden, there is the enchanting Chinese Garden. Read more...

Kunst am BauA sudden Vasarely

Created by famous artists such as Friedrich Gräsel, Erich Reusch and Victor Vasarely specifically for RUB, sculptures and pictures can be found everywhere on the campus. A striking eye-catcher is the adaptation of Picasso's masterpiece "Guernica" at the university library. Read more...

Live performances

Jazz sessions on Wednesdays, blues sessions on Fridays, plus folk music as well as readings on a regular basis. The culture office boSKop keeps RUB members entertained throughout the year with a wealth of programmes. These programmes are complemented by SKF films, Treibgut readings as well as major events such as the summer party and the Ruhrcomer festival. Read more...

Sport

Volleyball, badminton or fitness training. These are only three examples of more than 80 different sports that are available to RUB members at the university sports department. Those who prefer less conventional disciplines can opt for diving or stand-up paddle surfing, or they can attend AStA dancing classes or SIRUB sailing courses. Mehr lesen...

Food & drink

Chips, kebab, currywurst, salad and pasta are served in the Mensa every day. This core menu is complemented by seven varying dishes of the day. They always includes vegetarian and often also vegan cuisine. Those people who prefer a bit more class may take their meals in Q-West. Espresso & Co. are moreover served at the student-run Kulturcafé, beer and snacks at the student hall pub Hardys. Read more...

Join in

If you would like to not only consume art, but also create your own, you will find a number of options at the culture office boSKop and at Musisches Zentrum. Media such as CT. das Radio and tv.rub are likewise always on the lookout for new members. Read more...

Green landscapes

Green is not just the colour labelling the RUB’s natural-science buildings. Lush green is also to be found once you leave the campus and walk in the southern direction, exploring the Botanic and the Chinese Gardens. Read more...

Artful

In addition to research and academia, RUB also offers the chance to immerse yourself into art. you can do this by visiting the art collection, but also by viewing the works of famous artists that adorn the buildings. Read more...

Kultur und Freizeit auf dem Campus

Musisches ZentrumWo die Musen wohnen

Vier künstlerische Bereiche hat das Musische Zentrum: Theater, Bildende Kunst, Musik und Fotografie. Alle Bereiche präsentieren regelmäßig ihre Kunst – mit Austellungen, Konzerten und Theateraufführungen. Mehr lesen...

KunstsammlungenAntike trifft Beuys

Eine Vase aus dem antiken Griechenland gleich neben einem Werk von Beuys? In den Kunstsammlungen ist das normal, denn hier begegnen sich Antike Kunst und Gegenwartskunst unter einem Dach. Mehr lesen...

50-Jahr-FeierDie RUB wird 50!

1965 schrieb sich der erste Student an der RUB ein. 50 Jahre später wird kräftig gefeiert – ein ganzes Jahr lang. Die Höhepunkte allerdings sind im Juni 2015. Dann wird u.a. für die Aktion „BlauPause“ einen Tag lang die Universitätsstraße für den Autoverkehr gesperrt. Mehr lesen...

Botanischer GartenAb ins Grüne!

Im Botanischen Garten lässt sich Natur hautnah erleben. Beim Spaziergang über die Wege und durch die Gewächshäuser kann man Pflanzen aus aller Welt entdecken. Mitten im Botanischen Garten liegt zudem der zauberhafte Chinesische Garten. Mehr lesen...

Kunst am BauPlötzlich ein Vasarely

Überall auf dem Campus gibt es Skulpturen und Bilder, die berühmte Künstler wie Friedrich Gräsel, Erich Reusch oder Victor Vasarely eigens für die RUB angefertigt haben. Ein echter Hingucker ist auch die Adaption von Picassos Meisterwerk „Guernica“ an der Unibibliothek. Mehr lesen...

Live Dabei

Mittwochs Jazzsession, freitags Blues Session, dazu regelmäßig Folkmusik und Lesungen. Mit zahlreichen Reihen werden die RUB-Mitglieder das ganze Jahr über vom Kulturbüro boSKop bestens unterhalten. Hinzukommen u.a. die Filme des SKF, Lesungen von Treibgut sowie große Ereignisse wie Sommerfest und Ruhrcomer-Festival. Mehr lesen...

Sport

Volleyball, Badminton oder Konditionstraining. Das sind nur drei Beispiele für die etwa 80 verschiedenen Sportarten, die RUB-Mitglieder beim Hochschulsport ausüben können. Wer es weniger konventionell mag, wählt dort z. B. Tauchen oder Stand Up Paddle Surfing oder er besucht die Asta-Tanzkurse oder die Segelkurse von SIRUB. Mehr lesen...

Essen, Trinken und mehr

Pommes, Döner, Currywurst, Salat und Nudeln gibt es immer in der Mensa. Hinzukommen sieben täglich wechselnde Gerichte. Immer auch vegetarisch und oft vegan. Wer es etwas schicker mag, der geht ins Q-West. Espresso & Co. werden außerdem im studentischen Kulturcafé ausgeschenkt, Bier und Snacks in der Studentenwohnheimkneipe Hardys. Mehr lesen...

Mitmachen

Wer Kunst nicht nur konsumieren, sondern auch selbst gestalten will, findet vor allem im Kulturbüro Boskop und im Musischen Zentrum eine ganze Reihe von Angeboten. Auch Medien wie CT. das Radio und tv.rub suchen ständig Nachwuchs. Mehr lesen...

Im Grünen

Grün ist an der RUB nicht nur die Farbe, die die naturwissenschaftlichen Gebäude kennzeichnet. Sattes Grün lässt sich erleben, wenn man den Campus Richtung Süden verlässt und auf Entdeckungstour im Botanischen und Chinesischen Garten geht. Mehr lesen...

Kunstvoll

Abseits von Forschung und Lehre bietet die RUB die Möglichkeit Kunst zu genießen. Dazu gibt es eine eigene Sammlung aber auch direkt an den Gebäuden finden sich Werke namhafter Künstler. Mehr lesen...