Culture and recreation in Bochum

SchauspielhausPhoto: City of Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

All the world's a stage

From classic dramas by Schiller, Shakespeare and Goethe to modern theatre, including premiers – Bochum's Schauspielhaus puts on a programme that is celebrated beyond the regional borders. Read more...

BergbaumuseumPhoto: City of Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

"Underground"

Coal mining had been going on in Bochum until the 1970s. At Deutsches Bergbau-Museum, visitors will learn at first-hand what working "underground" used to be like. Read more...

Bermuda3eckPhoto: City of Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

Lost and found

Lost in Bermuda3eck. The mystery acquires a new meaning in Bochum's bar district. Still, everyone turns up again – at the very latest after the legendary "Intershop" club closes at dawn. Read more...

Kemnader SeePhoto: City of Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

On and near water

The artificial lake in the south of Bochum attracts sailors, stand-up paddlers and pedalo enthusiasts to spend time on water, and ramblers, bikers and skaters to spend time near water. A unique feature: skaters have their own lane. Read more...

PlanetariumPhoto: City of Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

Across the Universe

How did the universe originate? Where does A Space Odyssey end? Is there life out there? The Planetarium provides answers to these questions with the help of breathtaking high-tech projections. Read more...

Zeche HannoverPhoto: City of Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

Coal mine for the little ones

Today, Bochum's last (long decommissioned) coal mine offers exhibitions in the mighty Malakowturm, with a mini coal mine for children (Zeche Knirps) and surrounded by lawns that are ideally suited for picnicking. Read more...

Art & Tech

Bochum's museums focus on technology (Bergbau-Museum, Eisenbahnmuseum), art (Kunstmuseum, Galerie m, Situation Kunst), or, such as in case of Haus der Geschichte, they're dedicated to the Ruhr region. Read more...

Even more theatre

In addition to the (municipal) Schauspielhaus, independent theatres such as Prinzregenttheater or Rottstr 5 Theater also put on plays. Other highlights includes the puppet theatre festival FIDENA and the musical Starlight Express. Read more...

Silver screen

Award-winning and ad-free Kino Endstation is a unique fixture in Bochum's cinema-scape. Other cinemas include several (arthouse) movie theatres as well as the open-air cinema that takes place on the premises of Bochum's brewery Fiege in July/August. Read more...

Music totally

Bochum Total, music summer – Bochum attracts popular bands and singers. Occasionally, they perform in the legendary club Zeche. Bochum's symphony orchestra caters to the taste of classical music enthusiasts. Read more...

"You and your VfL"

Active or passive? Always a fair question when it comes to sport. For active skaters there is an extra lane around Kemnader See. And passive? Sparkassen Giro, Urbanatix, "You and your VfL…". Read more...

Back to nature

Bochum's urban forest is called Weitmarer Holz. This is where most of the trees are. Most plants grow in Stadtpark, which also houses a zoo. Greenery plus industrial culture can be found in Westpark, with its impressive Jahrhunderthalle. Read more...

Have you seen yet?

Off the beaten track from the main streets and locations, there is still a lot to discover in Bochum, e.g. the alternative pubs and boutiques in Ehrenfeld, Bahnhof Langendreer, Thealozzi or the night market in the square Springerplatz. Read more...

Kultur und Freizeit in Bochum

SchauspielhausBild: Stadt Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

Weltbedeutende Bretter

Ob Klassiker von Schiller, Shakespeare und Goethe oder zeitgenössisches Theater inkl. Uraufführungen – mit seinem Theaterprogramm besitzt das Bochumer Schauspielhaus überregionale Strahlkraft. Mehr lesen...

BergbaumuseumBild: Stadt Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

„Unter Tage“

Richtigen Bergbau gibt es in Bochum schon seit den Siebzigerjahren nicht mehr. Im Deutschen Bergbaumuseum erfährt man jedoch hautnah, wie es früher „unter Tage“ gewesen ist. Mehr lesen...

Bermuda3eckBild: Stadt Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

Lost and found

Verschollen im Bermuda3eck. Im Bochumer Kneipenviertel bekommt dieses Mysterium eine neue Bedeutung. Das Wiederauftauchen ist aber garantiert – spätestens, wenn auch der legendäre „Intershop“ im Morgengrauen schließt. Mehr lesen...

Kemnader SeeBild: Stadt Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

Auf und am Wasser

Der künstliche Stausee im Bochumer Süden lockt Segler, Stehpaddler und Tretbootfahrer aufs Wasser und Spaziergänger, Radler und Skater ans Wasser. Einzigartig: Die Skater haben eine eigene Bahn. Mehr lesen...

PlanetariumBild: Stadt Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

Across the Universe

Wie ist das Universum entstanden? Wo endet Peterchens Mondfahrt? Gibt es irgendwo da draußen Leben? Antworten auf diese Fragen liefert das Planetarium mit atemberaubenden Hightechprojektionen. Mehr lesen...

Zeche HannoverBild: Stadt Bochum, Presse- und Informationsamt

Zeche für Knirpse

Bochums letzte (längst geschlossene) Zeche lockt heutzutage mit Ausstellungen im wuchtigen Malakowturm, mit einer Mini-Zeche für Kinder (Zeche Knirps) und mit picknick-tauglichen Rasenflächen. Mehr lesen...

Kunst und Technik

Bochums Museen sind technisch (Bergbaumuseum, Eisenbahnmuseum), künstlerisch (Kunstmuseum, Galerie m, Situation Kunst) oder sie beschäftigen sich, wie das Haus der Geschichte, mit dem Ruhrgebiet. Mehr lesen...

Noch mehr Theater

Neben dem (städtischen) Schauspielhaus führen auch freie Theater wie das Prinzregenttheater oder das Rottstr 5 Theater Stücke auf. Weitere Highlights sind das Figurentheater-Festival FIDENA und das Musical Starlight Express. Mehr lesen...

Filmreif

Einzigartig unter den Bochumer Kinos ist das werbefreie und häufig ausgezeichnete Endstation Kino. Daneben gibt es zahlreiche weitere (Programm-)Kinos sowie im Juli/August das Open-Air-Kino auf dem Gelände der Fiege-Brauerei. Mehr lesen...

Musik total

Bochum Total, Musiksommer – Bochum lockt angesagte Bands und Sänger an. Bisweilen gastieren diese auch in der legendären Zeche. Klassisch hingegen geht’s auf den Konzerten der Bochumer Symphoniker zu. Mehr lesen...

„Du und Dein VfL“

Aktiv oder passiv? Diese Frage stellt sich ja immer beim Sport. Für aktive Skater gibt es eine eigene Bahn um den Kemnader See. Und passiv? Sparkassen Giro, Urbanatix, „Du und dein VfL…“. Mehr lesen...

Zurück zur Natur

Bochums Stadtwald heißt Weitmarer Holz. Hier stehen die meisten Bäume. Die meisten Pflanzen gedeihen im Stadtpark, in dem auch ein Tierpark liegt. Grün plus Industriekultur bietet der Westpark mit seiner imposanten Jahrhunderthalle. Mehr lesen...

Schon entdeckt?

Abseits der großen Straßen und Stätten gibt es in Bochum ebenfalls allerhand zu entdecken, z. B. die alternativ angehauchten Kneipen und Boutiquen im Ehrenfeld, den Bahnhof Langendreer, das Thealozzi oder den Abendmarkt am Springerplatz. Mehr lesen...