Kultur und Freizeit an der RUB

Culture and Leisure

Art at Ruhr-Universität Bochum

With its locations on the Campus (under the university library) and in the Schlosspark Weitmar (Situation Kunst for Max Imdahl), the RUB art collections form a prime international venue for contemporary art. Here, works by Joseph Beuys, Richard Serra, Dirk Reinartz, and many other top artists are exhibited. The museum on the campus houses the Ruhrgebiet’s largest and most prominent antiques collection, which includes classical portraits and Greek vases, an ancient coin collection as well as a collection of ancient bronzes and ceramics from the Iran that is unrivalled across Germany. Other exhibition sites at the RUB for fixed or changing exhibitions include the university library, the foyer of the Arts Centre, the main lecture hall, and the Malakow tower with its unique medical-history collection.

Create and enjoy culture

The most important cultural players at the RUB include the Arts Centre and the Cultural Office boSKop. Both institutions offer courses in theatre, photography, music, visual arts, dance, comedy, cabaret, and much more. And both regularly present the results: in the form of theatrical evenings, concerts, exhibitions, festivals, and shows. boSKop is also responsible for many regular cultural events such as blues or jazz sessions.

Sport and recreation

If you prefer to spend your free time outside, you’ll also find plenty to do. That includes walks through the botanical garden and the Chinese garden in the south of the campus or across the campus itself. Alongside the imposing buildings, you’ll find many attractive large and small works of art that are grouped together under the heading “Kunst am Bau” – art at the building site.

Another way to keep active is of course sport. If you wish, you can walk or jog through the hilly and thus challenging terrain. The numerous university sports available or the dance classes offered by the Student’s Union provide an alternative for all university members.

RUB » Universität » Campus und Kultur » Kultur und Freizeit

Kultur und Freizeit

Kunst an der RUB

Eine internationale Topadresse für zeitgenössische Kunst sind die Kunstsammlungen der RUB mit ihren Standorten auf dem Campus (unter der Universitätsbibliothek) und im Schlosspark Weitmar (Situation Kunst für Max Imdahl). Hier werden Werke von Josef Beuys, Richard Serra, Dirk Reinartz und vielen weiteren Künstlerpersönlichkeiten ausgestellt. Im Museum auf dem Campus ist zugleich die größte und bedeutendste Antikensammlung des Ruhrgebiets zu Hause mit Klassischen Porträts und griechischen Vasen, einer Sammlung antiker Münzen sowie einer deutschlandweit herausragenden Sammlung antiker Bronzen und Keramiken aus dem Iran. Weitere Ausstellungsorte an der RUB für feste oder wechselnde Expositionen sind die Universitätsbibliothek, das Foyer des Musischen Zentrums, das Audimax oder der Malakowturm mit seiner einzigartigen Medizinhistorischen Sammlung.

Kultur gestalten und geniessen

Zu den wichtigsten Kulturakteuren der RUB zählen das Musische Zentrum und das Kulturbüro boSKop. Beide Institutionen bieten Kurse in Theater, Fotografie, Musik, Bildender Kunst, Tanz, Comedy, Kleinkunst und vielem mehr an. Und beide präsentieren regelmäßig die Resultate: in Form von Theaterabenden, Konzerten, Ausstellungen, Festivals oder Shows. boSKop ist darüber hinaus verantwortlich für viele regelmäßige Kulturtermine wie Blues- oder Jazzsessions.

Sport und Erholung

Wer seine Freizeit lieber draußen verbringt, hat ebenfalls viele Möglichkeiten. Dazu zählen Spaziergänge durch den Botanischen Garten und den Chinesischen Garten im Süden des Campus oder über den Campus selbst. Hier locken neben den imposanten Gebäuden viele große und kleine Kunstwerke, die unter dem Stichwort „Kunst am Bau“ zusammengefasst sind.

Eine andere Art von Bewegung ist natürlich der Sport. Wer mag, kann durch das hügelige und darum anspruchsvolle Gelände joggen oder walken. Alternativen für alle Unimitglieder sind die zahlreichen Angebote des Hochschulsports oder auch die Tanzkurse des AStA.