Campusstruktur

Campus Structure

Its clear, logical building line already reflected the philosophy of the Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) at the time of its foundation. The non-hierarchical architecture of the so-called international construction style characterises the spirit of the RUB. The diverse research departments emerge as a structural unit. In contrast, on the central axis, community buildings represent themselves with diverse architecture. Whether dining hall, Audimax, library, administration buildings, student house, or arts centre – none of the central buildings is like the other.

Structure and philosophy

The interplay between external appearance and internal way of thinking – the life of our mission statement – is to continue in the future. The RUB-principles, such as the unity of research and teaching, are architecturally reflected in the campus structure and the construction of the individual faculty (RUB’s disciplinary institutional units) buildings.

Campus structure

In future there will be an inviting central main entrance in the north of the campus. The community buildings will be on the central axis, and the transverse axis from east to west will connect the disciplines.

Building structure

How the principles of the RUB are reflected in the faculty buildings is illustrated by the new building ID: Like the campus itself, each institute building is to receive a central entrance, where there is information and guidance. Lecture halls and seminar rooms for teaching are to be located in the parts of the buildings which face towards the centre of the campus. Research is to be located in the outward-facing parts of the buildings in close proximity to the teaching areas. Major research facilities and workshops are to be in the connected outer areas of the campus.

Alongside our claim to conceive of teaching and research as a unity, this arrangement has an economic and ecological side-effect: In the buildings of the natural and engineering sciences (unlike at present) only the research areas will need to be supplied with a special infrastructure. And in the case of the ID-building, when it comes to climate protection we have gone even further and equipped the building with a geothermal system.

Angeklickt

 

Verwandte Themen:

 

 

Campusstruktur

Campusstruktur

Ihre klare logische Baulinie spiegelte bereits zu Gründerzeiten die Philosophie der RUB. Die hierarchiefreie Architektur des so genannten internationalen Baustils prägt den Geist der RUB. Die Vielfalt der Forschungs-Abteilungen tritt als bauliche Einheit hervor. Dagegen zeigt sich auf der Zentralachse die Einheit der Universität in ihren Gemeinschaftsgebäuden durch Vielfalt der Architektur. Ob Mensa, Audimax, Bibliothek, Verwaltungsgebäude, Studentenhaus oder Musisches Zentrum – kein Zentralgebäude gleicht dem anderen.

Struktur und Philosophie

Das Zusammenspiel von äußerem Erscheinungsbild und innerer Haltung – das Leben unseres Leitbildes – soll sich in Zukunft fortsetzen. Die RUB-Prinzipien wie die Einheit von Forschung und Lehre schlägt sich baulich in der Campusstruktur und im Aufbau der einzelnen Fakultätsgebäude nieder.

Campusstruktur

In Zukunft gibt es einen zentralen einladenden Haupteingang im Norden des Campus. Auf der Zentralachse liegen die Gemeinschaftsgebäude, und die Querachse von Ost nach West verbindet die Disziplinen. Die Aufteilung in eine geistes-, eine ingenieur-, eine naturwissenschaftliche und eine medizinische Gebäudereihe bleibt erhalten.

Gebäudestruktur

Wie sich die RUB-Prinzipien in den Fakultätsgebäuden wiederfinden, veranschaulicht der Neubau ID: Wie der Campus selbst bekommt jedes Institutsgebäude einen zentralen Eingang, an dem es Informationen und Orientierungshilfe gibt. Hörsäle und Seminarräume für die Lehre befinden sich in den Gebäudeteilen, die der Mitte des Campus zugewandt sind. Die Forschung ist in direkter Nachbarschaft zur Lehre in den nach außen gewandten Gebäudeteilen angeordnet. Größere Forschungseinrichtungen und Werkhallen schließen sich in den Außenbereichen des Campus an.

Neben unserem Anspruch, Lehre und Forschung als Einheit zu begreifen, hat diese Anordnung einen ökonomischen und ökologischen Nebeneffekt: In den Gebäuden der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften müssen (anders als gegenwärtig) nur die Forschungsbereiche mit spezieller Infrastruktur versorgt werden. Und im Fall des ID-Gebäudes gehen wir in punkto Klimaschutz noch weiter, indem wir das Gebäude mit einer Geothermieanlage ausgestattet haben.