RUB » Study » Advising  » Financing and Social Matters

Contact RUB

If you have any questions, please contact the support staff at the social and study guidance office.

Sozialberatung
sozialberatung@rub.de
0234 / 32-28319

Office hours and contact data for making a personal appointment are available here.

 

Contact AStA

The General Students’ Committee (AStA) provides social and student loan guidance as well.

Social guidance
Antje Westhues
SH 018
Universitätsstr. 150
44780 Bochum
Phone.: 0234 / 32-23050
Email: sozialberatung@asta-bochum.de
Website: here

Office hours:
Monday 12:30-16:30
Wednesday 11-16

BaföG guidance
Conny Temme-Ferber
SH 018
Universitätsstr. 150
44780 Bochum
Phone: 0234/32-23050
Email: bafoeg@asta-bochum.de
Website: here

Office hours:
Monday 9-12:30

Finanzierung and social matters

University? Can I afford it at all?

The good news first: German universities have abolished tuition fees. Still, studying at university is costly, because you will pay rent, have living costs and buy books and other materials necessary for your degree course. You will find an overview over various options of financing your studies on the following pages.

How much exactly does going to university cost?

At Ruhr-Universität, you have to pay a so-called social insurance contribution each semester. Currently, it amounts to 267.66 euros (as per summer semester 2014). This includes the cost for the semester ticket which permits you to use public transport all throughout North Rhine-Westphalia, as well as your contribution to Akademisches Förderungswerk (Akafö). Detailed information regarding the social insurance contribution is available at the Studierendensekretariats homepage.

The individual costs of living vary; for a student who is not living with his or her parents, they amount to 794.00 euros on average. This sum is calculated on the basis of the following expenses:

This data has been compiled on the basis of the “social survey” conducted by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. The Ministry interviews more than 15,000 students each year with regard to their accommodation and living situation. You can find the complete results of the survey here.

Generally speaking, the low rents in and around Bochum are relatively affordable. Rent, including heating and operating cost, amounts to 6.30 euros per square metre for a one-bedroom flat; in Hamburg, it’s 13.20 euros, and in Munich 17.40 euros. An up-to-date overview over current rents in German university towns is available here.

RUB » Studium » Beratung » Finanzierung und Soziales

Ansprechpartner RUB

Bei allen Fragen rund um das Thema Studienfinanzierung hilft Ihnen die Sozial- und Studienfinanzierungs-beratung gerne weiter.

Sozialberatung
sozialberatung@rub.de
0234 / 32-28319

Die Sprechzeiten sowie die Möglichkeit zur individuellen Terminvereinbarung finden Sie hier.

 

Ansprechpartner AStA

Auch die Vertretung der Studierenden (AStA) hat eine Sozial- und eine BAföG-Beratung.

Sozialberatung
Antje Westhues
SH 018
Universitätsstr. 150
44780 Bochum
Tel.: 0234 / 32-23050
E-Mail: sozialberatung@asta-bochum.de
Webseite: hier klicken

Sprechzeiten:
Montag 12:30-16:30 Uhr
Mittwoch 11-16 Uhr

BaföG-Beratung
Conny Temme-Ferber
SH 018
Universitätsstr. 150
44780 Bochum
Telefon: 0234/32-23050
Email: bafoeg@asta-bochum.de
Webseite: hier klicken

Sprechzeiten:
Montag 9-12:30 Uhr

 

Finanzierung und Soziales

Studieren? Kann ich mir das überhaupt leisten?

Die gute Nachricht zu erst: Studienbeiträge sind an allen staatlichen deutschen Hochschule abgeschafft worden. Trotzdem kostet ein Studium Geld, denn Sie müssen Ihre Miete bezahlen, für Ihre Lebenshaltungskosten aufkommen und Bücher und andere Studienmaterialien bezahlen. Einen Überblick über die unterschiedlichen Wege der Studienfinanzierung finden Sie auf den folgenden Seiten.

Was kostet ein Studium denn genau?

An der Ruhr-Universität müssen Sie in jedem Semester einen sogenannten Sozialbeitrag überweisen. Aktuell liegt der Betrag bei 267,66 Euro (Stand Sommersemester 2014). Darin enthalten sind die Kosten für das Semesterticket, mit dem Sie die öffentlichen Nahverkehrsmittel in ganz Nordrhein-Westfalen nutzen können sowie ein Beitrag an das Akademische Förderungswerk (Akafö). Weitere Informationen zum Sozialbeitrag finden Sie auf den Seiten des Studierendensekretariats

Ihre individuellen Lebenshaltungskosten können natürlich ganz unterschiedlich aussehen, im Durchschnitt betragen sie für einen Studenten, der nicht mehr bei seinen Eltern wohnt, 794 Euro. Dieser Betrag verteilt sich auf folgende Ausgaben:

Die Daten haben wir aus der „Sozialerhebung“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung entnommen. Das Ministerium befragt jedes Jahr über 15.000 Studierende zu ihrer Wohn- und Lebenssituation. Der gesamten Ergebnisse der Umfrage finden Sie hier.

Generell lässt sich sagen, dass gerade die Mietpreise in Bochum und Umgebung verhältnismäßig günstig sind. Hier zahlt man im Durchschnitt eine Warmmiete von 6,30 Euro pro Quadratmeter für eine Singlewohnung, in Hamburg sind es bspw. 13,20 Euro und in München 17,40 Euro. Eine aktuelle Übersicht über die Mietpreise in deutschen Universitätsstädten gibt es hier.