International Faculty
RUB » Cluster of Excellence RESOLV (EXC 1069)

International Faculty (IF) Solvation Science

Logo IF Solvation Science


The International Faculty (IF) Solvation Science is an international network of top institutions reaching from the US to Europe and Asia, whose aim is to foster long-term scientific collaborations. It is a strategic key element to promote the exchange of knowledge, people, and ideas between leading scientists at all levels of their scientific careers in the field of Solvation Science.


Currently the IF comprises more than 30 leading scientists in the field of Solvation Science.




Logo IF Solvation Science

The IF members are also involved in teaching activities at RUB such as in the international Master program "Molecular Sciences - Spectroscopy and Simulation" (iMOS).

For example, Prof. Dr. James Lisy was actively involved in teaching iMOS students in the winter term 2011/12. Here, we see him discussing with some of the iMOS students (copyright: Press Office, RUB). Jim Lisy: "As a professor from the United States, I have been extremely fortunate to be a visiting professor at a number of universities on four continents. Yet, these occasions rarely offered the chance to give lectures to an international collection of Master Degree students. I was very excited about the iMOS program and strongly believe in the international component of education, as leading edge science has become an interactive, global enterprise. The iMOS students have an amazing opportunity, at such an early stage in their scientific careers, to participate in this unique world-wide program, developed at RUB."


For further information on the International Faculty (IF) concept of Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB), please refer to:

International Faculty RUB


The Welcome Center for International Researchers is a very useful resource for our guest scientists:

Welcome Center for International Researchers



Fellows of the International Faculty

Prof. Dr. Dor Ben-Amotz

Purdue University

Physical Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Martin Gruebele (Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Physical Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Ursula Keller

Institute of Quantum Electronics

Director NCCR MUST

ETH Zürich


Prof. Dr. David Leitner

University of Nevada at Remo, USA

Physical Chemistry


Prof. Dr. James M. Lisy (Humboldt Research Award)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Physical Chemistry


Prof. Dr. Leo W. Meerts

Radboud University Nijmegen

Molecular- and Biophysics Group


Prof. Dr. Irit Sagi

Department of Biological Regulation

Weizmann Institute of Science


Prof. Dr. Song-I Han

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

University of California Santa Barbara


Prof. Dr. Othmar Steinhauser

Institut für Computergestützte Biologische Chemie, Fakultät für Chemie

Universität Wien


Prof. Dr. Mark Tuckerman (Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award)

New York University

Theoretical Chemistry