RUB » RUB50 » Events » RUB50 Gala » Programme

RUB50 Gala with our Alumni

Programme

from 7 pm

Admission and reception with sparkling wine

Musical accompaniment:

The SwingChix

Close-harmony-singers with a unique ukulele sound

SwingChix
The SwingChix are grandiose close-harmony singers in the style of the Andrews Sisters backed by a unique ukulele sound. They were rightly awarded the Musikcomedy Prize for “Artist of the Year”. Whether it is ABBA, Prince, swing classics or AC/DC – nothing is sacred to the swinging sound of the three first-class singers. Sometimes they are sexy, sometimes cheeky, sometimes loud – but always charming! (Photo: Claudia Höhne)

Julia Samhaber

Swing, Pop, Chansons on the Piano



Whether it is swing, pop or chanson – the pianist and singer Julia Samhaber knows exactly how to control her instrument and her voice. Beyond that she takes her audience on a musical journey around the world and guides them into an emotional realm of fantasy. The Viennese musician lives in Cologne since 2003 and works as a freelance singer, pianist, accordionist and composer.

from 8 pm

Welcome by the hosts

Désirée Rösch


Désirée Rösch studied Journalism, Politics and Theatre, Film and TV Studies at the RUB. As an author and a producer of travel programmes she has been all over the world for the VOX Channel, amongst others. Désirée Rösch has been engaged at WDR for daily TV programmes as author, live reporter and presenter since 1998. (Photo: Peggy Schröder)

Lars Tottmann


Lars Tottmann is also a RUB Alumnus: he studied German and Social Sciences for the teaching profession, gaining journalistic experience in print, radio and television along the way. He has been working at the WDR studio in Essen since 1997 and has presented “Lokalzeit Ruhr” since 2000. (Photo: WDR/Kristin Trüb)

 

Gala opening by Rector, Prof. Dr. Elmar Weiler

 

Mambo Kurt

Extravagant Reinterpretations of well-known hits

There are days on which Abba are too hard or Slayer too soft. For all other moods there is Mambo Kurt. The universally popular, slightly crazy organ god interprets a fine collection of worldwide hits on his beloved home organ. He does this in his inimitable style, bringing a smile to the faces of any audience and getting their feet tapping at the same time. Every song is a tribute to the original artist. So we get to hear Rage Against the Machine as swing, Nirvana as mambo, Tina Turner as high-speed polka and Slayer as hard rock. And before Mambo Kurt became an organ god he studied Medicine at the RUB. (Photo: Martin Steffen)

 

„Going into detail“ – Panel discussion with alumni

 

Prizegiving ceremony

 

Christian Hirdes

Amusing songs with language loving humour

Christian Hirdes has played himself into the hearts of the German cabaret scene in recent years. The language-loving comedian and offbeat cabaret artiste became noticed as something out of the ordinary through his unique charm and style and also met with great enthusiasm as a first-class songwriter and litterateur. RUB Alumnus Hirdes has also received the audience awards, “Prix Pantheon” and “Tegtmeiers Erben”. He has made guest appearances on TV on the WDR productions “Stratmanns”, “Funkhaus” and “Nightwash” as well as “TV total”. (Photo: Ulrike Reinker)

 

Götz Alsmann

German language versions of great Broadway classics

Götz Alsmann is known as an all-rounder: he works as a presenter ("Zimmer frei!"), singer, musician and entertainment artiste. Alsmann, who hails from Münster, is a Doctor of Musicology and an honorary professor at the Münster College of Music. He is currently focusing on German language versions of great Broadway classics that have widely been forgotten. There is a selection of immortal compositions to hear, by the likes of Cole Porter, George Gershwin, Jerome Kern, Rodgers & Hammerstein and many others that have been fascinating European audiences since the beginning of the jazz era. (Photo: EMI/Jerome Bonnet)

from 11:30 pm

After-Show-Party

Caspar Van Meel Quartett

(Jazz in the bistro)

Caspar van Meel
Caspar van Meel graduated as double bass player at the Folkwang University of Arts in Essen with John Goldsby as one of his teachers. He reinforced his studies at the Maastricht Conservatorium, where Carol Harte and Jan van den Boomen mentored him. Working with the WDR television Big Band and artists like Philip Catherine, Götz Alsmann and Gerd Dudek, he can already look back on numerous international concerts and studio recordings. He was involved in various radio and TV productions and participated in music festivals like the North Sea Jazz Festival, the Kurt Weill Festival, the WDR television Jazz Night and the Leverkusen’s Days of Jazz. (Photo: Volker Beushausen)

Pamela Falcon and Friends

(Party in the foyer)


Pamela Falcon, born in New York, gave her first concert at the age of five. She came to Germany when she was called to the Bochum ensemble of the musical “Starlight Express” and found her second home here. For nearly 15 years (more than 750 shows) she has been heading the weekly cult event “New York Nights” at the Bochum Riff Club together with her live band. She also works as a professional vocal coach. An audience of millions from all over Germany became aware of her through the TV show “The Voice of Germany”. (Photo: Teddy Marks)

Party mit DJ Gärtner der Lüste

(Party in the foyer)


Ralf Ilgner AKA Gärtner der Lüste has been a DJ institution for a long time. He was one of the first to make funk and soul dancefloor-compatible again. This combination can not only be heard on his DJ sets at Bahnhof Langendreer, the Eve Bar or the Rotunde, but also on his compilation CDs, which have appeared under the names of Funky Plüsch and Smile Style. Ralf Ilgner has also been an editor at WDR since 1997, where he transmits his comprehensive musical knowledge to the aether.

 

 

 

Also:

Enjoy finest coffee and delicious cocktails, take creative and nostalgic group photos, purchase RUB souvenirs, network and socialise, get information on the campus development and much more.

RUB50-Gala mit unseren Alumni

Programm

ab 19 Uhr

Einlass und Sektempfang

Musikalische Begleitung:

The SwingChix

Close-Harmony-Gesang mit Ukulelensound

SwingChix
The SwingChix sind grandioser Close-Harmony-Gesang im Stil der Andrews Sisters gepaart mit einzigartigem Ukulelensound. Ganz zu Recht wurden sie als „Künstler des Jahres“ mit dem Musikcomedy-Preis ausgezeichnet. Ob ABBA, Prince, Swingklassiker oder AC/DC – dem swingenden Sound der drei hochkarätigen Sängerinnen ist nichts heilig. Dabei sind sie mal sexy, mal frech, mal laut – aber immer charmant! (Foto: Claudia Höhne)

Julia Samhaber

Swing, Pop, Chansons am Piano


Ob Swing, Pop oder Chanson – die Pianistin und Sängerin Julia Samhaber beherrscht ihr Instrument und ihre Stimme. Darüber hinaus schafft sie es, ihr Publikum auf eine Reise zu entführen, die musikalisch einmal rund um die Welt und emotional ins Reich der Fantasie führt. Die gebürtige Wienerin lebt seit 2003 in Köln und arbeitet freiberuflich als Sängerin, Pianistin, Akkordeonistin und Komponistin.

ab 20 Uhr

Begrüßung durch die Moderatoren

Désirée Rösch


Désirée Rösch studierte an der Ruhr-Universität Publizistik, Politik und Theater-, Film- und Fernsehwissenschaften. Als Autorin und Produzentin von Reisesendungen war sie unter anderem für VOX auf der ganzen Welt unterwegs. Seit 1998 ist Désirée Rösch beim WDR für die tagesaktuellen TV-Sendungen als Autorin, Live-Reporterin und Moderatorin im Einsatz. (Foto: Peggy Schröder)

Lars Tottmann


Auch Lars Tottmann ist Alumnus der Ruhr-Universität: Er studierte Deutsch und Sozialwissenschaften auf Lehramt, nebenbei sammelte er journalistische Erfahrungen bei Print, Radio und Fernsehen. Seit 1997 arbeitet er im WDR-Studio in Essen, seit 2000 steht er als Moderator für die „Lokalzeit Ruhr“ vor der Kamera. (Foto: WDR/Kristin Trüb)

 

Eröffnung der Gala durch Rektor Prof. Dr. Elmar Weiler

 

Mambo Kurt

Eigenwillige Interpretationen wahrer Welthits

Es gibt Tage, an denen ist Abba zu hart oder Slayer zu weich. Für alle anderen Gemütszustände gibt es Mambo Kurt. Der allseits beliebte, leicht durchgeknallte Orgelgott interpretiert eine feine Zusammenstellung wahrer Welthits auf seiner geliebten Heimorgel. Er tut dies in seiner unnachahmlichen Art, die jeglicher Zuhörerschaft sofort ein Lächeln ins Gesicht zaubert und ins Tanzbein geht. Jeder Song ist eine Hommage an die Originalinterpreten. Und so gibt es Rage Against the Machine als Swing, Nirvana als Mambo, Tina Turner als Highspeed-Polka und Slayer als Hardrock. Bevor Mambo Kurt zum Orgelgott wurde, studierte er übrigens Medizin an der RUB. (Foto: Martin Steffen)

 

„Aus dem Nähkästchen“ – Talkrunde mit Alumni

 

Preisverleihungen

 

Christian Hirdes

Sprachverliebte Komik in schrägen Liedern

Christian Hirdes hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren mitten ins Herz der deutschen Kleinkunstszene gespielt. Mit ganz eigenem Charme und Stil fiel der sprachverliebte Komiker und schräge Kabarettist auf und aus dem Rahmen und begeisterte nebenbei als erstklassiger Liedermacher und Literat. RUB-Alumnus Hirdes wurde unter anderem mit den Publikumspreisen „Prix Pantheon“ und „Tegtmeiers Erben“ ausgezeichnet. Im TV war er in den WDR-Produktionen „Stratmanns“, „Funkhaus“ und „Nightwash“ sowie in „TV total“ zu Gast. (Foto: Ulrike Reinker)

 

Götz Alsmann

Deutschsprachige Fassungen großer Klassiker des Broadways

Götz Alsmann ist als Allrounder bekannt: Er arbeitet als Moderator („Zimmer frei!“), Sänger, Musiker und Unterhaltungskünstler. Der gebürtige Münsteraner ist Doktor der Musikwissenschaft sowie Honorarprofessor an der Musikhochschule Münster. In seinem aktuellen Programm widmet sich Alsmann deutschsprachigen Fassungen der großen Klassiker des Broadways, die weitgehend in Vergessenheit geraten sind. Zu hören gibt es eine Auswahl an unsterblichen Kompositionen wie die von Cole Porter, George Gershwin, Jerome Kern, Rodgers & Hammerstein und vielen anderen, die das europäische Publikum schon seit dem Beginn des Jazz-Zeitalters faszinieren. (Foto: EMI/Jerome Bonnet)

ab 23.30 Uhr

After-Show-Party

Caspar Van Meel Quartett

(Jazz im Bistro)

Caspar van Meel
Caspar van Meel studierte Kontrabass bei John Goldsby an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen sowie bei Carol Harte und Jan van den Boomen am Konservatorium in Maastricht. Er arbeitete u.a. mit der WDR Big Band, Philip Catherine, Götz Alsmann sowie Gerd Dudek zusammen und kann auf zahlreiche internationale Konzerte und CD-Aufnahmen zurückblicken. Er war an verschiedenen Rundfunk-, Fernseh-, und CD-Produktionen beteiligt (u.a. WDR) und trat auf Musikfestivals wie dem North Sea Jazz Festival, dem Kurt Weill Fest, der WDR Jazz Night und den Leverkusener Jazztagen auf. (Foto: Volker Beushausen)

Pamela Falcon and Friends

(Party im Foyer)


Pamela Falcon, geboren in New York, gab bereits im Alter von fünf Jahren ihr erstes Konzert. Durch ihre Berufung in das Bochumer Ensemble des Musicals „Starlight-Express“ kam sie nach Deutschland und fand dort ihre zweite Heimat. Seit knapp 15 Jahren (mehr als 750 Shows) leitet sie zusammen mit ihrer Live-Band das wöchentliche Kultevent „New York Nights“ im Bochumer Riff Club. Außerdem arbeitet sie als professioneller Vocal-Coach. Durch die TV-Show „The Voice of Germany“ wurde das deutsche Millionenpublikum auf sie aufmerksam. (Foto: Teddy Marks)

Party mit DJ Gärtner der Lüste

(Party im Foyer)


Alumnus Ralf Ilgner ist als Gärtner der Lüste längst eine DJ-Institution. Als einer der ersten machte er Funk und Soul wieder tanzflächentauglich. Zu hören ist diese Mischung nicht nur bei seinen DJ-Sets im Bahnhof Langendreer, der Eve Bar oder der Rotunde, sondern auch auf seinen Compilation-CDs, die unter dem Namen Funky Plüsch und Smile Style erschienen sind. Außerdem ist Ralf Ilgner seit 1997 Redakteur beim WDR, wo er sein musikalisches Rundum-Wissen in den Äther pumpt.

 

 

 

Außerdem:

Sitzen und plaudern bei Kaffeespezialitäten und Cocktails, kreativ-nostalgisches Foto-Shooting, RUB-Souvenirs, Netzwerken und Austausch, Campusentwicklung und mehr.