RUB » Faculty of History                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                GER_Flag  Deutsch                                                                                                                                                                                                                      


Research Project "Security and the Public"


The research project "Security and and the Public" focuses on the History of Transatlantic and German Intelligence Services as well as International Security Policy, particularly with regard to the Areas of Tension between Arcanum and Public, Secrecy and Transparency Expectations in the 20th Century. 

The Research Project is supervised by Prof. Dr. Constantin Goschler and Prof. Dr. Michael Wala who are also in charge of Cooperation Projects, Doctoral Supervisions, Teaching, Conference Organizations and Publications.

Together with the universities of Graz, Vienna, Zürich and Boston, the Project seeks to establish the German section of the "Center for Intelligence, Propagan,da & Security Studies" in 2017.

RUB » Fakultät für Geschichtswissenschaft
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 US_Flag English

Forschungschwerpunkt "Sicherheit und Öffentlichkeit"

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt "Sicherheit und Öffentlichkeit" erforscht die Geschichte der transatlantischen und deutschen Nachrichtendienste sowie der internationalen Sicherheitspolitik, insbesondere auch im Spannungsfeld zwischen Arkanum und Öffentlichkeit, Geheimhaltung und Transparenzerwartungen, für den Zeitraum des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Die Leitung des Forschungsschwerpunkts obliegt Prof. Dr. Constantin Goschler und Prof. Dr. Michael Wala, die auch für die Bereiche Kooperation bei Drittmittelanträgen, Doktorandenbetreuung, Lehre, Tagungsorganisation und Publikationen als Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung stehen.

Das Projekt strebt in Kooperation mit den Universitäten Graz, Wien, Zürich und Boston University den Aufbau der deutschen Sektion des "Center for Intelligence, Propaganda & Security Studies" für das Jahr 2017 an.