Public History

The working area Public History investigates history mediating products in public, non-university and extracurricular space, where classical institutions such as museums or archives are examined, as well as further elements of public history such as history movies, series, audio books, computer games and social media.
The subjects of pubic history thereby emerge from public interest.
Regarding the establishment of this research area, it is the main concern to emphasize the points of interface of public history as history mediation in public space to history subject studies, history theory and didactics, as well as to promote the mutual interconnections.

Furthermore, the establishment of a new consecutive branch of study Master of Public History is planned from the fall semester 2017/2018 on. In this branch of study history subjects and didactics are combined with applied and for public history relevant conducts.  During the Master of Public History all three historic eras are covered, whereas the focus is on contemporary historically cultural aspects. In addition to the courses, students will be able to collect first professional experiences working in history mediating public institutions of the Ruhr Region within the frame of internships.



Public History Congresses


Colloquium

During the spring semester 2015 a series of contributions regarding public history took place within the frame of the scientific colloquium of history didactics. You can find the program of the colloquium here.



Book recommendation

  • Living History als Gegenstand Historischen Lernens
    Begriffe - Problemfelder - Materialien

    by Miriam Sénécheau/Stefanie Samida
    ISBN 978-3-17-022438-4

    Further Information: Publishing company homepage (only available in German)
    Author interview (only available in German).

Public History

Der Arbeitsbereich Public History untersucht geschichtsvermittelnde Produkte im öffentlichen außeruniversitären und -schulischen Raum, wobei sowohl die klassischen Institutionen wie Museen oder Archive betrachtet werden als auch weitere Elemente der Geschichtskultur wie historische Filme, Serien und Hörbücher sowie Computerspiele oder soziale Medien. Die Gegenstände der Public History ergeben sich dabei durch das öffentliche Interesse.
Hinsichtlich der Etablierung dieses Forschungsfelds gilt es vor allem die Anknüpfpunkte zwischen der historischen Fachwissenschaft, der Geschichtstheorie und -didaktik sowie der Public History als Geschichtsvermittlung im öffentlichen Raum herauszustellen und ihre gegenseitige Vernetzung voranzubringen.

Ferner ist die Einrichtung des neuen konsekutiven Studiengangs Master of Public History ab dem Wintersemester 2017/18 geplant. In diesem Studiengang werden geschichtswissenschaftliche und -didaktische Theorien mit anwendungsbezogenem und Public History relevantem Handeln verknüpft. Während des Studiengangs werden alle drei Epochen abgedeckt, wobei ein Schwerpunkt auf neuzeitlichen geschichtskulturellen Elementen liegt. In Ergänzung zu den Lehrveranstaltungen haben Studierende im Rahmen von Praktika die Möglichkeit, in geschichtsvermittelnden öffentlichen Einrichtungen des Ruhrgebiets erste Berufserfahrungen zu sammeln.



Tagungen zum Thema Public History

  • International Workshop: Analysing Historical Narratives, Institut für Soziale Bewegungen, 7.-9.07.2017
    Link: Institute for Social Movements (englisch)

  • Tagungsbericht: Public History International. Beyond school? Comparative Perspectives, 02.10.2015 – 03.10.2015 Basel, in: H-Soz-Kult, 08.01.2016.

  • Workshop „Public History in Studium und Ausbildung“ der AG Angewandte Geschichte / Public History des Verbandes der Historiker und Historikerinnen Deutschland (VHD) an der Universität Hamburg, 25.-27.03.2015
    Tagungsbericht von Deborah Hantke, veröffentlicht in: H-Soz-Kult, 29.06.2015.



    Kolloquium

    Im Sommersemester 2015 hat im Rahmen des Forschungskolloquiums Didaktik der Geschichte eine Beitragsreihe zur Public History stattgefunden. Das Kolloquiumsprogramm finden Sie hier.



Buchempfehlungen zum Thema