RUB » Research » Projects » Support from Foundations

Support from Foundations

The work by researchers at Ruhr Universität Bochum is supported by various foundations in a variety of ways. Here you can find a selection of important funding.

Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

At Ruhr Universität, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation supports the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award winners Jun.-Prof. Dr Christian Straßer and Prof. Dr Clara Saraceno. With the Anneliese Maier Research Award, it supports the international collaborations of Prof. Dr Albert Newen with Prof. Shaun Gallagher (PhD) as well as Prof. Dr. Tibor Kiss with Prof. Francis Pelletier (PhD).



Volkswagen Foundation

The Volkswagen Foundation supports two Lichtenberg Professorships for the art historian Prof. Dr. Stefanie Marchal and the philosopher Prof. Dr. Tobias Schlicht at Ruhr Universität Bochum. The Protestant theologian Prof. Dr. Beate Ego receives an “Opus Magnum” funding. The neuroscientist Dr. Jonas Rose was awarded the Freigeist Fellowship.


Mercator Research Center Ruhr

The Mercator Research Center Ruhr (MERCUR) is one of the largest privately-funded initiatives in higher education in the Ruhr region to date. The aim is to make the Ruhr stronger as a science region. MERCUR supports projects in research, teaching and administration at the three universities of UA Ruhr, which open up long-term prospects beyond the respective project for future joint activities within the University Alliance.

The programmes are open to all disciplines represented at the universities involved. It is usually only possible to fund inter-university projects involving at least two partners from University Alliance Ruhr. Exceptions include the start-up funding and MERCUR.Sprint programmes, for which applications from one university are also possible.

RUB »Forschung » Projekte » Stiftungsförderung

Stiftungsförderung

Die Arbeit von Forscherinnen und Forschern der Ruhr-Universität wird durch verschiedene Stiftungen in vielfältiger Weise gefördert. Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl wichtiger Förderungen.

Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

Die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung fördert an der Ruhr-Universität die Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preisträger Jun.-Prof. Dr. Christian Straßer und Prof. Dr. Clara Saraceno. Mit dem Anneliese Maier-Preis unterstützte sie die internationalen Kooperationen von Prof. Dr. Albert Newen mit Prof. Dr. Shaun Gallagher sowie von Prof. Dr. Tibor Kiss mit Prof. Dr. Francis Pelletier.


VolkswagenStiftung

Die VolkswagenStiftung fördert an der Ruhr-Universität zwei Lichtenberg-Professuren für die Kunsthistorikerin Prof. Dr. Stefanie Marchal und den Philosophen Prof. Dr. Tobias Schlicht. Die evangelische Theologin Prof. Dr. Beate Ego erhält eine „Opus Magnum“-Förderung. Der Neurowissenschaftler Dr. Jonas Rose wurde mit dem Freigeist-Fellowship ausgezeichnet.


Mercator Research Center Ruhr

Das Mercator Research Center Ruhr (MERCUR) ist eines der bislang größten Projekte privater Wissenschaftsförderung im Ruhrgebiet. Ziel ist es, die Wissenschaftsregion Ruhr schlagkräftiger zu machen.
MERCUR unterstützt Vorhaben in Forschung, Lehre und Verwaltung an den drei Universitäten der UA Ruhr, die eine nachhaltige, über das jeweilige Projekt hinausgehende Perspektive für zukünftige gemeinsame Aktivitäten innerhalb der Universitätsallianz eröffnen.
Die Programme sind für alle an den beteiligten Universitäten vertretenen Disziplinen offen. Im Regelfall können nur universitätsübergreifende Vorhaben mit mindestens zwei Partnern aus der Universitätsallianz Ruhr gefördert werden. Ausnahmen bilden die Programme Anschubförderung und MERCUR.Sprint, in denen auch Anträge aus einer Universität möglich sind.