RUB » Research » Profile » Research Areas » Subsurface Engineering

Subsurface Modeling and Engineering –
Making intelligent use of subsurface space

ReligionswissenschaftUsing subsurface space intelligently is a key factor for solving a number of urgent technological and social challenges. Following this objective, computer-simulation and experimental-research experts at the research department “Subsurface Modeling and Engineering” are networking across several faculties.

The research department “Subsurface Modeling and Engineering” is a platform for developing high-performance, multi-scale numerical simulation models, in conjunction with experimental methods. At the research department, researchers thus maintain the successful collaboration of many years, the excellence of which has been proven, for example, through the DFG Collaborative Research Centre “Interaction Modeling in Mechanized Tunneling”, two DFG research groups as well as a Graduate School and a joint research project focusing on geothermic research.

The research department is not only a connecting link between the individual areas, but also the organisational foundation for the development of shared labs and joint research projects. Moreover, interdisciplinary lectures and seminars have been proposed, where students can attain qualifications for both an academic and a practical career. The research department is also meant to attract excellent junior researchers in order to enhance its core competence and to cover complex issues.

RUB »Forschung » Profil » Schwerpunkte » Subsurface Engineering

Subsurface Modeling and Engineering –
Unterirdischen Raum intelligent nutzen

Religionswissenschaft Die intelligente Nutzung des unterirdischen Raums ist ein Schlüsselfaktor zur Lösung einer Reihe drängender technischer und gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen. Mit diesem Ziel vernetzen sich im Research Department “Subsurface Modeling and Engineering” Experten der Computersimulation und der experimentell orientierten Forschung über Fakultätsgrenzen hinweg.

Das Research Department “Subsurface Modeling and Engineering” ist eine Plattform, auf der leistungsfähige, skalenübergreifende numerische Simulationsmodelle in Verbindung mit experimentellen Methoden entwickelt werden. Die Forscher setzen im Research Department ihre langjährige erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit fort, deren Exzellenz zum Beispiel durch den DFG-Sonderforschungsbereich „Interaktionsmodelle für den maschinellen Tunnelbau“, zwei DFG-Forschergruppen sowie ein Graduiertenkolleg und ein Verbundforschungsprojekt zum Thema Geothermieforschung nachgewiesen ist.

Das Research Department bildet dabei nicht nur ein inhaltliches Bindeglied zwischen den verschiedenen Bereichen, sondern auch das organisatorische Fundament für die Entwicklung von gemeinsamen Forschungseinrichtungen (Shared Labs) sowie gemeinsame Verbundforschungsprojekte. Außerdem sind interdisziplinäre Lehrangebote geplant, mit denen sich Studierende gleichermaßen für eine wissenschaftliche oder für eine praxisnahe Karriere qualifizieren können. Das Research Department soll zudem exzellente Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler gewinnen, um die gesamte Bandbreite der vielfältigen und komplexen Fragestellungen abzudecken.