RUB »Research » Profile » Research Areas » Plasma Science

Plasma Science - From Microelectronics down to Medical Engineering

Plasma ScienceIt is still possible to make great scientific discoveries. In the 21st century they are mainly confined to certain research areas. And plasma science is definitely one of them. Experts agree that plasma technology will initiate fundamental innovations in microelectronics, surface treatment and medical technology.  

Plasma science has a long tradition at the Ruhr-Universität. For three decades plasma science and plasma technology have been a main research interest here and since 2002 the interdisciplinary "Center for Plasma Science and Technology (CPST)" has taken over their coordination. Core research activities include plasma generation, plasma diagnostics as well as model development and surface interaction. The CPST has specialised in low temperature plasmas and cooperates closely with industrial partners in this field.

New focal point: microplasmas

In cooperation with the Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf and the Research Centre Jülich the Ruhr-Universität operates the Virtual Institute "ITER – Relevant Plasma Boundary Physics" of the Helmholtz Association. Currently, a new focus in plasma science is being developed in Bochum:  It aims at the generation of microplasmas at atmospheric pressure and opens up a broad spectrum of novel applications from biomedical sciences to nanotechnology.

At present approximately 200 natural scientists and engineers at the RUB carry out plasma research – in the CPST, in the Collaborative Research Centre Transregio "Pulsed high power plasmas for the synthesis of nanostructural functional layers" or in the Research Unit 1048 "Instabilities, turbulence and transport in cosmic magnetic fields" and 1123 "Physics of Microplasmas".

SFB TR and CPST are also partners in a new international association of worldwide leading institutions in plasma science and technology, including partners in Japan, France, Ireland, Korea and the Netherlands; the only two German members are the CPST and the Institute of Low Temperature Plasma Physics Greifswald (INP), member of the Leibniz Association.   

All the structures combine their activities in the Research Department "Plasmas with Complex Interactions".

RUB »Forschung » Profil » Schwerpunkte » Plasmaforschung

Plasmaforschung - Von Mikroelektronik bis Medizintechnik

PlasmaforschungSie sind noch immer möglich – die großen Entdeckungen der Wissenschaft. Im 21. Jahrhundert finden sie auf speziellen Forschungsfeldern statt. Die Plasmaphysik gehört mit Sicherheit dazu. Von der Plasmatechnologie – darüber sind sich die Experten einig – werden wesentliche Innovationen in der Mikroelektronik, der Oberflächenbehandlung und der Medizintechnik ausgehen.

Plasmaforschung an der Ruhr-Universität hat Tradition. Seit drei Jahrzehnten werden Plasmaphysik (Plasma Science) und Plasmatechnik (Plasma Technology) hier vorangetrieben und seit 2002 durch das interdisziplinäre "Center for Plasma Science and Technology (CPST)" koordiniert. Seine Kernkompetenzen umfassen die Plasmaerzeugung, die Plasmadiagnostik sowie die Modellentwicklung und Oberflächenwechselwirkung. Das CPST hat seinen Schwerpunkt auf die Niedertemperaturplasmen gelegt und kooperiert auf diesem Gebiet verstärkt mit Industriepartnern.

Neuer Schwerpunkt: Mikroplasmen

Gemeinsam mit der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf und dem Forschungszentrum Jülich betreibt die Ruhr-Universität das Virtuelle Institut „ITER – Relevant Plasma Boundary Physics“ der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Derzeit bildet sich in Bochum ein neuer Schwerpunkt der Plasmaforschung heraus: Er zielt auf die technische Bereitstellung von Mikroplasmen bei Atmosphärendruck ab und eröffnet ein breites Spektrum der Anwendungen von der Biomedizin bis hin zur Nanotechnologie.

Gegenwärtig widmen sich etwa 200 Naturwissenschaftler und Ingenieure an der Ruhr-Universität der Plasmaforschung – ob im CPST, im Sonderforschungsbereich Transregio 87 „Gepulste Hochleistungsplasmen zur Synthese nanostrukturierter Funktionsschichten“ oder in den Forschergruppen 1048 „Instabilitäten, Turbulenzen und Transport in Kosmischen Magnetfeldern“ und 1123 „Physics of Microplasmas“.

SFB TR und CPST sind zugleich Partner eines neuen internationalen Verbundes weltweit führender Einrichtungen der Plasmaforschung und -technik, an dem neben Japan, Frankreich, Korea, Irland und den Niederlanden zwei deutsche Zentren beteiligt sind: das CPST und das zur Leibniz-Gemeinschaft gehörende Institut für Niedertemperatur-Plasmaphysik e.V. (INP) in Greifswald.

Sämtliche Strukturen bündeln ihre Aktivitäten im Research Department „Plasmas with Complex Interactions“.