RUB »Research » Profile » Innovative Structure
Ruhr-Universität research structure

Innovative Structure

Flexible backbone

Flexible structures that consistently provide the necessary support for new ideas: this is the recipe for RUB’s research success. They provide a backbone for research without restricting these initiatives. The elements of the Research Campus RUB are intertwined and promote the networking of scientists from different career stages and disciplines.

Research Departments (RD)

RUB’s research priorities are consolidated in Research Departments (RD). RDs are flexible units that form bridges across disciplinary borders and pool existing excellence in inter­disciplinary research. RDs maintain close links to non-university research insti­tutions and international partners, and form a basis for the establishment of sub­stantial colla­borative research projects.

Research Departments

RUB Research School (RUB-RS)

The RUB Research School (RUB-RS) offers RUB’s most talented doctoral researchers an innovative plat­form for early research independence, cross-disciplinary development, and leadership training. The Research School also fosters international mobility and collaboration while helping re­searchers pursue their cutting-edge research projects.

RUB Research School

Mercator Research Groups (MRG)

One of the main aims of RUB’s policies is to support the advancement of early career re­searchers. RUB has set up a novel and unique format that opens up avenues for collabora­tion and inde­pendence for early career re­searchers: the Mercator Research Groups (MRG). MRGs are autonomous teams consisting of three or four early career researchers who work jointly on a defined, interdisciplinary research field. They receive ample funds to finance their infrastruc­ture, research, and doctoral re­searchers, which can also be used to invite high-ranking senior researchers for ex­tended periods of time to act as mentors and colla­borators.

Mercator Research Groups

RUB »Forschung » Profil » Innovative Struktur
Grafik Forschungsstruktur der Ruhr-Universität

Innovative Struktur

Flexibles Rückgrat

Flexible Strukturen, die immer wieder neu mit Ideen gefüllt werden, sind das Erfolgsrezept der Forschung an der RUB. Sie verleihen ihr ein Rückgrat ohne sie einzuschränken. Die Elemente des RUB Research Campus sind ineinander verschränkt, so dass sie die Vernetzung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern unterschiedlicher Karrierestufen und Fachbereiche fördern.

Research Departments (RD)

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte der RUB sind organisiert in Research Departments (RD). RDs sind flexible Einheiten, die Brücken zwischen den Disziplinen schlagen und die bestehende Exzellenz in der interdisziplinären Forschung vereinen. RDs unterhalten enge Verbindungen zu außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen sowie zu inter­nationalen Partnern und bilden die Basis für bedeutsame Verbundforschungsprojekte.

Research Departments

RUB Research School (RUB-RS)

Die RUB Research School (RUB-RS) bietet den begabtesten Doktoranden der RUB eine innovative Plattform zur Förderung frühzeitiger wissenschaftlicher Selbständigkeit sowie internationaler Mobilität und Zusammenarbeit, wie auch zur Entwicklung von interdisziplinären Kompetenzen und Führungskompetenzen, während sie zugleich konzentriert ihr Promotionsprojekt verfolgen.

RUB Research School

Mercator Research Groups (MRG)

Einer der Schwerpunkte liegt auf der Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nach­wuchses: Die RUB hat ein sowohl neuartiges als auch einzigartiges Format entwickelt, das Nachwuchswissenschaftlern Wege zur Zusammenarbeit und Selbständigkeit eröffnet: die Mercator Research Groups (MRG). MRGs sind autonome Teams aus drei bis vier Nachwuchsprofessuren, die gemeinsam an einem definierten interdisziplinären Forschungsfeld arbeiten und ausreichend Mittel zur Verfügung haben, um ihre Infrastruktur, Forschung und Doktoranden zu finanzieren und darüber hinaus hochrangige und erfahrene Wissenschaftler für längere Zeiträume als Mentoren einzuladen.

Mercator Research Groups