Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Awakowicz
Institute for Electrical Engineering and Plasma Technology
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology

Phone: 0234/32-23062

Funded since 2010



Homepage SFB/TR 87


With Plasmas to Form New Materials

SFB/TR 87: Pulsed high power plasmas for the synthesis of nanostructural functional layers

The path to new materials, e.g. for storage media for cell phones, PCs, but also for future energy systems, goes via plasma technology. Electrical and information engineers, physicists and also mechanical engineers from the "Plasmas with Complex Interactions" Research Department in Bochum are researching fundamental questions of plasma physics from the atom in the gaseous phase down to performance characteristics of coated material surfaces with scientists at the Technical University Aachen (RWTH).

Although plasma coating of surfaces is already being used industrially, the development of new surface coatings is mainly empirical, as there are no scientific foundations on the interactions of plasmas with surfaces. The researchers intend to close this gap on the basis of examples. Their object of research on the one hand is machine components equipped with anti-adhesive and wear-resistant coatings, on the other hand expandable barrier layers on thermoplastics.

The central subject in Bochum is pulsed plasmas, partly with magnetic field support, as they are important for the forward-pointing synthesis of intelligent coating systems. Parallel to this, the coating systems developed are qualified and prepared for large-scale technical application in the area of Material Research at the RWTH Aachen.

Sprecher

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Awakowicz
Allgemeine Elektrotechnik und Plasmatechnik
Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik

Tel.: 0234/32-23062
E-Mail: awa@aept.rub.de

Förderung seit 2010

 

Angeklickt

Homepage SFB/TR 87

SFB TR 29

Mit Plasmen zu neuen Materialien

SFB/TR 87: Gepulste Hochleistungsplasmen zur Synthese nanostrukturierter Funktionsschichten

Der Weg zu neuen Materialien etwa für Speichermedien von Handys, PCs, aber auch für künftige Energiesysteme führt über die Plasmatechnologie. Bochumer Elektro- und Informationstechniker, Physiker sowie Maschinenbauer aus dem Research Department „Plasmas with Complex Interactions“ erforschen mit Wissenschaftlern der RWTH Aachen grundlege Fragestellungen der Plasmaphysik vom Atom in der Gasphase bis zur Leistungscharakteristik beschichteter Materialoberflächen.

Zwar wird die Plasmabeschichtung von Oberflächen schon industriell eingesetzt. Die Entwicklung neuer Oberflächenschichten passiert aber meist empirisch, weil die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen zur Wechselwirkung von Plasmen mit Oberflächen fehlen. Diese Lücke wollen die Forscher anhand von Beispielen schließen. Ihr Forschungsgegenstand sind zum einen Maschinenkomponenten, die mit antiadhäsiven und verschleißfesten Schichten ausgerüstet werden, zum anderen dehnfähige Barriereschichten auf Thermoplasten.

Zentrales Thema in Bochum sind gepulste Plasmen teils mit Magnetfeldunterstützung, wie sie für die zukunftsweisende Synthese von intelligenten Schichtsystemen wichtig sind. Komplementär dazu werden an der RWTH Aachen im Bereich der Werkstoffforschung die entwickelten Schichtsysteme qualifiziert und für ihre großtechnische Anwendung vorbereitet.