RUB »Forschung » Research Structures » Central Research Institutions

Central Research Institutions

Institute of Applied Work Ccience

Times are changing, and organisations need to change to keep pace. The Institute of Applied Work Science places a focus on organisations undergoing change and views them in their entirety. Besides fundamental research, the members develop concepts to change organisations by analysing and shaping working processes and improving them though sociotechnical solutions. The researchers comprehend and develop expertise in change management processes and the associated interactions between the individual and the organisation. The research activities and research results form the basis of the advanced scientific training programme in the Master of Arts in Organisational Management. The course, which is taken while working, is oriented towards skilled workers and executives from business and administration.

Institute for Mining and Energy Law (IBE)

Emissions trading, renewable energies, security of supply – there are many “hot potatoes” in the field of mining and energy law. Many neighbouring legal areas are often affected by single questions. The focus of the activities of the institute is thus to take care of the closely linked subjects of mining law and energy law along with all legal connecting lines, for instance constitutional law and administrative law, as well as commercial, company and competition law. Thanks to its research activities, the institute has become a popular contact for companies, authorities and associations not only in the Rhine-Ruhr region. At Ruhr-Universität Bochum, the conditions are favourable for the dialogue between lawyers and representatives of economics, geoscience and engineering sciences, which is essential in the energy sector.

Center for Religious Studies (CERES)

Religious diversity is historically the norm, but faces particular challenges under modern conditions – above all in a national context. It is thus attracting particular attention as a research topic at the Center for Religious Studies (CERES). The centre combines interdisciplinary research from various disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. The members analyse religions both in terms of their own dynamics and also in their interactions with other areas of society. A focus lies on the influences of various religions among each other – not only in times of globalisation but also in the millennia before, there was intensive contact between distant regions and thus religions. As all religions that are currently referred to as world religions originated from the region between the Mediterranean Sea and Pacific, the geographic focus lies on the Euro-Asian region. Other focal points are the relationship between religion and art, digital humanities in religious studies, and the development of religious traditions.

Institute of Development Research and Development Policy (IEE)

How do various forms of globalisation affect the economy, politics, and society at a national and subnational level? How does globalisation influence governance? How can the main and side effects of development programmes be measured? How can the use of resources be controlled in a sensible manner? Such questions that are relevant for scientific and practical international collaboration are looked at by around 50 researchers at IEE from an economic, legal, and social scientific perspective. At present, the institute is conducting research into associated questions concerning food security, labour markets, and labour and social standards, and how to combat the causes of migration. The multidisciplinary and significantly international research approach is also reflected in the IEE teaching: the institute offers the MA course in Development Management in Bochum and in Cape Town, runs the PhD programme in International Development Studies at RUB and is closely involved in a collaboration with Afghan universities. People from more than 30 nations research, teach, manage and learn at the IEE.

Institute for International Law of Peace and Armed Conflict (IFHV)

The legal situation before, during and after humanitarian crises, its influence on people, society and institutions, and the reactions of states, international organisations and non-governmental organisations lie at the centre of the research by the Institute for International Law of Peace and Armed Conflict. It is among Europe’s leading academic institutions for research into such crises. Its members from the fields of law, social sciences, geosciences, and health science work in an interdisciplinary manner. Besides its research, the institute trains practitioners in humanitarian aid and thus contributes to their professionalism: in collaboration with the Network on Humanitarian Action (NOHA), it created the Joint Master’s Programme in International Humanitarian Action, involving over 20 European and international partner institutions, more than 20 years ago.

Horst Görtz Institute for IT-Security (HGI)

Thanks to smartphones, many people literally take their computer to bed with them nowadays – digitalisation is everywhere, along with its downsides. Always keeping a step ahead of cybercriminals is one of the aims of the Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security. Thanks to its broad disciplinary scope, it is considered one of the leading institutions in Europe in the field of IT security. 21 professors from electrical and information engineering, mathematics, management and economics, law, and the humanities and social sciences as well as around 100 researchers work together here. Among them are experts from almost all areas of modern cryptography and IT security, including embedded security, cryptography and cryptographic protocols, network security, secure operating systems, mobile security and malware.

Institute for Neural Computation

How does a certain behaviour develop in the brain under the influence of external stimuli? And what can be learned from this to teach technical systems similar behaviours? Both of these questions guide researchers at the Institute for Neural Computation. This concerns perception as well as cognition and movement, for instance of robot and driver assist systems. The researchers use experimental methods from psychology and neurophysiology as well as theoretical approaches from physics, mathematics, electrotechnology and applied information technology. They also use mathematical methods such as the theory of neuronal networks.

Institute for Social Movements (ISB)

The researchers from the institute investigate social movements in history and the present day. The activities of the institute are based on a long-standing collaboration between researchers in various disciplines at RUB, particularly from history, social science, theology, and educational science. The institute arose from the institute founded in 1980 to research the European labour movement. Besides new social movements, the labour and trade union movement continue to represent a focus of research and teaching at the institute. The research at ISB takes place both in international and regional contexts. The institute is involved in various European research projects, while its teaching and research programmes also have a strong regional reference. In its regional contexts, the institute works closely with the foundation History of the Ruhr. The ISB publishes various series of German- and English-language books as well as its own journal “Moving the Social. Journal of Social History and the History of Social Movements”.

RUB »Forschung » Forschungsstrukturen » Zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen

Zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen

In Zentralen Wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen gehen Forscherinnen und Forscher jenseits von Fakultätsgrenzen interdisziplinär genau definierten Themenfeldern auf den Grund.

Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft

Die Zeiten ändern sich, und Organisationen müssen sich verändern, um Schritt zu halten. Das Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft legt seinen Fokus auf Organisationen im Wandel und nimmt sie in ihrer Ganzheit in den Blick. Neben der Grundlagenforschung entwickeln die Mitglieder Konzepte zur Veränderung von Organisationen durch die Analyse und Gestaltung von Arbeitsprozessen und ihre Verbesserung durch soziotechnische Lösungen. Die Forscherinnen und Forscher erfassen und entwickeln Kompetenzen für Change Management Prozesse und die damit verbundenen Interaktionen zwischen dem Individuum und der Organisation. Die Forschungsaktivitäten und Forschungsergebnisse sind Grundlage für das wissenschaftliche Weiterbildungsprogramm im Master of Arts of Organisational Management. Der berufsbegleitende Studiengang richtet sich an Fach- und Führungskräfte aus Wirtschaft und Verwaltung.

Institut für Berg- und Energierecht (IBE)

Emissionshandel, erneuerbare Energien, Versorgungssicherheit – es gibt viele „heiße Eisen“ auf dem Gebiet des Berg- und Energierechts. Häufig sind viele benachbarte Rechtsbereiche von einzelnen Fragen betroffen. Daher ist der Tätigkeitsschwerpunkt des Instituts die Pflege der eng miteinander verzahnten Materien des Bergrechts und des Energierechts nebst sämtlicher rechtlicher Verbindungslinien, zum Beispiel zum Verfassungs- und Verwaltungsrecht sowie zum Handels-, Gesellschafts- und Wettbewerbsrecht. Dank seiner Forschungstätigkeit ist das Institut zu einem gefragten Ansprechpartner für Unternehmen, Behörden und Verbände nicht nur in der Rhein-Ruhr-Region geworden.
An der Ruhr-Universität Bochum sind die Voraussetzungen günstig für den auf dem Energiesektor unabdingbaren Dialog zwischen Juristen und Vertretern der Wirtschafts-, Geo- und Ingenieurwissenschaften.

Centrum für Religionswissenschaftliche Studien (CERES)

Religiöse Vielfalt ist historisch der Normalfall, steht aber unter modernen Bedingungen – allem voran in einem nationalstaatlichen Kontext – unter besonderen Herausforderungen. Sie erfährt daher als Forschungsthema im Centrum für Religionswissenschaftliche Studien (CERES) besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Das Centrum bündelt fächerübergreifend Forschung aus verschiedenen geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen. Die Mitglieder analysieren Religionen sowohl in ihren Eigendynamiken als auch in ihren Wechselwirkungen mit anderen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf den Einflüssen unterschiedlicher Religionen aufeinander – nicht erst in Zeiten der Globalisierung, sondern auch in den Jahrtausenden zuvor gab es schon rege Kontakte zwischen weitentfernen Regionen und somit Religionen. Da alle Religionen, die heute als Weltreligionen bezeichnet werden, ihren Ursprung zwischen Mittelmeer und Pazifik haben, liegt der geografische Schwerpunkt auf dem euro-asiatischen Raum. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind das Verhältnis zwischen Religion und Kunst, Digital Humanities in der Religionsforschung und die Herausbildung von religiösen Traditionen.

Institut für Entwicklungsforschung und Entwicklungspolitik (IEE)

Wie wirken sich unterschiedliche Formen der Globalisierung auf Wirtschaft, Politik und Gesellschaft auf nationalstaatlicher und auf subnationaler Ebene aus? Wie beeinflusst Globalisierung die Governance? Wie lassen sich die Haupt- und Nebenwirkungen von Entwicklungsprogrammen messen? Wie kann man die Nutzung von Ressourcen sinnvoll steuern? Solche für die wissenschaftliche wie für die praktische internationale Zusammenarbeit relevanten Fragen bearbeiten die rund 50 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des IEE aus wirtschafts-, rechts- und sozialwissenschaftlicher Perspektive. Aktuell forscht das Institut in Verbünden zu Fragen der Ernährungssicherheit, zu Arbeitsmärkten und Arbeits- und Sozialstandards und zur Bekämpfung von Fluchtursachen. Der multidisziplinäre und stark international geprägte Forschungsansatz spiegelt sich auch in der IEE-Lehre wider: Das Institut bietet in Bochum und in Kapstadt den MA-Studiengang in Development Management an, betreibt an der RUB das PhD-Programm in International Development Studies und ist stark in der Zusammenarbeit mit afghanischen Universitäten engagiert. Im IEE forschen, lehren, managen, lernen Menschen aus mehr als 30 Nationen.

Institut für Friedenssicherungsrecht und Humanitäres Völkerrecht (IFHV)

Die Rechtssituation vor, während und nach humanitären Krisen, ihr Einfluss auf Menschen, Gesellschaft und Institutionen und die Reaktionen von Staaten, internationalen Organisationen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen stehen im Mittelpunkt der Forschung des Instituts für Friedenssicherungsrecht und Humanitäres Völkerrecht. Es gehört zu Europas führenden akademischen Institutionen für die Erforschung solcher Krisen. Seine Mitglieder aus den Bereichen der Rechtswissenschaft, der Sozialwissenschaft, der Geowissenschaften und der Gesundheitswissenschaft arbeiten interdisziplinär.
Neben der Forschung bildet das Institut Praktiker der humanitären Hilfe aus und trägt so zu ihrer Professionalisierung bei: Vor mehr als 20 Jahren rief es in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Network on Humanitarian Action (NOHA) das gemeinsame Masterprogramm „Joint Master’s Programme in International Humanitarian Action“ ins Leben, an dem über 20 europäische und internationale Partnerinstitutionen beteiligt sind.

Horst-Görtz-Institut für IT-Sicherheit (HGI)

Dank Smartphone nehmen viele den Computer heute buchstäblich mit ins Bett – die Digitalisierung ist überall, und ebenso ihre Schattenseiten. Cyberkriminellen immer einen Schritt voraus zu sein, ist eines der Ziele des Horst Görtz Instituts für IT-Sicherheit. Es gilt Dank seiner großen disziplinären Bandbreite als eine der führenden Einrichtungen auf dem Gebiet der IT-Sicherheit in Europa. 21 Professorinnen und Professoren aus der Elektro- und Informationstechnik, der Mathematik, den Wirtschafts- und Rechtswissenschaften sowie den Geistes- und Gesellschaftswissenschaften sowie rund 100 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler arbeiten hier zusammen. Unter ihnen sind Experten aus nahezu allen Bereichen der modernen Kryptographie und IT-Sicherheit, unter anderem eingebettete Sicherheit, Kryptographie und kryptographische Protokolle, Netzwerksicherheit, sichere Betriebssysteme, mobile Sicherheit und Schadsoftware.

Institut für Neuroinformatik

Wie entsteht im menschlichen Gehirn ein bestimmtes Verhalten unter Einfluss von äußeren Reizen? Und was kann man davon lernen, um technischen Systemen ähnliche Verhaltensweisen beizubringen? Diese beiden Ziele leiten die Forscherinnen und Forscher des Instituts für Neuroinformatik. Dabei geht es sowohl um Wahrnehmung als auch um Kognition und Bewegung, zum Beispiel von Roboter- und Fahrerassistenzsystemen. Die Forschenden nutzen experimentelle Methoden aus der Psychologie und Neurophysiologie ebenso wie theoretische Ansätze aus der Physik, der Mathematik, der Elektrotechnik und der angewandten Informationstechnik. Zudem bedienen sie sich mathematischer Methoden wie der Theorie neuronaler Netze.

Institut für Soziale Bewegungen (ISB)

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Instituts untersuchen die Geschichte und Gegenwart sozialer Bewegungen. Die Aktivitäten des Instituts basieren auf einer langjährigen Zusammenarbeit von Forscherinnen und Forschern verschiedener Disziplinen an der RUB, insbesondere aus der Geschichtswissenschaft, der Sozialwissenschaftler, der Theologie und der Erziehungswissenschaft. Das Institut ist aus dem 1980 gegründeten Institut zur Erforschung der europäischen Arbeiterbewegung hervorgegangen. Neben den Neuen sozialen Bewegungen bilden die Arbeiter- und Gewerkschaftsbewegung in Forschung und Lehre des Instituts weiterhin einen Schwerpunkt. Die Forschungen am ISB bewegen sich sowohl in internationalen als auch regionalen Kontexten. Das Institut ist an verschiedenen europäischen Forschungsprojekten beteiligt, zugleich haben sein Lehr- und Forschungsprogramm einen starken regionalen Bezug. In seinen regionalen Kontexten arbeitet das Institut eng mit der Stiftung Geschichte des Ruhrgebiets zusammen. Das ISB gibt verschiedene deutsch- und englischsprachige Buchreihen sowie eine eigene Fachzeitschrift „Moving the Social. Journal of Social History and the History of Social Movements“ heraus.

 
<