RUB »Forschung » Research Structures » University Alliance Ruhr

University Alliance Ruhr

UA Ruhr Logo
In the University Alliance Ruhr (UA Ruhr), Ruhr-Universität Bochum, TU Dortmund and the University of Duisburg-Essen combine their expertise and resources to further expand their performance and ability to compete.

Under the slogan “better together”, UA Ruhr offers researchers many opportunities for cooperation and networking, while students benefit from the wide range of bachelor and master courses on offer with numerous opportunities for specialisation. In total, over a hundred collaborations have been established in research, teaching and administration, from which a culture of collaboration with many personal and structural connections has developed.

The international collaboration of UA Ruhr is promoted by liaison offices in New York, Moscow and Sao Paulo/Rio de Janeiro.

A Research Council made up by eminent scientists from all universities and the vice-rectors for research guides the overall research strategy and the formation of UAR-wide transdisciplinary ‘flagship programmes’. Thus the Research Council established the first two flagship initiatives of the UAR in 2015: ‘Solvation Science’ and ‘Materials Chain’.

RESOLV flagship programme

The shared RESOLV flagship programme aims to conduct research on chemical reactions, industrial processes and biological processes in a liquid phase (in solution). Solvent molecules are viewed as functional units that play an active role in solvent-mediated and solvent-controlled reactions.

Materials Chain flagship programme

The “Materials Chain” flagship programme combines and strengthens the entire field of material sciences at the three universities in Bochum, Dortmund and Duisburg-Essen. The aim is to take a complete and continuous view of the entire material chain – from the finished component to the atom and vice versa.

 

Alliance for Research on East Asia (AREA) Ruhr

AREA Ruhr (Alliance for Research on East Asia) is a new, joint scientific institution of the Faculty of East Asian Studies (OAW) at Ruhr-Universität Bochum and the Institute of East Asian Studies (IN-EAST) at the University of Duisburg-Essen as part of the University Alliance Ruhr. The most important aim of AREA Ruhr is to promote interdisciplinary joint research and joint teaching. With over 20 professors and 100 researchers, AREA Ruhr is one of the largest research associations for East Asian studies in Europe.

Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI) Essen

The Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI) Essen is an interdisciplinary research institution for the humanities in the University Alliance Ruhr in the tradition of international advanced study institutions. It researches the foundations of modern culture in an applied and practical manner. KWI is involved in the dialogue between science and society with a broad programme of events. It also maintains close partnerships with cultural institutions and the media.

Mercator Research Center Ruhr (MERCUR)

The aim of the Mercator Research Center Ruhr is to promote strategic cooperation between the universities in the University Alliance Ruhr and thus strengthen the Ruhr as a science region over the long term. The scientists at the universities in UA Ruhr can apply for funding.

Global Young Faculty

Global Young Faculty In the Global Young Faculty, pre-eminent junior researchers from the Ruhr Metropolis come together to work on topics of mutual interest in interdisciplinary working groups. The network is an initiative by the Mercator Foundation in collaboration with UA Ruhr and is coordinated by the Mercator Research Center Ruhr in Essen.

RUB »Forschung » Forschungsstrukturen » Universitätsallianz Ruhr

Universitätsallianz Ruhr

UA Ruhr Logo
In der Universitätsallianz Ruhr (UA Ruhr) bündeln die Ruhr-Universität Bochum, die Technische Universität Dortmund und die Universität Duisburg-Essen ihre Kompetenzen und Ressourcen, um ihre Leistungs- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit weiter auszubauen.

Unter dem Motto „gemeinsam besser“ bietet die UA Ruhr Forscherinnen und Forschern vielfältige Möglichkeiten zur Kooperation und Vernetzung, während die Studierenden von dem großen Angebot an Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen mit zahlreichen Spezialisierungsmöglichkeiten profitieren. Insgesamt sind bereits über hundert Kooperationen in Forschung, Lehre und Verwaltung entstanden, woraus sich eine Kultur der Zusammenarbeit mit vielfältigen persönlichen und strukturellen Verbindungen entwickelt hat.

Die internationale Zusammenarbeit der UA Ruhr fördern Verbindungsbüros in New York, Moskau und Sao Paulo/Rio de Janeiro.

Profilschwerpunkt RESOLV

Der gemeinsame Profilschwerpunkt RESOLV hat das Ziel, chemische Reaktionen, industrielle Prozesse oder biologische Vorgänge in flüssiger Phase (in Lösung) zu erforschen. Solvensmoleküle werden als funktionelle Einheiten betrachtet, die in solvensvermittelten und -kontrollierten Reaktionen eine aktive Rolle spielen.

Profilschwerpunkt „Materials Chain“

Der Profilschwerpunkt „Materials Chain“ bündelt und stärkt den gesamten Bereich der Material- und Werkstoffwissenschaften an den drei Universitäten in Bochum, Dortmund und Duisburg-Essen. Ziel ist eine vollständige und durchgängige Betrachtung der gesamten Materialkette – vom fertigen Bauteil bis zum Atom und umgekehrt.

 

 

 

AREA Ruhr

AREA Ruhr (Alliance for Research on East Asia) ist eine neue, gemeinsame wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Fakultät für Ostasienwissenschaften (OAW) der Ruhr-Universität Bochum und dem Institute of East Asian Studies (IN-EAST) der Universität Duisburg-Essen im Rahmen der Universitätsallianz Ruhr. Wichtigstes Ziel von AREA Ruhr ist es, die interdisziplinäre Verbundforschung und gemeinsame Lehre zu fördern. Mit über 20 Professorinnen und Professoren und 100 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern ist AREA Ruhr einer der größten ostasienwissenschaftlichen Forschungsverbünde in Europa.

Kulturwissenschaftliches Institut Essen

Das Kulturwissenschaftliche Institut Essen (KWI) ist das interdisziplinäre Forschungskolleg der Universitätsallianz Ruhr für Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften in der Tradition internationaler Advanced Study-Institute. Es erforscht anwendungsbezogen und praxisnah die Grundlagen der modernen Kultur. Mit einem breiten Veranstaltungsprogramm beteiligt sich das KWI am Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit. Zudem pflegt es enge Partnerschaften mit kulturellen Einrichtungen und den Medien.

Mercator Research Center Ruhr (MERCUR)

Das Ziel des Mercator Research Center Ruhr ist es, die strategische Kooperation der in der Universitätsallianz Ruhr verbundenen Universitäten zu fördern und so den Wissenschaftsstandort Ruhrgebiet nachhaltig zu stärken. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Universitäten der UA Ruhr können Mittel für gemeinsame Projekte beantragen.

Global Young Faculty

In der Global Young Faculty treffen sich herausragende Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler der Metropole Ruhr, um in interdisziplinären Arbeitsgruppen Themen von gemeinsamen Interesse zu bearbeiten. Das Netzwerk ist eine Initiative der Stiftung Mercator in Zusammenarbeit mit der UA Ruhr und wird vom Mercator Research Center Ruhr in Essen koordiniert.