Research Buildings

ZEMOS - Centre for Molecular Spectroscopy and Simulation of Solvent-Mediated Processes


In the Centre for Molecular Spectroscopy and Simulation of Solvent-Mediated Processes (ZEMOS), scientists are researching how solvation, the dissolving of a chemical substance, takes place in detail. With modern office and lab facilities, ZEMOS offers around 100 researchers space to work in an interdisciplinary manner on new technologies relating to solvation science. ZEMOS allows Ruhr-Universität Bochum to expand this important research focus. The federal government and the state of NRW each provide half of the funding for ZEMOS, totalling around 44 million euros. The research building was opened in 2016.


In the coming years, the federal government and state will support further research buildings in the fields:

ProDi - Centre for Molecular Protein Diagnostics

The Centre for Molecular Protein Diagnostics – ProDi for short – is being created at the Bochum health campus. It forms the bridge between RUB, University Clinics and the health care sector. ProDi strenghtens the research network Protein Research Unit Ruhr within Europe – PURE. The PURE consortium develops innovative methods for the early diagnosis of cancer and neurodegenerative deseases such as Alzheimer’s. The total costs of the construction and the basic equipment totalling 48 million euros are borne by the federal government and the state of NRW. The construction phase began in November 2016.

 

ZGH – Centre for Interface-Dominated High Performance Materials

The Centre for Interface-Dominated High Performance Materials (ZGH) is being created on the RUB campus between the buildings IA and IB. It will offer space to around 80 academics for their research work. They will investigate and further develop materials for extreme conditions in an interdisciplinary manner. The federal government and the state of NRW each provide half of the funding for the research building, totalling 40 million euros. The construction phase is ongoing.

ZESS - Research Centre for the Engineering of Smart Product Service Systems

The Research Centre for the Engineering of Smart Product Service Systems (ZESS) is being established on the Mark 51°7 site in Bochum. The research building is the first anchor point for knowledge-intensive companies and non-university research institutions in this quarter. Ruhr-Universität Bochum is thus implementing its three-polar site development strategy – campus, city centre and Mark 51°7. Academics will conduct research into Industry 4.0 at ZESS. The federal government and the state of NRW will each provide half of the funding for the centre, totalling around 28 million euros. Construction begins in 2018.

Good to know

Research buildings are intended to improve the infrastructural conditions of German universities. The universities can thus position themselves more successfully in national and international competition. Support can be provided for buildings at universities with investment costs of over 5 million euros, the infrastructure of which is predominantly used for research.

The federal government and the states each provide half of the funding. In the competition to establish this nationally significant research infrastructure, RUB has so far been able to acquire around 160 million euros of funding.

RUB »Forschung » Forschungsstrukturen » Forschungsbauten

Forschungsbauten

ZEMOS - Zentrum für molekulare Spektroskopie und Simulation solvensgesteuerter Prozesse

ZEMOS

Im Zentrum für molekulare Spektroskopie und Simulation solvensgesteuerter Prozesse (ZEMOS) erforschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, wie die Solvatation, das Lösen einer chemischen Substanz, genau abläuft. ZEMOS bietet mit modernen Büro- und Laborräumen rund 100 Forscherinnen und Forschern den Platz interdisziplinär an neuen Technologien rund um die Solvation Science zu arbeiten. Die Ruhr-Universität kann mit ZEMOS diesen wichtigen Forschungsschwerpunkt ausbauen. Mit rund 44 Millionen Euro fördern der Bund und das Land NRW ZEMOS jeweils zur Hälfte. Der Forschungsbau wurde 2016 eröffnet.    


In den kommenden Jahren fördern Bund und Land weitere Forschungsbauten in den Bereichen:

ProDi - Zentrum für molekulare Proteindiagnostik

ProDi

Auf dem Bochumer Gesundheitscampus entsteht das Zentrum für molekulare Proteindiagnostik – kurz ProDi. Es schlägt die Brücke zwischen RUB, Universitätskliniken und Gesundheitswirtschaft. ProDi stärkt den Forschungsverbund Protein Research Unit Ruhr within Europe – PURE. Das PURE-Konsortium entwickelt innovative Methoden zur Frühdiagnose von Krebs und neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen wie Alzheimer. Die Gesamtkosten für den Bau und die Erstausstattung in Höhe von 48 Millionen Euro tragen der Bund und das Land NRW gemeinsam. Im November 2016 startete die Bauphase.

 

ZGH - Zentrum für Grenzflächendominierte Höchstleistungswerkstoffe

ZGH

Auf dem RUB-Campus zwischen den Gebäuden IA und IB entsteht das Zentrum für Grenzflächendominierte Höchstleistungswerkstoffe (ZGH). Es wird rund 80 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern Platz für ihre Forschungsarbeit bieten. Interdisziplinär werden sie Materialien für extreme Bedingungen untersuchen und weiterentwickeln. Mit 40 Millionen Euro fördern der Bund und das Land NRW den Forschungsbau jeweils zur Hälfte. Die Bauphase läuft.

ZESS - Forschungszentrum für das Engineering Smarter Produkt-Service Systeme  

ZESS

Das Forschungszentrum für das Engineering Smarter Produkt-Service Systeme (ZESS) wird auf dem Gelände Mark 51°7 in Bochum errichtet. Der Forschungsbau ist der erste Ankerpunkt für wissensintensive Unternehmen und außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen in diesem Quartier. Die Ruhr-Universität setzt damit ihre dreipolige Standortentwicklungsstrategie – Campus, Innenstadt und Mark 51°7 – um. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler werden im ZESS zur Industrie 4.0 forschen. Das Zentrum wird jeweils zur Hälfte durch den Bund und das Land NRW mit einer Fördersumme von rund 28 Millionen Euro unterstützt. Der Bau beginnt 2018.

Gut zu wissen

Forschungsbauten sollen die infrastrukturellen Voraussetzungen der deutschen Hochschulen verbessern. Damit können sich die Hochschulen im nationalen und internationalen Wettbewerb erfolgreicher positionieren. Gefördert werden können Bauten an Hochschulen mit Investitionskosten von mehr als 5 Millionen Euro, deren Infrastruktur weit überwiegend der Forschung dient.

Die Fördermittel werden je zur Hälfte von Bund und Ländern getragen. Im Wettbewerb um die Ansiedlung dieser überregional bedeutsamen Forschungsinfrastruktur konnte die RUB bisher rund 160 Millionen Euro Fördergelder einwerben.