RUB »Research » Individual Research » Members "Junges Kolleg"

"Junges Kolleg" Membership

RUB accounts for one third of the membership of the Young Academy (Junges Kolleg) at the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, a testimony to the phenomenal competitiveness of our early career researchers.    

Since 2007, the Young Academy of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and the Arts has been admitting outstanding young early career researchers from all disciplines from universities and research institutes all over NRW. The members receive an annual stipend of 10,000 euros for up to four years, in addition to intense expert support. In addition to a doctoral degree, membership in the Young Academy requires  outstanding academic achievements at a university or research institute in North Rhine-Westphalia. Furthermore, new members must be 36 years old or younger.   

The financial support of the Mercator foundation made this funding programme possible. The state of North Rhine-Westphalia has taken over the financing as of the year 2014.  



The North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts has accepted ten young early career researchers as members of the Young Academy (Junges Kolleg) in 2016. Two of them come from RUB.
The new members are Prof Dr Armin Zlomuzica from the Centre for the Study and Treatment of Mental Health of the Faculty of Psychology and Prof Dr Robert Kourist, director of the junior research group Microbial Biotechnology at the Faculty of Biology and Biotechnology.


Out of 17 new members in the Young Academy (Junges Kolleg) of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts, six come from Bochum.
The six new members from Bochum are the following young researchers: Dr Clarissa Blume (Institute of Archaeological Studies), Dr Eva von Contzen (English Seminar), Dr-Ing. Steffen Freitag (Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering), Junior Prof Dr-Ing. Tim Güneysu (Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology), Dr-Ing. Ralf Jänicke (Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering), Dr med. Sabine Salloch (Institute for Medical Ethics and History of Medicine)


With five of fifteen leading RUB researchers, the Ruhr-Universität Bochum has again provided most of the newly appointed members of the “Junges Kolleg” of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts. “The repeated success in the selection procedure which saw more than a hundred applications from universities and research institutions throughout the state, speaks for the systematic promotion of young talent at the RUB in recent years”, says the rector Prof. Dr. Elmar Weiler. Of the ten Kolleg members appointed from the RUB in recent years, seven now hold professorships at other universities.
This time a total of five leading academics from the RUB have made it to the Academy: Juniorprofessor Dr. Julia Becker (department of physics and astronomy), Dr. Simon Ebbinghaus (chemistry and biochemistry), Dr. Nils C. Gerhardt (electrical engineering and information technology), Dr. Rüdiger Graf (history) and Dr. Florian Leese (biology and biotechnology) prevailed in the state-wide application process for the year 2011.

Mitglieder Junges Kolleg 2011
Press release appointment 2011


With Dr. Dr. Christian Tapp (Jun. Prof. for Philosophical-Theological border issues), Dr. Gottfried Vosgerau (Post-Doc in the Department of Philosophy of Mind) and Dr. Cornel Zwierlein (Jun. Prof. for Environmental History), the Ruhr-Universität now provides ten of the current twenty-eight fellows.
Three outstanding young researchers from the Ruhr-Universität were among the eleven leading RUB researchers who were ceremoniously admitted to the Young Academy of Sciences for North Rhine-Westphalia in January 2009.

Dr. Christian Tapp Dr. Gottfried Vosgerau Dr. Cornel Zwierlein






Press release appointment 2009