RUB »Research » Individual Research » Members "Junges Kolleg"

"Junges Kolleg" Membership

RUB accounts for one third of the membership of the Young Academy (Junges Kolleg) at the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, a testimony to the phenomenal competitiveness of our early career researchers.    

Since 2007, the Young Academy of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and the Arts has been admitting outstanding young early career researchers from all disciplines from universities and research institutes all over NRW. The members receive an annual stipend of 10,000 euros for up to four years, in addition to intense expert support. In addition to a doctoral degree, membership in the Young Academy requires  outstanding academic achievements at a university or research institute in North Rhine-Westphalia. Furthermore, new members must be 36 years old or younger.   

The financial support of the Mercator foundation made this funding programme possible. The state of North Rhine-Westphalia has taken over the financing as of the year 2014.  

 

2016

The North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts has accepted ten young early career researchers as members of the Young Academy (Junges Kolleg) in 2016. Two of them come from RUB.
The new members are Prof Dr Armin Zlomuzica from the Centre for the Study and Treatment of Mental Health of the Faculty of Psychology and Prof Dr Robert Kourist, director of the junior research group Microbial Biotechnology at the Faculty of Biology and Biotechnology.


2015

Out of 17 new members in the Young Academy (Junges Kolleg) of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts, six come from Bochum.
The six new members from Bochum are the following young researchers: Dr Clarissa Blume (Institute of Archaeological Studies), Dr Eva von Contzen (English Seminar), Dr-Ing. Steffen Freitag (Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering), Junior Prof Dr-Ing. Tim Güneysu (Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology), Dr-Ing. Ralf Jänicke (Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering), Dr med. Sabine Salloch (Institute for Medical Ethics and History of Medicine)


2011

With five of fifteen leading RUB researchers, the Ruhr-Universität Bochum has again provided most of the newly appointed members of the “Junges Kolleg” of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences and Arts. “The repeated success in the selection procedure which saw more than a hundred applications from universities and research institutions throughout the state, speaks for the systematic promotion of young talent at the RUB in recent years”, says the rector Prof. Dr. Elmar Weiler. Of the ten Kolleg members appointed from the RUB in recent years, seven now hold professorships at other universities.
This time a total of five leading academics from the RUB have made it to the Academy: Juniorprofessor Dr. Julia Becker (department of physics and astronomy), Dr. Simon Ebbinghaus (chemistry and biochemistry), Dr. Nils C. Gerhardt (electrical engineering and information technology), Dr. Rüdiger Graf (history) and Dr. Florian Leese (biology and biotechnology) prevailed in the state-wide application process for the year 2011.

Mitglieder Junges Kolleg 2011
Press release appointment 2011


2009

With Dr. Dr. Christian Tapp (Jun. Prof. for Philosophical-Theological border issues), Dr. Gottfried Vosgerau (Post-Doc in the Department of Philosophy of Mind) and Dr. Cornel Zwierlein (Jun. Prof. for Environmental History), the Ruhr-Universität now provides ten of the current twenty-eight fellows.
Three outstanding young researchers from the Ruhr-Universität were among the eleven leading RUB researchers who were ceremoniously admitted to the Young Academy of Sciences for North Rhine-Westphalia in January 2009.

Dr. Christian Tapp Dr. Gottfried Vosgerau Dr. Cornel Zwierlein


 

 

 

 

 



Press release appointment 2009

RUB »Forschung » Einzelforschung » Mitglieder Junges Kolleg

Mitglieder Junges Kolleg

Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler der Ruhr-Universität sind seit deren Gründung regelmäßig in das Junge Kolleg der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften berufen worden, ein Ausweis der überaus großen Konkurrenzfähigkeit unserer Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler.

Das Junge Kolleg der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste nimmt  seit 2007 exzellente junge Nachwuchswissenschaftler/innen aller Fachrichtungen aus allen Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen in NRW auf. Die Mitglieder erhalten bis zu vier Jahre lang ein jährliches Stipendium in Höhe von 10.000 Euro sowie eine intensive fachliche Begleitung. Voraussetzung für die Mitgliedschaft im Jungen Kolleg sind zusätzlich zur Promotion herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen an einer Hochschule oder Forschungseinrichtung in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Die neuen Mitglieder dürfen außerdem nicht älter als 36 Jahre sein.

Die finanzielle Unterstützung der Stiftung Mercator machte dieses Förderprogramm möglich. Ab 2014 hat das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen die Finanzierung übernommen.

2016

Insgesamt zehn Nachwuchsforscherinnen und -forscher nahm die Nordrhein-Westfälische Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste 2016 in das Junge Kolleg auf. Zwei von ihnen stammen von der RUB.
Die neuen Mitglieder sind Prof. Dr. Armin Zlomuzica vom Forschungs- und Behandlungszentrum für Psychische Gesundheit der Fakultät für Psychologie und Prof. Dr. Robert Kourist, Leiter der Nachwuchsgruppe Mikrobielle Biotechnologie an der Fakultät für Biologie und Biotechnologie.

v.l.n.r.: Wissenschaftsministerin Svenja Schulze, Prof. Dr. Robert Kourist, Rektor Axel Schölmerich, Prof. Dr. Armin Zlomuzica, Akademiepräsident Wolfgang Löwer

 

2015

Gleich sechs der insgesamt 17 neuen Mitglieder im Jungen Kolleg der Nordrhein Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste kommen aus Bochum.
Bei den sechs neuen Kollegiaten aus Bochum handelt es sich um folgende junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler: Dr. des. Clarissa Blume (Institut für Archäologische Wissenschaften), Dr. Eva von Contzen (Englisches Seminar), Dr.-Ing. Steffen Freitag (Fakultät für Bau- und Umweltingenieurwissenschaften), Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Tim Güneysu (Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik), Dr.-Ing. Ralf Jänicke (Fakultät für Bau- und Umweltingenieurwissenschaften) und Dr. med. Sabine Salloch (Institut für Medizinische Ethik und Geschichte der Medizin).
Presseinformation 2015 zur Berufung

v.l.n.r.: Dr. Eva von Contzen, Dr.-Ing. Steffen Freitag, Wissenschaftsministerin Svenja Schulze, Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Tim Güneysu, Akademiepräsident Hanns Hatt, Dr. des. Clarissa Blume, Dr.-Ing. Ralf Jänicke und (nicht auf dem Foto) Dr. med. Sabine Salloch

 

2011

Fünf von 15 exzellenten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern, die das Junge Kolleg 2011 aufnahm, kommen aus der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Von den zehn in den vergangenen Jahren berufenen Kolleg-Mitgliedern aus der RUB haben inzwischen sieben eine Professur an anderen Universitäten.
Fünf Spitzenwissenschaftler der RUB haben den Sprung in die Akademie geschafft: Juniorprofessorin Dr. Julia Becker (Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie), Dr. Simon Ebbinghaus (Chemie und Biochemie), Dr. Nils C. Gerhardt (Elektro- und Informationstechnik), Dr. Rüdiger Graf (Geschichtswissenschaft) und Dr. Florian Leese (Biologie und Biotechnologie) setzten sich in dem landesweiten Auswahlverfahren für das Jahr 2011 durch.

Mitglieder Junges Kolleg 2011
Presseinformation 2011 zur Berufung


2009

Mit Dr. Dr. Christian Tapp (Jun.-Prof. für Philosophisch-Theologische Grenzfragen), Dr. Gottfried Vosgerau (Post-Doc am Lehrstuhl für Philosophie des Geistes) und Dr. Cornel Zwierlein (Jun.-Prof. für Umweltgeschichte) stellt die Ruhr-Universität nun zehn der insgesamt 28 Kollegiaten.
Drei junge Spitzenforscher aus der Ruhr-Universität sind unter den elf Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern die 2009 feierlich ins Junge Kolleg der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste aufgenommen wurden.

Dr. Christian Tapp Dr. Gottfried Vosgerau Dr. Cornel Zwierlein


 

 

 

 

 



Presseinformation 2009 zur Berufung