RUB » Research » Excellent  » Other Awards

Other Awards

Anneliese Maier Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Prof. Francis Jeffry Pelletier

Prof. Francis Jeffry Pelletier

University of Alberta, Edmonton und Simon Fraser University (2013 – 2018)

Cooperation partners: Prof. Dr Tibor Kiss, Linguistics Institute, Faculty of Philology


Good to know

The cooperation award is intended to promote the internationalisation of the humanities and social sciences in Germany and is awarded annually to outstanding overseas scientists from all areas of the humanities and social sciences. The award-winners establish research partnerships they choose themselves with expert colleagues in Germany for a period of up to five years. An award is valued at 250,000 euros.

Max Planck Fellow

Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion in Mülheim an der Ruhr

Prof. Dr Martin Muhler

Chair for Industrial Chemistry, Faculty of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2015-2020)


Good to know

Outstanding university lecturers can deepen their research at a Max Planck Institute with the Max Planck Fellowship Programme: besides their chair at the university, they get an additional research group at a Max Planck Institute for five years. The funding period is five years. The winner of the award receives 500,000 euros. The Fellowship Programme at the Max Planck Society is used for targeted networking in the research system at the respective sites.

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize




Jun. Prof. Dr Sarah Weigelt

Developmental Neuropsychology, Faculty of Psychology (2015)

Good to know

Particularly outstanding achievements by young researchers are honoured with the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize. The award-winners receive 20,000 euros to strengthen their scientific profile and pursue their research interests. They can thus lay the foundation for a further successful research career. The Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize is considered the most important award for the next generation of researchers in Germany.