RUB » Research » Excellent  » Leibniz Prize

Leibniz prize winners at Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Prof. Dr Onur Güntürkün

Prof. Dr Onur Güntürkün, biopsychology


Biopsychologist Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Onur Güntürkün received the Leibniz Prize in 2013 for his outstanding scientific work in the field of perception, learning and decision-making. Güntürkün investigates these phenomena at a behavioural level, neuroanatomically and with electrophysiological and imaging techniques. In doing so, he is above all interested in the asymmetry between the left and right hemisphere of the brain, about which hardly anything is known in people.

Other Leibniz prize winners

1995    Prof. Dr Elmar W. Weiler, plant physiology

1995    Prof. Dr Hans-Joachim Freund, physical chemistry

1994    Prof. Dr Ulf Eysel, neuropsychology

1993    Prof. Dr Jürgen Jost, mathematics

1992    Prof. Dr. Ján Veizer, sediment geochemistry


Good to know

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize has been awarded annually since 1986 by the German Research Foundation (DFG). The Leibniz Prize is the most important research funding award in Germany. The prize is only awarded upon nomination by third parties and is intended to improve working conditions for outstanding scientists and expand their research possibilities.