RUB » Research » Excellent  » ERC-Grantees

ERC-Grantees

ERC Advanced Grants

Prof. Dr Martina Havenith-Newen

Martina Havenith-Newen studied physics in Bonn, where she received her doctorate in 1990. She was a research fellow at the University of California, Berkeley, in the Department of Chemistry and at the University of Nijmegen in the Department of Molecular and Laser Physics. Her habilitation took place in 1997. In 1998, she accepted a call to the Chair of Physical Chemistry II at Ruhr University Bochum. Among other things, she is the speaker of the Cluster of Excellence Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), which is currently funded by the Excellence Initiative, and director of the Centre for Molecular Spectroscopy and Simulation of Solvent-Mediated Processes.
In her ERC Advanced Grant, she works on developing new spectroscopic methods that allow the role of water in biological processes to be observed in real time.


Prof. Dr-Ing. Christof Paar

Christof Paar studied at University of Applied Sciences Cologne and the University of Siegen and then worked at the Chair for Data Transfer at the Institute for Experimental Mathematics at the University of Essen. From 1995 to 2001, he was a professor at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Massachusetts, USA. Since 2001, he has been the holder of the Chair for Embedded Security at Ruhr Universität Bochum. From 2004 to 2007 and from 2010 to 2012 he was the managing director at the Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security.
In his ERC Advanced Grant, he works on making the “Internet of Things” more secure.

ERC Consolidator Grants

Alexandra Cuffel

Prof. Dr Alexandra Cuffel

Alexandra Cuffel studied history in the USA and England and obtained her doctorate at New York University in 2002. She did research, among other places, at Harvard Divinity School and as a guest researcher at Bochum's Käte Hamburger Kolleg “Dynamics in the History of Religions between Asia and Europe”. Since 2012, she is a professor for Jewish Religion in Past and Present Times at the Faculty of History. She is also a member of the Directorate at the Center for Religious Studies (CERES).
In her ERC Grant, she researches Jewish and Christian encounters outside Europe.


Prof. Dr Eike Kiltz

Eike Kiltz studied mathematics at Ruhr University Bochum from 1995 to 2001. He obtained his doctorate there in 2004 and then spent a year as a postdoc at the University of California in San Diego. He researched in Amsterdam between 2005 and 2010. Guest visits took him to Switzerland, Spain and Denmark. He returned to Ruhr Universität Bochum with the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award in 2010. Eike Kiltz heads the Chair for Cryptography at the Faculty of Mathematics. He is on the board of directors at the Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security.
In his ERC Consolidator Grant, he develops new security procedures for small chips, which are used, for instance, in pacemakers and passports.


Prof. Dr Carmen Meinert

Carmen Meinert studied sinology, Tibetology and geography at the University of Bonn, where she gained her doctorate in 2001. She carried out research, among other places, at Peking University, Sichuan University, the University of Hamburg and at the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities Essen. Since 2013, Carmen Meinert is a professor for Central Asian Religions in the Faculty of East Asian Studies. She is also Deputy Director of the Center for Religious Studies at Ruhr Universität Bochum. Before this, she was a visiting researcher at the Bochum Käte Hamburger Kolleg “Dynamics in the History of Religions between Asia and Europe”.
In her ERC Consolidator Grant, she investigates how Buddhism developed locally in premodern Central Asian cultures.


Prof. Dr Beatriz Roldán Cuenya

Beatriz Roldán Cuenya studied physics at the University of Oviedo, Spain. In 2001, she completed her doctoral thesis in the field of solid-state physics at the University of Duisburg-Essen. She worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of California in Santa Barbara and assumed a post as Assistant Professor at the University of Central Florida (Orlando) in 2004, where she became Full Professor in 2012. Since 2013, Beatriz Roldán Cuenya holds the Chair for Solid-State Physics in the Faculty of Physics and Astronomy. She is also a member of the Cluster of Excellence Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), which is currently funded by the Excellence Initiative.
In her ERC Grant, she works on gaining new insights into the catalytic abilities of nanoparticles.

ERC Starting Grants

Prof. Dr Viktoria Däschlein-Gessner

Viktoria Däschlein-Gessner studied chemistry in Marburg and Würzburg and obtained her doctorate in 2009 at the Technical University Dortmund. Following a research stay at the University of California in Berkeley, she led an Emmy Noether independent junior research group at the University of Würzburg, where she habilitated in 2015. She has worked at RUB since July 2016 and holds the Chair for Inorganic Chemistry II at the Faculty of Chemistry and Biochemistry.
She is also a member of the Cluster of Excellence Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), which is currently funded by the Excellence Initiative. In her ERC Grant, she develops new ligand systems.

 


Prof. Dr Elisabeth de Boer

Elisabeth de Boer studied Japanese in Leiden, Netherlands. She conducted research at the Universities of Hokkaido, Japan, and Maryland, USA. She gained her doctorate at the University of Leiden in 2005.
She has worked at RUB since May 2016, and is a professor for Japanese Linguistics at the research group of Japanese Language and Literature in the Faculty of East Asian Studies since February 2017.
In her ERC Starting Grant, she investigates how the Japanese language arrived in Japan and spread there.


Prof. Dr Thorsten Holz

Thorsten Holz studied information technology in Aachen, where he received his Diplom degree in 2005. He obtained his doctorate at the University of Mannheim in 2009. Before he switched to Ruhr Universität Bochum in 2010, he worked as a postdoc at the Institute of Computer-Aided Automation at Vienna University of Technology. In 2011, he was awarded the Heinz Maier Leibnitz Prize by the German Research Foundation. Thorsten Holz holds the Chair for Systems Security at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology. He is also on the board of directors at the Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security.
In his ERC Starting Grant, he works on improving the security of software of devices that are connected to the Internet.


Prof. Dr Stefan M. Huber

Stefan Huber studied chemistry at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, where, after his Diplom degree, he also wrote his doctoral thesis and obtained his doctorate in 2007. As a postdoc, he then worked at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis (USA) and at the University of Geneva. He conducted research at Technical University of Munich between 2009 and 2013. He has been a professor at the Faculty of Chemistry and Biochemistry since 2014. He is also a member of the Cluster of Excellence Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), which is currently funded by the Excellence Initiative.
He develops new catalysts in his ERC Starting Grant.


Dr Nicolas Plumeré

Nicolas Plumeré studied chemistry in Strasbourg and Glasgow and obtained his doctorate at the University of Tübingen in 2009. Since 2010, he has been a Junior research group leader at the Center for Electrochemical Sciences at Ruhr University. He also researches as part of the Cluster of Excellence Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), which is currently funded by the Excellence Initiative.
In his ERC Grant, he develops stable catalysts from affordable materials.


Dr Rüdiger Arnzen, Dr Yury Arzhanov (participation)

Yury Arzhanov studied Oriental studies at the University of St. Petersburg, where he obtained his doctorate in 2004. Following time spent at the Universities of Tübingen and Halle, he switched to Ruhr Universität Bochum in 2010. Rüdiger Arnzen studied at Ruhr Universität, where he obtained his doctorate in 1994. He then became a research assistant there. He currently works at the Thomas Institute at the University of Cologne and is involved in various research projects.
Their Starting Grant, the leader of which is Dr. Grigory Kessel from the Austrian Academy of Sciences, concerns setting up a database that contains Syrian and Arabic translations of scientific and philosophical works originating in Greece.

Good to know

After it was founded in 2007, the European Research Council (ERC) established itself as a European institution of the utmost international renown. The ERC is open to all research areas and to researchers at all career stages. The sole criterion for funding is academic excellence. The reputation of ERC Grants exceeds that of most other comparable individual sources of funding. ERC Grants have become real flagship projects for the quality of research at their universities and strengthen their competitive position. Therefore, they are of great strategic importance.

ERC-Grantees

ERC Advanced Grants

Prof. Dr. Martina Havenith-Newen

Martina Havenith-Newen studierte Physik in Bonn, wo sie 1990 promoviert wurde. Sie war Forschungsstipendiatin an der University of California, Berkeley im Department of Chemistry und an der Universität Nijmegen im Fachbereich Molekül- und Laserphysik. 1997 erfolgte ihre Habilitation. 1998 folgte sie dem Ruf auf den Lehrstuhl für Physikalische Chemie II an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Sie ist unter anderem Sprecherin des Exzellenz-Clusters Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), der derzeit durch die Exzellenzinitiative gefördert wird, und Direktorin des Zentrums für molekulare Spektroskopie und Simulation solvensgesteuerter Prozesse.
In ihrem ERC Advanced Grant arbeitet sie daran, neue spektroskopische Methoden zu entwickeln, mit denen man die Rolle des Wasser bei biologischen Prozessen in Echtzeit verfolgen kann.


Prof. Dr.-Ing Christof Paar

Christof Paar studierte an der Fachhochschule Köln und der Universität Siegen und arbeitete anschließend am Lehrstuhl Datenübertragung des Instituts für Experimentelle Mathematik der Universität Essen. Von 1995 bis 2001 war er Professor am Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Massachusetts, USA. Seit 2001 ist er Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Embedded Security an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Hier war er von 2004 bis 2007 und von 2010 bis 2012 geschäftsführender Direktor des Horst Görtz Institut für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik. In seinem ERC Advanced Grant arbeitet er daran, das „Internet der Dinge“ sicherer zu machen.

ERC Consolidator Grants

Alexandra Cuffel

Prof. Dr. Alexandra Cuffel

Alexandra Cuffel studierte Geschichte in den USA und England und wurde 2002 an der New York University promoviert. Sie forschte unter anderem an der Harvard Divinity School und als Gastwissenschaftlerin am Bochumer Käte Hamburger Kolleg „Dynamiken der Religionsgeschichte zwischen Asien und Europa“. Seit 2012 ist sie Professorin für die Religion des Judentums in Geschichte und Gegenwart an der Fakultät für Geschichtswissenschaft. Sie ist zudem Mitglied des Direktoriums des Centrum für Religionswissenschaftliche Studien (CERES). In ihrem ERC-Grant erforscht sie jüdisch-christliche Begegnungen außerhalb Europas.


Prof. Dr. Eike Kiltz

Eike Kiltz studierte von 1995 bis 2001 Mathematik an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. 2004 wurde er hier promoviert und verbrachte danach ein Jahr als Postdoc an der University of California in San Diego. Von 2005 bis 2010 forschte er in Amsterdam. Gastaufenthalte führten ihn in die Schweiz, nach Spanien und Dänemark. Mit dem Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preis kam er 2010 zurück an die Ruhr-Universität. Eike Kiltz leitet den Lehrstuhl für Kryptographie der Fakultät für Mathematik. Er gehört zudem dem Vorstand des Horst Görtz Institut für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik an.
In seinem ERC Consolidator Grant entwickelt er neuartige Sicherheitsverfahren für kleine Chips, die zum Beispiel in Herzschrittmachern oder Pässen stecken.


Prof. Dr. Carmen Meinert

Carmen Meinert studierte Sinologie, Tibetologie und Geografie an der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn, wo sie 2001 promoviert wurde. Sie forschte unter anderem an der Peking-Universität, der Sichuan-Universität, der Universität Hamburg und am Kulturwissenschaftlichen Institut Essen. Seit 2013 ist Carmen Meinert Professorin für die Religionen Zentralasiens an der Fakultät für Ostasienwissenschaften. Sie ist zudem stellvertretende Direktorin des Centrums für Religionswissenschaftliche Studien der Ruhr-Universität. Zuvor war sie bereits Gastwissenschaftlerin im Bochumer Käte-Hamburger-Kolleg „Dynamiken der Religionsgeschichte zwischen Asien und Europa“.
In ihrem ERC Consolidator Grant erforscht sie, wie sich der Buddhismus in vormodernen zentralasiatischen Kulturen lokal ausgeprägt hat.


Prof. Dr. Beatriz Roldán Cuenya

Beatriz Roldán Cuenya studierte Physik an der Universität Oviedo in Spanien. 2001 schloss sie an der Universität Duisburg-Essen ihre Promotion im Bereich Festkörperphysik ab. Sie arbeitete anschließend als Postdoktorandin an der University of California in Santa Barbara und nahm 2004 eine Stelle als Assistant Professor an der University of Central Florida (Orlando) an, wo sie 2012 Full Professor wurde. Seit 2013 hat Beatriz Roldán Cuenya den Lehrstuhl für Festkörperphysik an der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie inne. Sie ist zudem Mitglied des Exzellenz-Clusters Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), der derzeit durch die Exzellenzinitiative gefördert wird.
In ihrem ERC-Grant arbeitet sie daran, neue Einblicke in die katalytischen Fähigkeiten von Nanopartikeln zu gewinnen.

ERC Starting Grants

Prof. Dr. Viktoria Däschlein-Gessner

Viktoria Däschlein-Gessner studierte Chemie in Marburg und Würzburg und wurde 2009 an der Technischen Universität Dortmund promoviert. Nach einem Forschungsaufenthalt an der University of California in Berkeley leitete sie an der Universität Würzburg eine Emmy-Noether-Nachwuchsgruppe, wo sie sich 2015 habilitierte. Seit Juli 2016 ist sie an der RUB tätig und hat den Lehrstuhl für Anorganische Chemie II der Fakultät für Chemie und Biochemie inne.
Sie ist zudem Mitglied des Exzellenz-Clusters Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), der derzeit durch die Exzellenzinitiative gefördert wird. In ihrem ERC Grant entwickelt sie neuartige Ligandensysteme.


Prof. Dr. Elisabeth de Boer

Elisabeth de Boer studierte Japanisch in Leiden, Niederlande. Sie forschte an den Universitäten von Hokkaido, Japan, und Maryland, USA. 2005 wurde sie an der Universität Leiden promoviert.
Seit Mai 2016 ist sie an der RUB tätig, seit Februar 2017 ist sie Professorin für Japanische Sprachwissenschaft an der Sektion Sprache und Literatur Japans der Fakultät für Ostasienwissenschaften.

In ihrem ERC Starting Grant erforscht sie, wie die japanische Sprache in Japan ankam und sich dort verbreitet hat.


Prof. Dr. Thorsten Holz

Thorsten Holz studierte Informatik in Aachen, wo er 2005 sein Diplom erlangte. Promoviert wurde er 2009 an der Universität Mannheim. Bevor er 2010 an die Ruhr-Universität Bochum wechselte, arbeitete er als Postdoktorand am Institut für Rechnergestützte Automation der Technischen Universität Wien. 2011 wurde er mit dem Heinz-Maier-Leibnitz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft ausgezeichnet. Thorsten Holz hat den Lehrstuhl für Systemsicherheit an der Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik inne. Er gehört zudem dem Vorstand des Horst Görtz Institut für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik an.

In seinem ERC Starting Grant arbeitet er daran, die Software von Geräten besser zu sichern, die mit dem Internet verbunden sind.


Prof. Dr. Stefan M. Huber

Stefan Huber studierte Chemie an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, wo er nach seinem Diplom auch seine Doktorarbeit verfasste und 2007 promoviert wurde. Als Postdoktorand arbeitete er danach an der University of Minnesota, Minneapolis (USA) und an der Université de Genève. Zwischen 2009 und 2013 forschte er an der Technischen Universität München. Seit 2014 ist er Professor der Fakultät für Chemie und Biochemie. Er ist zudem Mitglied des Exzellenz-Clusters Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), welcher derzeit durch die Exzellenzinitiative gefördert wird.
In seinem ERC Starting Grant entwickelt er neue Katalysatoren.


Dr. Nicolas Plumeré

Nicolas Plumeré studierte Chemie in Straßburg und Glasgow und wurde 2009 an der Universität Tübingen promoviert. Seit 2010 ist er Nachwuchsgruppenleiter am Zentrum für Elektrochemie der Ruhr-Universität. Er forscht zudem im Rahmen des Exzellenz-Clusters Resolv (Ruhr Explores Solvation: EXC 1069), welcher derzeit durch die Exzellenzinitiative gefördert wird.

In seinem ERC-Grant entwickelt er stabile Katalysatoren aus günstigen Materialien.


Dr. Rüdiger Arnzen, Dr. Yury Arzhanov (Beteiligung)

Yury Arzhanov studierte Orientalistik an der Universität St. Petersburg, wo er 2004 promoviert wurde. Nach Aufenthalten an den Universitäten in Tübingen und Halle wechselte er 2010 an die Ruhr-Universität Bochum.
Rüdiger Arnzen studierte an der Ruhr-Universität, wo er 1994 promoviert wurde. Anschließend war dort wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter. Zurzeit ist er Mitarbeiter im Thomas-Institut der Universität zu Köln und an verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten beteiligt.
In ihrem Starting Grant, dessen Leiter Dr. Grigory Kessel von der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften ist, geht es um den Aufbau einer Datenbank, die syrische und arabische Übersetzungen wissenschaftlicher und philosophischer Werke enthält, die ihren Ursprung in Griechenland hatten.

Gut zu wissen

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2007 hat sich der European Research Council (ERC) als eine europäische Institution von höchstem internationalem Renommee etabliert. Der ERC steht allen Forschungsbereichen und Forscherinnen und Forschern aus allen Karrierestufen offen. Alleiniges Kriterium für die Förderung ist die wissenschaftliche Exzellenz. Die Reputation von ERC Grants übertrifft die der meisten anderen vergleichbaren Einzelfinanzierungen. ERC Grants sind zu echten Flaggschiff-Projekten für die Qualität der Forschung an ihren Hochschulen geworden und stärken ihre Wettbewerbsposition. Daher sind sie von großer strategischer Bedeutung.