RUB » Equal Opportunities Portal » Women in Science » Interview with Anna Tuschling

Jun.-Prof. Dr Anna Tuschling

Short biography:
Anna Tuschling has been conducting research and teaching at RUB since 2010. She is a Juniorprofessor within the research group Spaces of Anthropological Knowledge.

Guiding principle:
In research, not to accept the obvious, and in teaching, to pass on a critical thinking skills and to transmit enthusiasm to students.

Julia Bandow

Interview with Anna Tuschling

You are a Juniorprofessor in the Mercator Research Group “Spaces of Anthropological Knowledge”. What does your work involve?

It involves examining the media involved in modern affect research. I’m especially interested in finding a scientific media-related approach to research in the life sciences. Our particular project investigates how, since the 19th century, the development of modern science has relied on technological advancements such as photography, film, video recordings, and other media. The images created aren’t simply illustrations of human beings and their facial expressions, but as media they play an integral role in increasing our knowledge about mankind. The history of science in the 19th century allows us to clearly demonstrate, for example, that the development of photographic technology was responsible for the creation of a science of human facial expression and thus for the development of modern affect research.

What in particular fascinates you about your field of research?

What I find particularly interesting in my field of research is that I can apply questions from media science to the areas of human and life sciences. I think it’s especially exciting to examine social and scientific processes for irregularities. I was very lucky to be able to do this with our female research team and in direct dialogue with related disciplines thanks to the generous funding from the Mercator Foundation.

Were you already planning an academic career while you were studying?

Not really. But I developed my enthusiasm for scientific work early on in my studies and realised during my doctoral training that I want to continue working in this area.

What was your plan B? What would you have enjoyed doing professionally if you had not become a scientist?

I studied psychology and initially planned to work as a clinical therapist.

How do you manage to balance career and family/partnership?

Of course, the reconciliation of the two is very dependent on infrastructure and organisation. With support from all sides, especially from UniKids, who do a fantastic job, it is possible to balance both areas.

What do you enjoy doing when you’re not working?

I like reading crime novels. I love playing with my daughter, and I also like hiking. I like to cook and to eat.

If you were RUB’s rector for a day, what would be the first thing you would do?

I’d focus more on the collaboration of different sciences and on the plurality of different scientific approaches. I’d try to ensure that the humanities and cultural and social sciences are given enough room to develop their methods and research topics.

Fast-forward 10 years into the future: what do you want to have achieved?

I’d like to see a further growth in the young and exciting field of media science. The students’ enthusiasm in this subject is more than justified, as it has been one of the most productive subjects in recent years (for the winter semester 2011/2012 here at RUB, there were more than 8,000 applications for less than 100 places). I’d be delighted if I could continue participating in the development of this subject area. It would be important to me to achieve a greater differentiation and perception with regard to our understanding of media. I want to help show that not just the technical and digital media, but other media-determined conditions also play an integral role in our lives.

What is your guiding principle for research and teaching?

In terms of teaching, it’s important to me to pass on a critical thinking approach and to transmit enthusiasm to my students. I see students pursuing their studies while suffering from high stress and anxiety; I’d like to instil more joy in them. In terms of research, I think it’s important not to accept the obvious.

28.11.2011

RUB » Chancengleichheitsportal » Frauen leben Wissenschaft » Interview mit Anna Tuschling

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Anna Tuschling

Biographische Rahmendaten: Anna Tuschling forscht und lehrt seit 2010 an der RUB. Sie ist Juniorprofessorin der Arbeitsgruppe Räume anthropologischen Wissens.

Motto: In der Forschung Selbstverständliches nicht als selbstverständlich hinnehmen und in der Lehre kritische Fragen weitergeben und die Studierenden mit Begeisterung anstecken.

Julia Bandow

Interview mit Anna Tuschling

Sie sind Juniorprofessorin in der Mercator Forschungsgruppe „Räume Anthropologischen Wissens“ – Worum geht es bei Ihrer Arbeit?
Es geht darum, die Medien der modernen Affektforschung zu untersuchen. Ich interessiere mich insbesondere dafür, einen medienwissenschaftlichen Zugang zur lebenswissenschaftlichen Forschung zu gewinnen. Konkret untersuchen wir, wie seit dem 19. Jahrhundert die sich entwickelnden modernen Wissenschaften auf technische Verfahren wie Photographie, Film, Video Aufzeichnungen und andere Medien zurückgreifen. Die erzeugten Bilder sind nicht nur Illustrationen des Menschen und seiner Mimik, sondern sind als Medien integraler Bestandteil, um das Wissen über den Menschen hervorzubringen. An der Wissenschaftsgeschichte im 19 Jahrhundert lässt sich zum Beispiel gut zeigen, dass mit dem Aufkommen fotographischer Verfahren eine Wissenschaft der menschlichen Mimik und damit moderne Affektforschung erst entstehen konnte.

Was fasziniert Sie besonders an Ihrem Forschungsfeld?
Besonders interessiert mich an meinem Forschungsfeld, dass ich medienwissenschaftliche Fragen im Bereich der Human- und Lebenswissenschaften anwenden kann. Ich finde es besonders spannend, gesellschaftliche und auch wissenschaftliche Abläufe auf ihre Unebenheiten hin zu überprüfen. Es ist ein großes Glück, dies im Rahmen unserer von der Stiftung Mercator sehr gut ausgestatteten Forscherinnengruppe im direkten Dialog mit wahlverwandten Disziplinen tun zu können.

Haben Sie bereits während Ihres Studiums eine akademische Karriere geplant?
Eigentlich nicht. Doch habe ich früh im Studium meine Begeisterung für wissenschaftliches Arbeiten entwickelt und während des Promotionsstudiums gemerkt, dass ich gerne in diesem Bereich weiterarbeiten will.

Was war Ihr Plan B? Was hätten Sie gerne beruflich gemacht, wenn Sie nicht Wissenschaftlerin geworden wären?
Ich habe Psychologie studiert und zunächst geplant, als klinische Therapeutin zu arbeiten.

Karriere und Familie/Partnerschaft: Wie bringt man das unter einen Hut?
Sicher ist die Vereinbarkeit sehr stark abhängig von der Infrastruktur und der Organisation. Mit Unterstützung von allen Seiten, auch konkret durch die UniKids, die eine super Arbeit leisten, ist es zu schaffen, beide Felder unter einen Hut zu bringen.

Was tun Sie gerne, wenn Sie nicht arbeiten?
Ich lese gerne Krimis. Sehr gerne spiele mit meiner Tochter, außerdem wandere ich. Ich koche und esse gerne.

Wenn Sie heute Rektorin der RUB wären, was würden Sie als erstes tun?
Ich würde meinen Fokus verstärkt auf das Miteinander verschiedener Wissenschaften und die Pluralität verschiedener wissenschaftlicher Ansätze richten. Ich würde versuchen dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass die Geistes- Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften genügend Raum haben, um ihre Methoden und Forschungsfragen entfalten zu können.

Wenn wir zehn Jahre in die Zukunft sehen- was möchten Sie dann erreicht haben?
Ich möchte das junge spannende Fach Medienwissenschaft weiter gewachsen sehen. Das überbordende Interesse der Studierenden an diesem Fach ist sehr gerechtfertigt, da es eines der produktivsten Fächer in den letzten Jahren war (im Wintersemester 2011/2012 hier an der RUB über 8000 Bewerbungen auf unter hundert Studienplätze). Ich wäre sehr glücklich, wenn ich mich weiter am Aufbau dieses Faches beteiligen könnte. Mir wäre es ein Anliegen, eine größere Ausdifferenzierung und ein Sensorium für das Medienverständnis zu erreichen. Ich will helfen zu zeigen, dass nicht nur technische und digitale Medien, sondern auch andere mediale Bedingung integraler Bestandteil in unserem Leben sind.

Was ist Ihr Motto für Forschung und Lehre?
In der Lehre ist es mir wichtig, das kritische Fragen weiterzugeben und die Studierenden mit meiner Begeisterung anzustecken. Ich sehe, dass Studierende mit viel Druck und Angst Ihr Studium betreiben, ich würde ihnen mehr Freude mitgeben wollen. Für die Forschung finde ich es wichtig, das scheinbar Selbstverständliche nicht als selbstverständlich hinzunehmen.

28.11.2011