The Values of Our Appointment Procedures

Our appointment procedures are based upon ethical values to which we are deeply committed as a university. We are looking for people who push the envelope of education and research and whose abilities, experience and personalities will enrich Ruhr-Universität as a whole. In the process, we take a person’s qualifications, talent, and personality under consideration – and not their gender.

Gender Equality

  • RUB has undertaken to significantly increase the number of women in leadership positions in both research and teaching. Accordingly, the Rectorate has created a special incentive system for the appointment of female professors:
  • Faculties appointing a female academic to a professorship receive 20,000,00 € non-personal funds that should be placed at the appointee’s disposal.
  • RUB regulations for appointments authorise the use of active recruitment instruments. They also allow for the consideration of new, additional applications while an appointment process is pending.
  • RUB takes part in the equal opportunity scheme “Professorinnen-Programm” (a scheme developed and financed by the German Federal Government and the Federal States). At RUB, three professorships for women are currently funded by this scheme.
  • RUB was one of the first German universities to put in place guidelinesconcerning gender equality and equal opportunity in university appointment procedures, which provide an overview of all information relevant for gender equality in appointment procedures. Our faculties have consistently implemented this strategy ever since.

Equal Opportunities

Equal and fair chances for everyone: learn more about our services and initiatives that ensure gender equality at our university.

Women Professors Forum

The Women Professors Forum provides a support and exchange platform for female academics.

Professorship & Family

Bringing up children while pursuing an academic career at Ruhr-Universität is easy. We also support you if you take care of sick or elderly relatives. Our intention is to keep our talents and to help them balance academic career with family responsibilities.

Inclusion

We award professorships to the very best. At RUB, we therefore pave the way for people with disabilities. We offer support to early career researchers that is tailor-cut to meet their individual requirements: our mentoring programmes helps researchers with disabilities quickly find their way around RUB and get the assistance that they need. Our mentors provide advice on everyday issues in 1:1 interviews, discussing everything from setting up barrier-free workplaces to long-term career management strategies.

Internationalisation

Good research overcomes borders and thrives on global exchange. RUB is part of a global network. Academics from all over the world come together in interfaculty Research Departments. In international teams, researchers carry out interdisciplinary research projects hand in hand with colleagues from other countries. The International Office supports RUB researchers in all matters concerning internationalisation.

The Welcome Centre is the first port of call for all international visitors. This is where international researchers are offered advice and assistance as they prepare and implement their project at RUB.

Interdisciplinary

The things that are important to us make us unique: at Ruhr-Universität Bochum, we focus on interdisciplinary education and research. We are convinced that a research object can and should be approached from more than one scientific perspective. This is why we make it easy for our employees to engage in interdisciplinary exchange – even beyond the borders of Germany. In Research Departments and research institutions, we consistently foster interdisciplinary collaboration. Our researchers have the opportunity to acquire the necessary tools – in accordance with their respective prior knowledge – at the Centre of University Didactics or the Research School.

Lifelong Learning

Ruhr-Universität Bochum is convinced that there’s always something left for us to learn. Consequently, we provide a wide range of career training and further education courses for our professors. From English-language courses, through introduction to Excel, to leadership seminars – each and every RUB employee has the chance to find a course that meets his or her requirements. Moreover, a number of institutions support our employees from the outset, helping them develop a career strategy that meets their abilities, qualifications and interests.

Die Werte unserer Berufungsverfahren

Unsere Berufungsverfahren fußen auf ethischen Werten, die uns als Hochschule wichtig sind. Wir suchen nach Menschen, die Lehre und Forschung voranbringen und die Ruhr-Universität mit ihren Fähigkeiten, Erfahrungen und ihrer Persönlichkeit bereichern. Dabei achten wir auf Qualifikationen – und nicht auf Geschlecht, Nationalität oder andere Äußerlichkeiten.

Gendergerechtigkeit

  • Die RUB hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, den Anteil von Frauen auf Spitzenpositionen in Forschung und Lehre deutlich zu erhöhen. Deshalb hat das Rektorat ein spezielles Anreizsystem zur Berufung von Professorinnen aufgelegt:
  • Fakultäten, die eine Professur mit einer Wissenschaftlerin besetzen, erhalten einmalige Mittel in Höhe von 20.000 Euro, die der Neuberufenen zur Verfügung gestellt werden.
  • Die Berufungsordnung der RUB sieht die Möglichkeiten der aktiven Rekrutierung vor. So lässt sie auch während des laufenden Verfahrens weitere Bewerbungen zu.
  • Die RUB nimmt am „Professorinnen-Programm" des Bundes und der Länder teil. Dieses fördert derzeit gleich drei Professuren an der RUB.
  • Als eine der ersten deutschen Universitäten hat die RUB einen Leitfadenveröffentlicht, der alle Informationen für die geschlechtergerechte Ausgestaltung von Berufungsverfahren zusammenfasst. Seither setzen unsere Fakultäten diese Gedanken konsequent um.

Chancengleich

Gleiche und faire Chancen für alle: Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Angebote und Initiativen für die Gleichstellung von Mann und Frau an unserer Universität.

Women Professors Forum

Im Women Professors Forum kommen Wissenschaftlerinnen zusammen, um sich gegenseitig zu fördern und Erfahrungen auszutauschen.

Professur mit Familie

Kind und Karriere sind an der Ruhr-Universität gut vereinbar. Ebenso unterstützen wir Sie, wenn Sie sich neben dem Job um pflegebedürftige Angehörige kümmern. Wir möchten unsere Spitzenkräfte halten und ihnen beim Vereinbaren von Familie und Karriere zur Seite stehen.

Inklusion

Unsere Professuren besetzen wir mit den Besten. Deshalb ebnen wir den Weg an die RUB auch für Menschen mit Behinderungen. Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern bieten wir individuell auf ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnittene Unterstützung an: Unser Mentoren-Programm hilft Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern mit Behinderungen, sich an der RUB schnell zurecht zu finden und die Hilfe zu bekommen, die sie benötigen. In der 1:1-Beratung helfen unsere Mentorinnen und Mentoren bei alltäglichen Dingen, wie dem barrierefreien Einrichten des Arbeitsplatzes bis zur langfristigen Karriereplanung.

Internationalisierung

Gute Forschung lebt vom globalen Austausch, daher ist die Forschung an der RUB weltweit vernetzt. In internationalen Teams arbeiten Forscherinnen und Forscher gemeinsam mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus der ganzen Welt interdisziplinär an einem gemeinsamen Thema. Bei der internationalen wissenschaftlichen Vernetzung in Forschung, Lehre und Wissenstransfer sowie in allen anderen Belangen der Internationalisierung unterstützt das International Office die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der RUB.

Für alle Gäste aus dem Ausland ist das Welcome Centre die erste Anlaufstelle. Dort bekommen internationale Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler kompetente Beratung und Hilfe bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung ihres Aufenthaltes an der RUB.

Interdisziplinär

Was uns wichtig ist, macht uns besonders: Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum legt besonderen Wert auf interdisziplinäre Lehre und Forschung. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass ein Forschungsgegenstand aus mehr als einer fachspezifischen Perspektive betrachtet werden kann und sollte. Deshalb ermöglichen und fördern wir den interdisziplinären Austausch zwischen unseren Beschäftigten – auch über Ländergrenzen hinaus. In Research Departments und Forschungseinrichtungen setzen wir bewusst auf interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit. Das nötige Handwerkszeug dafür können unsere Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, je nach Vorkenntnissen, im Zentrum für Hochschuldidaktik oder der Research School erwerben.

Lebenslanges Lernen

Die Ruhr-Universität Bochum ist davon überzeugt, dass wir nie auslernen. Deshalb bieten wir unseren Professorinnen und Professorinnen eine breite Palette an Fort- und Weiterbildungskursen an. Vom Englischkurs über die Einführung in Excel bis zum Personalführungsseminar können RUB-Beschäftigte die für sie passende Fortbildung finden. Zudem unterstützen verschiedene Einrichtungen unsere Beschäftigten von Anfang an dabei, eine zu ihren Fähigkeiten, Qualifikationen und Interessen passende Karrierestrategie zu gestalten.