overview of the focal point Programme "biomolecular chemistry"

Biomolecular chemistry aims at providing molecular-level insights into biomolecular processes, which is a key prerequisite for understanding biomolecular systems. But maybe even more importantly, such detailed insights enable to actively modify and steer these processes, beyond time- and resource-intensive trial-and-error approaches. Examples encompass the targeted development of new drugs, the design of biological interfaces, and the engineering of proteins, nucleic acids, or other bio(inspired) molecules and their properties and functions, to name just a few. But biomolecular chemistry is not only a hot research topic in academia, as many recent Nobel prices in chemistry unequivocally show, it is also highly relevant in industry. The goal of this focal point is to provide an overview over current research topics and cutting edge methods in this field. The focal point is structured into three major topics, which are closely intertwined: (i) synthesis, (ii) measurement & spectroscopy, and (iii) theory & simulation. Students can acquire individual competences in biomolecular chemistry through a range of specialization practicals and lectures offered in this focal point. For more details, follow the links at the left, and visit the websites of the individual research groups.


Mitglieder des Schwerpunktes

Leiter des Schwerpunktes:

Prof. Dr. Lars Schäfer E-Mail: lars.schaefer@rub.de

 

Prof. Dr. Enrica Bordignon, E-mail: enrica.bordignon@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Christian Herrmann, Protein-Interaktionen eMail: chr.herrmann@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Martina Havenith, Physikalische Chemie II E-Mail: pc2office@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Stefan Huber E-Mail: Stefan.M.Huber@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Dominik Marx, Theoretische Chemie E-Mail: office@theochem.rub.de

Prof. Dr. Nils Metzler-Nolte, Anorganische Chemie I E-Mail: ac1@rub.de

Dr. Wilma Neumann, Bioanorganische Chemie E-Mail: wilma.neumann@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Poul Petersen E-Mail: poul.petersen@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Nicolas Plumeré, Molekulare Nanostrukturen E-Mail: nicolas.plumere@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Axel Rosenhahn, Biointerfaces E-Mail: axel.rosenhahn@rub.de

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuhmann, Elektroanalytik & Sensorik E-Mail: wolfgang.schuhmann@rub.de