RUB » Alumni » Talks with alumni » Business » Mario Theissen

2004

Prof. Dr. Mario Theissen

until July 2011 Director of Motor Sports at BMW

Prof Mario Theissen studied mechanical engineering at the RWTH Aachen from 1971-1977 and completed his Ph.D at the RUB Faculty of Mechanical Engineering in 1989. He had already been involved with BMW as a certified engineer since 1977. Today, he is an honorary professor at the Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Dresden (Dresden Technical College and College of Economics) and until July 2011 Motor Sports Director of BMW (Formula 1).

Compared with other universities, which had developed over decades, it was all cast from one mould, so to speak.

RUB Alumni: Why did you choose Bochum to do your Ph.D at?

Prof. Theissen: As a young BMW engineer I worked in engine calculation. The load alternation programme PROMO came from Bochum; the contact came about via the FVV working group. After 2 years of cooperation I contacted Prof. Seifert and he took me on as a Ph.D student.

RUB Alumni: Why did you decide to do your doctorate?

Prof. Theissen: It was the rare opportunity to link academic and industrial work that attracted me.

RUB Alumni: Did it help you in your career?

Prof. Theissen: In my case the title of Doctor had no influence because I was already at the company. And in that situation only performance counts.

RUB Alumni: Could you give us a brief outline of how your everyday work looks?

Prof. Theissen: During the racing season, work is divided up at three places: Munich, where the Formula 1 engine is created and the other racing projects are also based. Then there is the Formula 1 team base in Hinwil, Switzerland. And then, of course, the racetrack itself. I commute between the locations and am at the racetrack from Thursday afternoon until Sunday evening. The range of tasks is a very broad one: technology, drivers, racing strategies, sponsoring and press relations are all included.

RUB Alumni: What was your first impression of the campus architecture?

Prof. Theissen: At the time, the campus made a very modern and new impression. Compared with other universities, which had developed over decades, it was all cast from one mould, so to speak. Unfortunately, I never got to know campus life. As an external Ph.D student I was only at the RUB on a day-to-day basis.

RUB Alumni: What people or places you got to know at the RUB hold special memories for you?

Prof. Theissen: Since I did my doctorate nearly 20 years ago, my companions from that time haven't been involved in academia for a long time. I'm still in contact with Prof. Seifert, and the ceremonial act for his birthday was also the reason I last visited the RUB.

RUB Alumni: What tips or advice would you give to today's Bochum students?

Prof. Theissen: Knowledge of your subject is important, but being a student means more - such as developing your personality. Your time as a student should also be used to get to know other cultures, people and ways of thinking. If you don't do this, your preparation for working life is incomplete.

RUB Alumni: Thank you for talking to us.

RUB Alumni directory

Sign up and become a member

RUB » Alumni » Im Gespräch » Wirtschaft » Mario Theissen

2004

Prof. Dr. Mario Theissen

bis Juli 2011 Motorsportdirektor von BMW

Prof. Dr. Mario Theissen studierte von 1971-1977 Maschinenbau an der RWTH Aachen und promovierte 1989 an der Fakultät für Maschinenbau der RUB. Bereits seit 1977 war er als Diplom-Ingenieur bei BMW tätig. Er ist heute Honorarprofessor an der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Dresden und war bis Juli 2011 Motorsportdirektor von BMW (Formel 1).


 

Verglichen mit anderen Universitäten, die über
Jahrzehnte gewachsen sind, war alles aus einem Guss.

RUB Alumni: Warum haben Sie damals Bochum als Ort Ihrer Promotion gewählt?

Dr. Theissen:Ich habe als junger BMW-Ingenieur in der Motorenberechnung gearbeitet. Das Ladungswechselprogramm PROMO kam aus Bochum; über den FVV Arbeitskreis entstand der Kontakt. Nach 2-jähriger Mitarbeit habe ich bei Prof. Seifert angeklopft, und er hat mich als Doktoranden aufgenommen.

RUB Alumni: Warum haben Sie noch promoviert?

Dr. Theissen: Es war die seltene Gelegenheit, wissenschaftliche und industrielle Arbeit zu verknüpfen, die mich gereizt hat.

RUB Alumni: Hat Ihnen das für Ihre Karriere genützt?

Dr. Theissen: In meinem Fall hatte der Dr.-Titel keinen Einfluss, da ich zu dem Zeitpunkt bereits im Unternehmen war. Da zählt dann nur noch die Leistung.

RUB Alumni: Und könnten Sie uns kurz skizzieren, wie Ihr Arbeitsalltag abläuft?

Dr. Theissen: Während der Rennsaison verteilt sich die Arbeit auf 3 Standorte: München, wo der Formel 1 Antrieb entsteht und die übrigen Rennprojekte zu Hause sind. Dann die Formel 1 Teambasis in Hinwil, CH. Und natürlich die Rennstrecke. Ich pendle zwischen den Standorten und bin von Donnerstagmittag bis Sonntagabend an der Rennstrecke. Das Aufgabenspektrum ist breit: von der Technik über Fahrer, Rennstrategie, Sponsoring bis hin zur Pressearbeit.

RUB Alumni: Wie war Ihr erster Eindruck von der Campus-Architektur?

Dr. Theissen: Der Campus wirkte auf mich damals sehr modern und neu. Verglichen mit anderen Universitäten, die über Jahrzehnte gewachsen sind, war alles aus einem Guss. Das Leben auf dem Campus habe ich leider nie kennen gelernt. Als externer Doktorand bin ich immer nur tageweise an der RUB gewesen.

RUB Alumni: Mit welchen Personen oder Orten, die Sie an der RUB kennen gelernt haben, verbinden Sie noch besondere Erinnerungen?

Dr. Theissen: Nachdem meine Promotion fast 20 Jahre zurückliegt, sind die damaligen Weggefährten längst nicht mehr am Lehrstuhl. Kontakt habe ich nach wie vor zu Prof. Seifert, und der Festakt zu seinem Geburtstag war auch Anlass meines letzten Besuches an der RUB.

RUB Alumni: Was vermissen Sie an meisten, wenn Sie an Ihre Zeit an der Bochumer Uni zurückdenken?

Dr. Theissen: Meine eigene Jugend.

RUB Alumni: Was würden Sie gerne heutigen Bochumer Studierenden mit auf den Weg geben?

Dr. Theissen: Fachwissen ist wichtig, aber Studium bedeutet mehr, bedeutet Persönlichkeitsentwicklung. Das Studium soll auch dazu genutzt werden, andere Kulturen, Menschen und Denkweisen kennen zu lernen. Sonst ist die Vorbereitung auf das Arbeitsleben nicht komplett.

RUB Alumni: Vielen Dank für das Gespräch.

RUB Alumni-Verzeichnis

eintragen und Mitglied werden